FORUMS

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

Moto X Style, Moto X Play and Moto G Forums Are Here!

The latest family members of the new generation of Motorola devices are … more

[TOOL][Updated 5.9.12]viperMOD PrimeTime v4.6 | Auto Root/Unroot/Busybox/CMW Flash!

7,708 posts
Thanks Meter: 12,983
 
By -viperboy-, Recognized Developer on 4th January 2012, 09:27 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
23rd January 2012, 11:17 PM |#501  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 844
 
More
Lightbulb
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinkline

I got my 64GB from Amazon today... followed your steps and was rooted within 10 minutes from unboxing. It worked Great.... Downloaded rootkeeper and that worked Great. Updated the firmware to ICS 4.0.3 and that went worked fine.....

Now... what do I do with the f@#$% Wifi...... that will not stay connected??? Waited 6 weeks for Amazon to send me this unit.... Why... Why...


Anyone else having wifi signal drop? I can connect but in a very short time it loses signal. The only way to keep it working is to shut down wifi and restart. I've done that 30 times in the last hour.

Was this the case prior to ICS update? Seems like software issue to me. My new one from hhgregg has a weaker wifi than my BB one I returned but I'm not sure I want to update to 11.1 yet in fear I might run into more issues.
 
 
23rd January 2012, 11:17 PM |#502  
Swiftks's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag The Woodlands, TX
Thanks Meter: 1,927
 
More
Finally got my 64GB in today as well. Came with Honeycomb. Installed drivers, and rooted via option #2.

F.Y.I. I tried option 1 on honeycomb and had no joy.

In the process of backing up root and updating now.
24th January 2012, 12:43 AM |#503  
JPxM0Dz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ---= THE JAW =--- SK
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinkline

I got my 64GB from Amazon today... followed your steps and was rooted within 10 minutes from unboxing. It worked Great.... Downloaded rootkeeper and that worked Great. Updated the firmware to ICS 4.0.3 and that went worked fine.....

Now... what do I do with the f@#$% Wifi...... that will not stay connected??? Waited 6 weeks for Amazon to send me this unit.... Why... Why...


Anyone else having wifi signal drop? I can connect but in a very short time it loses signal. The only way to keep it working is to shut down wifi and restart. I've done that 30 times in the last hour.


Wifi seems sporadic with the Prime, my 32GB US model has ran like a champ. In fact wifi and gps have both been great. I knew about the issues before I got my Prime, so I wasn't expecting much when I got it, due to aluminum back panel.
Obviously most of these issues can be attributed to the hardware design, so it doesn't matter where or when you got your Prime. I originally pre-ordered the 64GB, grew tired of waiting and settled for the 32GB model. The issues of wifi and gps seem to be divided amongst Prime owners, some are perfectly happy, others are extremely disappointed.
TF700T will address these issues and I will buy one when it eventualy hits the market. Unfortunately until then, we just have to put up with the problems.
24th January 2012, 01:24 AM |#504  
sparkym3's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 799
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPxM0Dz

TF700T will address these issues and I will buy one when it eventualy hits the market. Unfortunately until then, we just have to put up with the problems.

You can hope that it will be fixed by the plastic back, but based on the prelim tests on it that I have read it has not changed the GPS lock speed much if at all.
24th January 2012, 02:14 AM |#505  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
No wifi issues at all on my home network but it was hell on the office wifi

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using xda premium
24th January 2012, 02:44 AM |#506  
Bender B. Rodgriguez's Avatar
Senior Member
127.0.0.1
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Same thing here. Send it back and buy a tablet that works correctly or wait for the new transformer in Q2
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinkline

I got my 64GB from Amazon today... followed your steps and was rooted within 10 minutes from unboxing. It worked Great.... Downloaded rootkeeper and that worked Great. Updated the firmware to ICS 4.0.3 and that went worked fine.....

Now... what do I do with the f@#$% Wifi...... that will not stay connected??? Waited 6 weeks for Amazon to send me this unit.... Why... Why...


Anyone else having wifi signal drop? I can connect but in a very short time it loses signal. The only way to keep it working is to shut down wifi and restart. I've done that 30 times in the last hour.



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA App
24th January 2012, 02:50 AM |#507  
sparkym3's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 799
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinkline

No wifi issues at all on my home network but it was hell on the office wifi

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using xda premium

I have a similar experience. The wifi works excellent at home, but walking down the hall at work it does not switch access points as smoothly as other devices do. Requiring me to stop for a while in order to establish the connection.
24th January 2012, 04:07 AM |#508  
ryan562's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Would this method work with the beta ota rom ending in 9.4.2.11.1?

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk
24th January 2012, 05:49 AM |#509  
rcbarr's Avatar
Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3ch7

I feel really silly updating my Prime to ICS before rooting. Stupidity on my part thinking that the warning regarding the latest OTA was a warning to the 11.1 beta update and not the official OTA update.

I guess I'll have to patiently for a new root method.

In other news, the program was dead simple to use and pretty nice.

Welcome to the party, sucks huh. Has me studying exploits.
24th January 2012, 07:05 AM |#510  
jetbruceli's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bamberg, Germany
Thanks Meter: 572
 
More
I never realised how much I needed root until now! Mine was updated with the files from Asus webpage because I couldn't get the update ota. Oh well will be watching!

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201
24th January 2012, 07:40 AM |#511  
-viperboy-'s Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 12,983
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks to jcase sending me this link (https://github.com/saurik/mempodroid), we will have root for the the latest ICS version Saurik (yes, the iPhone dude) found this exploit and you can read all about it in technical detail at the link above!

I was going to go to bed, but I think I will crank away at an update and put my device on the line once again

I'm going to need some testers for the newest version coming up here Twitter would be best as it will keep clutter down in this thread during the testing phase.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to -viperboy- For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes