Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Linux ADB and my GT 7+

OP lilott8

5th January 2012, 04:57 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
For whatever reason, my GT 7+ is showing: ????????? offline/device when I run adb devices. I've tried running adb kill/start as root, still nothing. I've cycled "USB debugging". I'm running ubuntu 10.10. Every thing but adb is working but adb

Any insight or help would be helpful.
5th January 2012, 03:42 PM   |  #2  
garyd9's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks Meter: 2,006
 
1,996 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
udev.

See: http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/wiki/Udev
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to garyd9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th January 2012, 10:57 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Answered
Here's the rule I put up in /etc/udev/rules/98-android.rules:
Code:
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="04e8", MODE="0666" #all samsung devices
Then restart udev and then restart adb and it's up!
10th January 2012, 07:05 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
This method is hard to remember. You can also start adb as root with:
adb start-server
and it should work that way, at least until adb is closed. You do not have to do all the adb commands as root, only the start.
10th January 2012, 09:08 PM   |  #5  
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Owego, NY
Thanks Meter: 24,637
 
13,460 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason_25

This method is hard to remember. You can also start adb as root with:
adb start-server
and it should work that way, at least until adb is closed. You do not have to do all the adb commands as root, only the start.

Why do you need to remember it? Create a udev rule once and you never have to deal with it again.

Running things as root should be avoided if possible.
10th January 2012, 09:21 PM   |  #6  
garyd9's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks Meter: 2,006
 
1,996 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
I have found that there may be an issue with ubuntu 10.10 and this tablet. For me, it seems that the MTP crud is interfering with adb. If I freeze the MTP application on the tablet, I have no problem.

...and now it gets even stranger: If I boot ubuntu 10.10 in a virtual machine (vmware 8.x), its fine even with mtp enabled.

I haven't had any issue at all with my gentoo boot. (However, I've been trying to do the android development with ubuntu as it appears to be directly supported by google.)

(This really isn't an issue for me, as I actually prefer to keep MTP disabled so I don't get popups.)
10th January 2012, 09:48 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropy512

Why do you need to remember it? Create a udev rule once and you never have to deal with it again.

Running things as root should be avoided if possible.

Because I work on computers other than my own?
Because I have more than one computer?
Because I sometime reinstall the OS?
Because I don't have magical fail-proof hardware?
Because udev gets messed up and apt-get replaces the rules file?

This method is simpler for new users. The adb tools are straight from google so can be trusted and the udev approach just adds a lot of complexity.

edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyd9

I have found that there may be an issue with ubuntu 10.10 and this tablet. For me, it seems that the MTP crud is interfering with adb. If I freeze the MTP application on the tablet, I have no problem.

I do not seem to have any problem using 64-bit debian, which you probably know Ubuntu is based on. I have even built the AOSP with it without much trouble. Though, deploying it to a device is a different matter for me.
Last edited by Jason_25; 10th January 2012 at 10:02 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes