Post Reply

[XAP] WP Screenshot 0.3 (send screenshots over the network)

9th January 2012, 09:45 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
WP Screenshot
Latest PC version: 0.2 | Latest phone version: 0.3

** About:
This is another Windows Phone Mango screenshot tool that works a bit differently from other implementation(s). It sends screenshots over the network to a PC application, so that you can instantly show your phone's screen on your monitor or projector.

** Usage:
  1. Start "WP Screenshot.exe" on your computer and make sure that port 50560 is open (or simply allow the application to access the network when Windows Firewall pops up).
  2. Start "WP Screenshot" on your Windows Phone device, enter the IP address of your computer (use local IP in case of running both parts on the same local network) and tap "Connect and start".
  3. Now, when you press any of the selected buttons, a screenshot should be sent to your PC (there you can do some neat things with it, try CTRL+H).
  4. When you want to stop the background worker, simply open the application again and tap "Stop".

** Current issues/limitations:
  • There can be some annoying lag when there is bad WiFi coverage.
  • It won't capture screens from games (XNA) and videos.

** Requirements:
  • developer unlocked Windows Phone (to deploy the application)
  • .NET Framework 4 (you need this if the PC application won't start)

** New in version 0.3:
  • ability to use volume buttons for taking screenshots (phone)

** New in version 0.2:
  • toast notification after 5 minutes of inactivity (phone)
  • autosave mode - screenshots get automatically saved into a desired folder (PC)
  • ability to stretch screenshot to fit to current window size (PC)

The screen capturing part is based on "The DllImport project (by fiinix)".

I am looking forward to all the feedback and I'll do my best to fix and improve this application in the future.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PC screenshot.jpg
Views:	896
Size:	21.2 KB
ID:	852092   Click image for larger version

Name:	WPScreen.jpg
Views:	723
Size:	33.7 KB
ID:	861361  
Attached Files
File Type: zip WP Screenshot (0.2).zip - [Click for QR Code] (11.5 KB, 1630 views)
File Type: xap WP-Screenshot-03.xap - [Click for QR Code] (226.0 KB, 2268 views)
Last edited by N37-L0RD; 22nd January 2012 at 08:21 PM. Reason: updated to version 0.3
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to N37-L0RD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th January 2012, 06:08 AM   |  #2  
wpxbox's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 41
 
284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Suggestion : Auto Save to folder so if I want to take multiple screenshoot quickly I dont have to come to my desktop every time.

Worked over my Samsung Focus. And Many many thanks for this.
The Following User Says Thank You to wpxbox For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th January 2012, 08:57 AM   |  #3  
wpxbox's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 41
 
284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Another suggestion will be to turn off the background process if its idle for too long. Good if people forget to turn it off

---------- Post added at 02:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:28 PM ----------

After playing for couple of hours now. The shortcut for the server app doesn't work all the time. I had to try sometimes like 2-3 times to get it working.
10th January 2012, 12:22 PM   |  #4  
poloche's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 182
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Nice app

Thankx a lot man !!
10th January 2012, 12:24 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpxbox

Another suggestion will be to turn off the background process if its idle for too long. Good if people forget to turn it off

---------- Post added at 02:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:28 PM ----------

After playing for couple of hours now. The shortcut for the server app doesn't work all the time. I had to try sometimes like 2-3 times to get it working.

Thanks for the suggestions, I'll include both in the next version.

About the shortcut... do you mean the hotkeys (CTRL+S,...) or something else? There can be some issues with detecting key combinations as you must hold down CTRL and then press AND release the other key while still holding CTRL down. I'll do my best to make this work as it should.
Last edited by N37-L0RD; 22nd January 2012 at 08:21 PM.
10th January 2012, 03:11 PM   |  #6  
wpxbox's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 41
 
284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Yes the Hot keys aren't working properly. Also for the windows software,

1. The Window can be reduced in size.
2. You can set it sit in taskbar once auto save is included.
10th January 2012, 05:49 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
418 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpxbox

Yes the Hot keys aren't working properly. Also for the windows software,

1. The Window can be reduced in size.
2. You can set it sit in taskbar once auto save is included.

I can't get it to capture any screenshots on my HTC Titan. It connects, but half press of the camera button does nothing
10th January 2012, 06:23 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by link68759

I can't get it to capture any screenshots on my HTC Titan. It connects, but half press of the camera button does nothing

Does it disconnect after pressing the camera button (does "Waiting for client...." appear?) or is there simply no picture on the PC?
11th January 2012, 03:59 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Version 0.2 is here - autosave, inactivity notification.
11th January 2012, 04:28 PM   |  #10  
wpxbox's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 41
 
284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
My Suggestion.

1. Auto Save Location needs to configured everytime, not a good idea. We need settings page.
2. Notification should also disable the connection.
3. The Windows Size of the server software needs to be reduced. Takes much of screen

Rest works as stated. Thanks !!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes