Post Reply

[GUIDE] Noob's Guide #6: I just HTC Unlocked, what now?

OP Amphibliam

9th January 2012, 12:35 AM   |  #1  
Amphibliam's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 413
 
1,915 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
First thing you need to know is that no matter what happens, even if your phone is abducted by rabid kittens, I am not responsible for your actions. Second is that you just voided your warranty, no doubt about it. HTC has your serial number with record that you unlocked your bootloader. Thanks to JAS_21 for the idea for making this guide. So, the next things you are going to want to do are to flash clockworkmod recovery, and then su. Then you can flash a ROM. Let's start with clockworkmod.

You want to get the android-sdk working, which you can find a guide to here.. Then you want to go to this thread. Download the file attached to the post. Use winzip if you have windows or just click on it on mac to unzip the file. Plug your phone into your computer and select "charge only" mode. Copy the cwm img file to the tools folder of the android SDK. Now, it's time to open up ADB. Open up a command prompt on windows or a terminal window on Mac/Linux. Follow these commands.

Code:
cd [insert location of android-sdk here]/platform-tools
adb reboot bootloader
You should now see Fastboot USB on your phone. Open a new command or terminal window. Type the following:

Code:
cd [insert location of android-sdk here]/tools
fastboot flash recovery cwm-recovery-vivow.img
fastboot reboot
Congrats, you have now flashed clockworkmod recovery. Now, onto installing root access. Next, grab the su zip attached to the OP of this thread. Plug your phone into your computer and select "disk drive" mode. Copy the su zip file to the root of your sd card. Unmount your sd card and select "charge only" mode on your computer. Reboot into recovery. The easiest way is probably to open up a command window and type:

Code:
cd [insert location of android-sdk here]/platform-tools
adb reboot recovery
When your phone is in recovery, click "install zip from sd card," then "choose zip from sd card," then the su zip file. Hit the back button once. Then select reboot system now. When your phone reboots, download superuser from the market. Now you are ready to use root apps! If you want to flash a ROM, continue on.

Download the ROM of your choice. If you want to, use my guide for choosing a ROM found here. Download the ROM zip file. Plug your phone into your computer and select "disk drive" mode. Copy the rom zip file to the root of your sd card. Don't unmount your sd card yet.Next, make a copy and put it on your desktop. Use winzip on windows or just click on mac/linux to unzip the rom file. In the root of the ROM, you should see a boot.img file. Copy that to your tools folder of your android-sdk folder. Now, unmount your sd card and select "charge only" mode on your computer. Next, follow the following steps.

Before installing the ROM...

1. Download Titanium Backup from the market, allow superuser permissions, then click menu>batch>backup all user apps.
2. Make sure fastboot is off in settings>power.
3. Put the ROM zip on the root of your SD Card
4. Download SMS Backup and Restore, and backup your SMS.
5. Back up your contacts by checking "back up my data" or something like that under settings/privacy.


How to install the ROM...
1. Turn off phone, and hold power and volume down until you get a white screen that says Hboot.
2.Volume down/up is for scrolling; power is for selecting.
3. Scroll down and select RECOVERY.
4. Scroll down and selected BACKUP AND RESTORE.
5. Select BACKUP and wait for it to finish.
6. Hit the back button to go back to the main menu.
7. Scroll down and select WIPE DATA/FACTORY RESET.
8. Scroll down and select WIPE CACHE PARTITION.
9.Hit the back button to go back to the main menu.
10. Scroll down and select ADVANCED, then WIPE DALVIK CACHE.
11. Hit the back button to go back to the main menu.
12. Scroll down and select INSTALL ZIP FROM SD CARD, then CHOOSE ZIP FROM SD CARD, then whatever the ROM zip is.
13. Let it do its thing. This may take 5-10 minutes. DON'T PULL THE BATTERY.

Next, it is time to flash your boot image. Follow these commands.

Code:
cd [insert location of android-sdk here]/platform-tools
adb reboot bootloader
You should now see Fastboot USB on your phone. Open a new command or terminal window. Type the following:

Code:
cd [insert location of android-sdk here]/tools
fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot reboot
You are done with flashing the ROM now, congrats. To get your data back, follow the steps!

1. Run the initial setup. When you're setting up your google account, make sure the "keep data backed up" or whatever box is checked. This will make sure to restore your/keep your contacts backed up.
2. Redownload Titanium Backup. Hit menu/batch/restore missing apps with data.
3. Redownload SMS B+R. Restore your SMS.
4. Enjoy your new ROM!

I hope this guide clears things up for some people. If you have ideas or suggestions for this guide or others, feel free to comment. If I helped you, please hit the thanks button. I would really appreciate it!
Last edited by Amphibliam; 22nd February 2012 at 02:33 AM.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Amphibliam For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th January 2012, 01:21 AM   |  #2  
JAS_21's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 97
 
523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Excellent guide!!!
12th January 2012, 08:08 AM   |  #3  
reaper540's Avatar
Member
Flag Stephens City
Thanks Meter: 9
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
i keep getting an error when trying to flash the recovery. when i type in fastboot flash recovery cwm-recovery-vivow.img it comes up saying cannot load cwm-recovery-vivow.img

also im s-on with hboot .98. could that be the problem?
Last edited by reaper540; 12th January 2012 at 08:10 AM.
13th January 2012, 04:10 AM   |  #4  
blaqbird's Avatar
Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 25
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by reaper540

i keep getting an error when trying to flash the recovery. when i type in fastboot flash recovery cwm-recovery-vivow.img it comes up saying cannot load cwm-recovery-vivow.img

also im s-on with hboot .98. could that be the problem?

Had the same issue but solved after looking over the instructions for doing this if you were downgrading. Instead of placing the image file on the root of your sd card, place it in the folder that contains fastboot in your android sdk. Do that and you will be able to flash it and continue with the instructions.
The Following User Says Thank You to blaqbird For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th January 2012, 03:37 PM   |  #5  
Amphibliam's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 413
 
1,915 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Oh wow. You guys are right. That's a typo. I'll fix that.

Sent from my ADR6350 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Amphibliam For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th January 2012, 11:22 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Portland
Thanks Meter: 6
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Thumbs up
Excellent post! Easy to follow, worked...what more could you ask for?

14th January 2012, 09:43 AM   |  #7  
reaper540's Avatar
Member
Flag Stephens City
Thanks Meter: 9
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Yeh I thought that might have been the problem. But I ended up relocking the bootloader, downgraded using attn1s tool and after that it was all smooth sailing. Running mikrunny v1.01. But this is an excellent guide

Sent from my ADR6350 using XDA App
16th January 2012, 05:03 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Fayetteville, NC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Excellent guide! Thanks!

Sent from my ADR6350 using XDA App
19th January 2012, 04:08 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
no boot.img?
When I try to flash the boot.img at the last step, it says error: Cannot load 'boot.img'. I tried to start the phone and it sticks as the htc splash screen ... any ideas?
21st January 2012, 01:58 AM   |  #10  
Amphibliam's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 413
 
1,915 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Did you put it in the sdk tools folder?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes