Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,531 Members 51,728 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Linux ADB and my GT 7+

Tip us?
 
lilott8
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default [Q] Linux ADB and my GT 7+

For whatever reason, my GT 7+ is showing: ????????? offline/device when I run adb devices. I've tried running adb kill/start as root, still nothing. I've cycled "USB debugging". I'm running ubuntu 10.10. Every thing but adb is working but adb

Any insight or help would be helpful.
 
garyd9
Old
#2  
garyd9's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1978
Posts: 1,951
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
udev.

See: http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/wiki/Udev

Donations: I don't accept donations, but if you are feeling charitable, help a child by going to http://www.shrinershospitalsforchildren.org/
and click the "Donate Now" link at the top.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to garyd9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lilott8
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default Answered

Here's the rule I put up in /etc/udev/rules/98-android.rules:
Code:
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="04e8", MODE="0666" #all samsung devices
Then restart udev and then restart adb and it's up!
 
Jason_25
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 87
Join Date: Aug 2007
This method is hard to remember. You can also start adb as root with:
adb start-server
and it should work that way, at least until adb is closed. You do not have to do all the adb commands as root, only the start.
 
Entropy512
Old
#5  
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 24237
Posts: 13,210
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Owego, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason_25 View Post
This method is hard to remember. You can also start adb as root with:
adb start-server
and it should work that way, at least until adb is closed. You do not have to do all the adb commands as root, only the start.
Why do you need to remember it? Create a udev rule once and you never have to deal with it again.

Running things as root should be avoided if possible.
*so much sig updating needed*

My Github profile - Some Android stuff, some AVR stuff

An excellent post on "noobs vs. developers"

A few opinions on kernel development "good practices"

Note: I have chosen not to use XDA's "friends" feature - I will reject all incoming "friend" requests.

Code:
<MikeyMike01> Smali is a spawn of hell
<shoman94> ^^^ +!
Code:
<Entropy512> gotta be careful not to step on each other's work.  :)
<Bumble-Bee> thats true
<jerdog> compeete for donations
 
garyd9
Old
#6  
garyd9's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1978
Posts: 1,951
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
I have found that there may be an issue with ubuntu 10.10 and this tablet. For me, it seems that the MTP crud is interfering with adb. If I freeze the MTP application on the tablet, I have no problem.

...and now it gets even stranger: If I boot ubuntu 10.10 in a virtual machine (vmware 8.x), its fine even with mtp enabled.

I haven't had any issue at all with my gentoo boot. (However, I've been trying to do the android development with ubuntu as it appears to be directly supported by google.)

(This really isn't an issue for me, as I actually prefer to keep MTP disabled so I don't get popups.)

Donations: I don't accept donations, but if you are feeling charitable, help a child by going to http://www.shrinershospitalsforchildren.org/
and click the "Donate Now" link at the top.
 
Jason_25
Old
(Last edited by Jason_25; 10th January 2012 at 09:02 PM.)
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 87
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropy512 View Post
Why do you need to remember it? Create a udev rule once and you never have to deal with it again.

Running things as root should be avoided if possible.
Because I work on computers other than my own?
Because I have more than one computer?
Because I sometime reinstall the OS?
Because I don't have magical fail-proof hardware?
Because udev gets messed up and apt-get replaces the rules file?

This method is simpler for new users. The adb tools are straight from google so can be trusted and the udev approach just adds a lot of complexity.

edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyd9 View Post
I have found that there may be an issue with ubuntu 10.10 and this tablet. For me, it seems that the MTP crud is interfering with adb. If I freeze the MTP application on the tablet, I have no problem.
I do not seem to have any problem using 64-bit debian, which you probably know Ubuntu is based on. I have even built the AOSP with it without much trouble. Though, deploying it to a device is a different matter for me.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android App Review: How to Speed Up Your Android Phone – XDA Developer TV

Is your Android device running slow? Is your Android device … more

Make a Pre-Rooted Stock Sony ROMs in Just Few Clicks

Many usersdon’t see any particular reason to change out the stock firmware … more

Add Timestamps to Xposed Installer Logs with… Xposed!

If talking about the most interesting projects in the last few years, we must … more

Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more