Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] How to LINUX on Rooted TFP

OP biggem001

5th January 2012, 03:08 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 192
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
First off, thanks to msullivan for providing the BackTrack 5.0 image!

I've made this as easy as possible. Not for novice users.

I chose backtrack as the image (instead of ubuntu) because i LOVE backtrack. I've used it as my main on-the-go linux for a while. Mainly because I hack all the wifi I'm around so i have a constant NET connection

This script requires ADB installed and ROOT!

Required AppsInstallation
  1. Download the image and attached scripts (BT5_Install.zip)
    http://www.ulozto.net/xfHz8JJ/primelinuxbacktrack5-zip
  2. Rename the image to BT5.zip and copy to /sdcard/ - I would copy in the script, but ADB is WAAAY slow.
  3. Unzip BT5_Install.zip into your ADB folder - Or anywhere if you have ADB set with environmental variables
  4. Make sure device connected and responds to adb (adb devices)
  5. run install.bat
    This will push the proper scripts, open the image up for use and run necessary scripts
    This process does take time. No longer than 10 minutes. Script will notify when complete.
    ---Linux is now installed!---
  6. Open terminal emulator and type: (do this any time you want to start your linux if you have shut it down or the TFP has restarted)
    • su
    • cd /sdcard/bt5
    • sh bt
  7. Type Y at the prompt
  8. VNC into 127.0.0.1:5901 with password 'root' with any VNC program you like
  9. PROFIT

Change Resolution!!
  1. Open terminal in Linux
  2. Type pico /usr/bin/startvnc
  3. Xhange resolution to 1280x800
  4. Type ctrl x
  5. Yes
  6. restart TFP
    Look absolutely AMAZING now

Notes:
  • If the bt5 folder on /sdcard/ is ever deleted, you will lose your linux and need to re-install!
  • This has been tested and confirmed by me!
  • Can you tell I like formatting?? hahaha
  • Need help with ADB? Click HERE for my guide!
  • Im using POCKETCLOUD in Windows mode (it connect to linux as well!)

The GUIDE is not finite. Please post anything you feel should be added/corrected to the guide.
Thanks and 5 star would make me feel good inside too!
Attached Files
File Type: zip BT5_Install.zip - [Click for QR Code] (667 Bytes, 510 views)
Last edited by biggem001; 10th February 2012 at 05:43 PM.
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to biggem001 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th January 2012, 03:27 AM   |  #2  
Bender B. Rodgriguez's Avatar
Senior Member
127.0.0.1
Thanks Meter: 57
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Yes!!!!I was wondering when we would see this for the TP. I wonder how long it will be till somone asks about monitor mode and packet injection. Let me go ahead and announce it... AIRCRACK WILL NOT WORK!!! Had to do it.. every backtrack thread on this forums is full of kids saying "I can hax0rz wifi?"

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727
5th January 2012, 03:30 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 192
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
lol, i know, i wish.. it would only work if we could dual boot. that way, we could potentially have wifi aircrack support and all that!
5th January 2012, 03:39 AM   |  #4  
Bender B. Rodgriguez's Avatar
Senior Member
127.0.0.1
Thanks Meter: 57
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Agreed.. but chroot is better than nothing I guess. You may want to try the "orbot" app along with backtrack. Its great for using the tor network while using bt.
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggem001

lol, i know, i wish.. it would only work if we could dual boot. that way, we could potentially have wifi aircrack support and all that!



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA App
5th January 2012, 03:49 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
anyone tried interfacing with any wifi adapters yet with either the dock or a USB ATP to USB adapter? it'd be pretty awesome to get monitor mode on this thing...
5th January 2012, 03:53 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Portland, OR
Thanks Meter: 61
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Inevitble question. What happesn when we get ICS? Will we just have to reroot?
5th January 2012, 03:54 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
367 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
What's the difference in BT5 and the HD2 image I downloaded from the HD2 forums? Are they different versions of Ubuntu?

Oh yeah, and THANKS a ton for the install guide!
5th January 2012, 03:54 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 192
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by adampdx

Inevitble question. What happesn when we get ICS? Will we just have to reroot?

theoretically, yes!
The Following User Says Thank You to biggem001 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th January 2012, 03:55 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 192
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbns

What's the difference in BT5 and the HD2 image I downloaded from the HD2 forums? Are they different versions of Ubuntu?

Oh yeah, and THANKS a ton for the install guide!

the BT5 image is different than any other linux image. there are several floating (mainly ubuntu). my scripts are only setup for bt5.

if i find a ubuntu image i like, i'll make one for that too
5th January 2012, 04:03 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
367 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggem001

the BT5 image is different than any other linux image. there are several floating (mainly ubuntu). my scripts are only setup for bt5.

if i find a ubuntu image i like, i'll make one for that too

Ahh, gotcha. I didn't realize this was a different flavor of linux, not a different version of Ubuntu (guess I should have read the thread title). Cool, going to give it a shot.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes