Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,007 Members 40,820 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROOT] NachoRoot - Honeycomb

Tip us?
 
demandarin
Old
#11  
demandarin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2044
Posts: 6,979
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alexandria, Va
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase View Post
Not possible at this time, will investigate root via app once I have a prime in hand, no guarantees however.
sounds good enough. thanks again. no big deal. just wondering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianMenace View Post
Don't really need a "fast" computer for ADB lol. It just needs a USB port.
if you knew how long it took for my PC to boot up and open an app, you'd ask also.. It does have usb ports, its not that old..lmao. its all good. still deciding if I want to give it a shot now or wait till after ICS.

IPAD- 32GB WiFi ver. 4.2.1

Transformer Prime 32GB(Retired)

NEXUS 7 16gb Unlocked & Rooted JB 4.3 CleanRom 4.0 Faux Kernel

Galaxy Note 10.1 32gb- Hyperdrive Rom w/ Zeus kernel AMAZING!

Samsung Galaxy SIII - JB 4.1.2

Lg Optimus G Pro- new 1080P 5.5in. Display w/Snapdragon 600 Andreno 320

Microsoft Surface Pro 128gb. Full HD Display 1080P Windows 8 HD4000 Graphics Type Cover

Prime/Tegra3 Gamers Thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1409077

 
JCreations
Old
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 90
Join Date: Aug 2007
Very nice work. Is there any way to revert this root?

For everybody considering doing this, do note that ICS is scheduled to release 12 January. Trying to update/upgrade a rooted/hacked tablet MIGHT BRICK your Prime.

So it could be wise for the majority of users to wait untill ICS before trying to root.
 
jcase
Old
#13  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 6757
Posts: 3,561
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCreations View Post
Very nice work. Is there any way to revert this root?

For everybody considering doing this, do note that ICS is scheduled to release 12 January. Trying to update/upgrade a rooted/hacked tablet MIGHT BRICK your Prime.

So it could be wise for the majority of users to wait untill ICS before trying to root.
mount system, delete su

Why would it brick if they just installed su (really dont know, would like to look into preventing it)
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
My Bitcoin address : 1Newifz6yETTmbziCsZZstmHHPH6ejNr75
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Doktaphex
Old
(Last edited by Doktaphex; 3rd January 2012 at 10:52 PM.)
#14  
Doktaphex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 424
Posts: 1,418
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London
Process went flawlessly. Thank you jcase.

I must say the build.prop and standard gps.conf are decidedly empty, weird.
TRANSFORMER prime . desire HD
NEXUS 7 . galaxy S3
 
LNKNPRKFN
Old
(Last edited by LNKNPRKFN; 3rd January 2012 at 11:05 PM.) Reason: adding to post
#15  
LNKNPRKFN's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 293
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BRAMPTON
FREAKING AWESOME WORK!!! Thank you Jcase...Worked like a charm no hicups or glitches...we are now one step closer to Recoveries and Roms...

PHONE| 64GB GREYSTONE ONE+ ONE
DEVICE FORUM |http://forum.xda-developers.com/oneplus-one/development
ROOT |http://forum.xda-developers.com/onep...9-gui-t2807418
ROM | STOCK
RECOVERY| STOCK
 
jcase
Old
#16  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 6757
Posts: 3,561
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doktaphex View Post
Proces went flawlessly, I must say the build.prop and standard gps.conf are decidedly empty, weird.
odd, NachoRoot doesn't write to system so im guessing thats normal?
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
My Bitcoin address : 1Newifz6yETTmbziCsZZstmHHPH6ejNr75
The Following User Says Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Doktaphex
Old
#17  
Doktaphex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 424
Posts: 1,418
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase View Post
odd, NachoRoot doesn't write to system so im guessing thats normal?
That's entirely my point. It just seems odd that they're so empty (maybe not so much gps.conf).
TRANSFORMER prime . desire HD
NEXUS 7 . galaxy S3
 
JCreations
Old
#18  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 90
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase View Post
mount system, delete su

Why would it brick if they just installed su (really dont know, would like to look into preventing it)
I'm not that into programming/rooting, therefor my emphasis on might. For the majority of users it might be just safer to wait those 9 days until ICS.
 
MarkF001
Old
#19  
MarkF001's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 383
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase View Post
mount system, delete su

Why would it brick if they just installed su (really dont know, would like to look into preventing it)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCreations View Post
I'm not that into programming/rooting, therefor my emphasis on might. For the majority of users it might be just safer to wait those 9 days until ICS.
Since ASUS uses BLOBs for updates, it will most likely just over-write the system folder anyway. No more 'SU', but also no brick!
Mark F.
( remember the 'Thanks' button )

HTC One X (AT&T) (Rooted)
ASUS Transformer (ARHD 3.5.1) W/ US TF101 Fingerprint
ASUS Transformer Prime ( Jelly Bean - Lost root even W/OTA RootKeeper )
Inspire 4G (ARHD 6.3.1US*) *More info
2x VS GTablet (Lite 4.4) & (3588Plus*)
Augen GenTouch78 (Why with 2 GTabs)
 
jcase
Old
#20  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 6757
Posts: 3,561
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkF001 View Post
Since ASUS uses BLOBs for updates, it will most likely just over-write the system folder anyway. No more 'SU', but also no brick!
Then I don't see the concern, re-run the root
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
My Bitcoin address : 1Newifz6yETTmbziCsZZstmHHPH6ejNr75

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes