5,600,919 Members 42,403 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Serial Number Unkown

Tip us?
 
djsaad1
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 457
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default Serial Number Unkown

How many of you have settings/about/status stating that your serial number is unkown?

I am trying to figure out if this is a flaw or if its no big deal. Also want to know if this is what is causing me from not getting any ota update yet.
 
franky_402
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: chi , USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsaad1 View Post
How many of you have settings/about/status stating that your serial number is unkown?

I am trying to figure out if this is a flaw or if its no big deal. Also want to know if this is what is causing me from not getting any ota update yet.
Shows my serial just fine

Sent from my rooted TF201

HTC ONE > EVO 4G LTE > EVO3D > Evo 4G > Moment > Palm Pre
DV7T Quad core i7 OSX 10.6 <> WIN7 PRO
Transformer Prime
 
Scumbag Inc.
Old
#3  
Scumbag Inc.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 143
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Before reading the second part of your post I was thinking that. I too have no serial number listed and am not getting OTA updates.
 
slugbug2010
Old
#4  
slugbug2010's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 1,762
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin, Tx
mine shows up, too
HTC EVO 3D
Rom: warmRomsTwoPointThree
hboot 1.5, Root via HTC unlock Bootloader, HW 0002
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Nook Color - CM7 ntly 102 / OC'd 1.2
Honeycomb 3D Theme / 2900+ Quad score

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
djsaad1
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 457
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scumbag Inc. View Post
Before reading the second part of your post I was thinking that. I too have no serial number listed and am not getting OTA updates.
Quite funny that we are both in Austin and we both don't have serial numbers
 
Guybor
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 32
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Davenport
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scumbag Inc. View Post
Before reading the second part of your post I was thinking that. I too have no serial number listed and am not getting OTA updates.
Add one more to the list. I've done multiple factory resets to no avail.

Additional info as FYI
Purchased from Best Buy
Actual serial number ends with 32919
 
justwonder
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 445
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Rafael
Shows up here too, and match the label near charge port, mine from BB
Sent from who cares by who cares
 
djsaad1
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 457
Join Date: Mar 2010
so far there are 3 of us with no serial number and no OTA and at least 2 of the 3 bought from best buy
 
Scumbag Inc.
Old
#9  
Scumbag Inc.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 143
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Mine`s a champagne from Abt
 
integratyper
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2012
ive had several posts about this and i do correlate not being able to get ota updates because it is showing serial number unknown. Mine is a US unit bought from best buy.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes