Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,354 Members 44,538 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TOOL][Updated 5.9.12]viperMOD PrimeTime v4.6 | Auto Root/Unroot/Busybox/CMW Flash!

Tip us?
 
aznmode
Old
#501  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 758
Posts: 4,025
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinkline View Post
I got my 64GB from Amazon today... followed your steps and was rooted within 10 minutes from unboxing. It worked Great.... Downloaded rootkeeper and that worked Great. Updated the firmware to ICS 4.0.3 and that went worked fine.....

Now... what do I do with the f@#$% Wifi...... that will not stay connected??? Waited 6 weeks for Amazon to send me this unit.... Why... Why...


Anyone else having wifi signal drop? I can connect but in a very short time it loses signal. The only way to keep it working is to shut down wifi and restart. I've done that 30 times in the last hour.
Was this the case prior to ICS update? Seems like software issue to me. My new one from hhgregg has a weaker wifi than my BB one I returned but I'm not sure I want to update to 11.1 yet in fear I might run into more issues.
 
Swiftks
Old
#502  
Swiftks's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 1925
Posts: 3,711
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Finally got my 64GB in today as well. Came with Honeycomb. Installed drivers, and rooted via option #2.

F.Y.I. I tried option 1 on honeycomb and had no joy.

In the process of backing up root and updating now.


_______________________________________________

 
JPxM0Dz
Old
#503  
JPxM0Dz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 488
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ---= THE JAW =--- SK
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinkline View Post
I got my 64GB from Amazon today... followed your steps and was rooted within 10 minutes from unboxing. It worked Great.... Downloaded rootkeeper and that worked Great. Updated the firmware to ICS 4.0.3 and that went worked fine.....

Now... what do I do with the f@#$% Wifi...... that will not stay connected??? Waited 6 weeks for Amazon to send me this unit.... Why... Why...


Anyone else having wifi signal drop? I can connect but in a very short time it loses signal. The only way to keep it working is to shut down wifi and restart. I've done that 30 times in the last hour.

Wifi seems sporadic with the Prime, my 32GB US model has ran like a champ. In fact wifi and gps have both been great. I knew about the issues before I got my Prime, so I wasn't expecting much when I got it, due to aluminum back panel.
Obviously most of these issues can be attributed to the hardware design, so it doesn't matter where or when you got your Prime. I originally pre-ordered the 64GB, grew tired of waiting and settled for the 32GB model. The issues of wifi and gps seem to be divided amongst Prime owners, some are perfectly happy, others are extremely disappointed.
TF700T will address these issues and I will buy one when it eventualy hits the market. Unfortunately until then, we just have to put up with the problems.

---=- N9005 -=---
 
sparkym3
Old
#504  
sparkym3's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 792
Posts: 428
Join Date: Dec 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPxM0Dz View Post
TF700T will address these issues and I will buy one when it eventualy hits the market. Unfortunately until then, we just have to put up with the problems.
You can hope that it will be fixed by the plastic back, but based on the prelim tests on it that I have read it has not changed the GPS lock speed much if at all.
 
kevinkline
Old
#505  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 81
Join Date: Aug 2010
No wifi issues at all on my home network but it was hell on the office wifi

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using xda premium
 
Bender B. Rodgriguez
Old
#506  
Bender B. Rodgriguez's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 172
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: 127.0.0.1
Same thing here. Send it back and buy a tablet that works correctly or wait for the new transformer in Q2
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinkline View Post
I got my 64GB from Amazon today... followed your steps and was rooted within 10 minutes from unboxing. It worked Great.... Downloaded rootkeeper and that worked Great. Updated the firmware to ICS 4.0.3 and that went worked fine.....

Now... what do I do with the f@#$% Wifi...... that will not stay connected??? Waited 6 weeks for Amazon to send me this unit.... Why... Why...


Anyone else having wifi signal drop? I can connect but in a very short time it loses signal. The only way to keep it working is to shut down wifi and restart. I've done that 30 times in the last hour.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA App
 
sparkym3
Old
#507  
sparkym3's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 792
Posts: 428
Join Date: Dec 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinkline View Post
No wifi issues at all on my home network but it was hell on the office wifi

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using xda premium
I have a similar experience. The wifi works excellent at home, but walking down the hall at work it does not switch access points as smoothly as other devices do. Requiring me to stop for a while in order to establish the connection.
 
ryan562
Old
#508  
ryan562's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 992
Join Date: Feb 2010
Would this method work with the beta ota rom ending in 9.4.2.11.1?

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk
Samsung Galaxy Note n7000
ClockworkMod-Based Recovery
Criskelo's ICS Touchwiz Rom v3
Android 4.0.3 Ice Cream Sandwich
LPY Kernel

Apple iPad (3rd Gen)

Asus Transformer Prime Tablet
ClockworkMod Recovery 5.5.0.4
Android 4.0.3 Ice Cream Sandwich
Virtuous Prime Rom S Series 9.4.2.15 v1


http://www.youtube.com/boloe562
 
rcbarr
Old
#509  
rcbarr's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 70
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3ch7 View Post
I feel really silly updating my Prime to ICS before rooting. Stupidity on my part thinking that the warning regarding the latest OTA was a warning to the 11.1 beta update and not the official OTA update.

I guess I'll have to patiently for a new root method.

In other news, the program was dead simple to use and pretty nice.
Welcome to the party, sucks huh. Has me studying exploits.
* Sprint Samsung Note 2
 
jetbruceli
Old
#510  
jetbruceli's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 434
Posts: 2,437
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bamberg, Germany

 
DONATE TO ME
I never realised how much I needed root until now! Mine was updated with the files from Asus webpage because I couldn't get the update ota. Oh well will be watching!

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201
Forget thanks, I want a high five!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes