Post Reply

Thumbs up TouchExperience WPDM public release

OP lucasryan

18th April 2011, 10:12 PM   |  #1  
lucasryan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 75
 
438 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Schaps has released the private beta TouchExperience and Windows Phone Device Manager....Maybe other developers can work with this program and make things happen even more than what we already have to work with.
Download
http://forum.touchxperience.com/view...php?f=30&t=783

Windows Phone Device Manager features:


Applications management: view, install/uninstall homebrew applications
File management: explore device, exchange files with your phone
Files & folders synchronization
Integration with Windows explorer
Send to Windows Phone (to send files, apps, ringtones, web links in one click)
Device backup (if MS allow it)
Device information
Add and manage custom ringtones
Send SMS, E-mail, notes directly from PC (without needing cloud services)
Shared clipboard with PC and phone
Programming sends notifications to phone
Initiate connection from PC or phone
Wireless connection support
Auto pairing (no need to enter PC or phone IP address)


Requirements:

Registred/unlocked Windows Phone 7 device
Windows Vista or Windows 7 32/64-bit
Windows Phone Developer Tools
.NET Framework 4.0


Julien Schapman's Apps for Windows Phone 7

TouchXplorer
Advanced Configuration Tool
Quick Settings
Registry Editor
Xbox Live Gamer Profile


You can initiate connection from both PC and device (tap PC Synchronization in TouchXperience to etablish connection from device). You can connect via USB or Wi-Fi, but the first time you have to connect via USB so WP Device Manager can deploy TouchXperience and your device can get your PC IP address.
In the current version you can't manually set the PC or phone IP address to connect, or change default ports.
Make sure port 8007 is not blocked by firewall on PC and port 8107 is reachable on device.

When WP Device Manager initiate a connection, if it can't connect to the phone, in case you are connected via USB it will launch TouchXperience, in other cases it will send a push notification to your phone asking you to manually launch TouchXperience
Some tasks requires that your phone screen is unlocked
It is not necessary to have Zune runing in order to use WP Device Manager.
If you have connection problems, try the following may help: unplug/replug your phone, close or start Zune, restart WP Device Manager, make sure your device is detected by Zune.

In order to use WP Device Manager from Windows Device Stage, you must have Windows 7 and driver signature verification disabled, unfortunately this is because Windows 7 recognize only digitally signed drivers.

Here is a registry fix for ppl having connection problems:
Attached Files
File Type: zip New WinZip File.zip - [Click for QR Code] (362 Bytes, 3142 views)
Last edited by lucasryan; 24th April 2011 at 11:00 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to lucasryan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2011, 02:11 AM   |  #2  
notebookgrail's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
This thing doesn't work on all WP7 devices and is a pure HTC only app for the most part (good editable part)..On my DVP, the moment i connect the device, it crashes.

Neverthless, the developer has to get credit for the work he has done and support him.
19th April 2011, 02:43 AM   |  #3  
lucasryan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 75
 
438 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Not sure what errors you may be getting when it crashes? It currently supports the following devices:
HTC HD7, HTC 7 Mozart, HTC 7 Trophy, HTC 7 Surround, HTC 7 Pro, HTC Arrive, HTC HD2, Samsung Focus, Samsung Omnia 7, Dell Venue Pro, LG Optimus 7, LG E900, LG C900.

I had connection problems when he first released to beta testers but that was at first...but all was worked out in the 2nd version..
19th April 2011, 03:11 AM   |  #4  
derausgewanderte's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 294
 
1,158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasryan

Not sure what errors you may be getting when it crashes? It currently supports the following devices:
HTC HD7, HTC 7 Mozart, HTC 7 Trophy, HTC 7 Surround, HTC 7 Pro, HTC Arrive, HTC HD2, Samsung Focus, Samsung Omnia 7, Dell Venue Pro, LG Optimus 7, LG E900, LG C900.

I had connection problems when he first released to beta testers but that was at first...but all was worked out in the 2nd version..

wow, nice. works here on LG Quantum (C900). thanks for the post.

edit: Capture only works within TouchExperience, not when I go out of it to the phone's native menu. in fact, it disconnects the phone when I do that (by design?).
Last edited by derausgewanderte; 19th April 2011 at 03:28 AM.
19th April 2011, 03:37 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
when i install it says i need version 1.3.2 to connect. then one to download is 1.3.0
19th April 2011, 03:42 AM   |  #6  
poy41's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Kamloops
Thanks Meter: 3
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by derausgewanderte

wow, nice. works here on LG Quantum (C900). thanks for the post.

my LG Quantum C900 has some messages that come up like:

unable to launch TouchXperience

and when i launch it manualy i get:

TouchXperience version 1.2.3.0 or later is required

tried all the restart/reset stuff, nothing is working. did you have to do anything with yours?
19th April 2011, 03:47 AM   |  #7  
lucasryan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 75
 
438 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
edit: Capture only works within TouchExperience, not when I go out of it to the phone's native menu. in fact, it disconnects the phone when I do that (by design?).[/QUOTE]

Go into settings and enable multitasking, then you should be able to capture
19th April 2011, 03:52 AM   |  #8  
lucasryan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 75
 
438 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregrey

when i install it says i need version 1.3.2 to connect. then one to download is 1.3.0

If you are not able to connect or if some features are not properly working, go to Settings in WP Device Manager, click Restore default settings and restart your PC...Also try delete touchexperience from phone then reconnect to pc and let it download and install it again to device to try get error about 1.3.2 as the current version is 1.3.0 for public release and beta testers is 1.3.2 i do believe ...sometimes it trys to look for updates and gives error, but all should be fine within the program after that error.
Last edited by lucasryan; 19th April 2011 at 04:04 AM.
19th April 2011, 04:29 AM   |  #9  
derausgewanderte's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 294
 
1,158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasryan

Go into settings and enable multitasking, then you should be able to capture

that is not available, attached is what I have under settings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	settings.JPG
Views:	594
Size:	20.9 KB
ID:	572324  
Last edited by derausgewanderte; 19th April 2011 at 04:34 AM.
19th April 2011, 04:37 AM   |  #10  
bubbl3's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Shanghai
Thanks Meter: 27
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by derausgewanderte

that is not available, attached is what I have under settings.

It's not there, go to the main menu (the one with PC Connection, Airplane mode, etc) tap the menu title and a menu will appear, tap settings and enable multitasking from inside there.

The Following User Says Thank You to bubbl3 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes