Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Google Adds New Features to Drive, Sheets, Slides and Docs

In the last few months, Google has been working very hard to adapt all its apps to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] NTFS format on my MicroSD

OP Bortseb

5th January 2012, 05:03 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Just bought a new 32GB MicroSD HC card for my streak.... tried formatting it NTFS so I can transfer large files when I need to.... but it didnt work after I transferred my files from my old card...


I formatted FAT32 and tried again and it worked fine.

Is this common? I'm using the newest DSC ROM. Should I be able to have it formatted NTFS and have it work?

Thanks
5th January 2012, 05:09 AM   |  #2  
Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,595
 
3,547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Android supports ext2/3/4, vfat (fat16/32) and reiserfs, no ntfs
5th January 2012, 10:19 PM   |  #3  
_n0p_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kiev
Thanks Meter: 1,827
 
2,557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
I'm pretty sure we enabled NTFS with read/write support in latest Phoenix kernel.
Will check config tomorrow.
5th January 2012, 11:13 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
FYI, im no pro... I just flashed using the instructions given in the first posting in the DSC thread on the development forums...

So if I need to do something extra please let me know... Thanks for your help.
5th January 2012, 11:17 PM   |  #5  
Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,595
 
3,547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by _n0p_

I'm pretty sure we enabled NTFS with read/write support in latest Phoenix kernel.
Will check config tomorrow.

Oh it had NTFS added in? As OP didnt say which rom/kernel he was on I just assumed. The stock kerns dont support it and I dont run anything but stock kerns.
6th January 2012, 09:05 AM   |  #6  
_n0p_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kiev
Thanks Meter: 1,827
 
2,557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bortseb

FYI, im no pro... I just flashed using the instructions given in the first posting in the DSC thread on the development forums...
So if I need to do something extra please let me know... Thanks for your help.

Would you test this kernel?
It has NTFS support for sure, dunno if other restrictions may apply.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2079
14th January 2012, 06:39 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Doesn't work. My kernel is 2.6.35.14-DSC-Team-Pheonix+ in the about area...

But I get a notification saying : "SD Card Blank or has unsupported file system"
14th January 2012, 09:12 AM   |  #8  
_n0p_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kiev
Thanks Meter: 1,827
 
2,557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Most probably Android applies restrictions on higher level.
NTFS support is built in kernel, and I plan to check it when I receive otg cable.
15th January 2012, 12:52 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Heredia
Thanks Meter: 805
 
2,685 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheManii

Oh it had NTFS added in? As OP didnt say which rom/kernel he was on I just assumed. The stock kerns dont support it and I dont run anything but stock kerns.

@TheManii... I'm just curious as to why you only run stock kernel?
15th January 2012, 07:23 PM   |  #10  
Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,595
 
3,547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I dont have any need for a custom kernel currently, simple as that

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes