Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How do I root the AT&T Avail (ZTE Z990)?

OP chunk351

10th January 2012, 01:58 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
What I have tried:
SuperOneClick (all versions) <-- Siege Tanks Were Doomed
Gingerbreak <-- Just sits there
Z4Root <-- doesn't do anything
Rageagainstthecage <-- doesn't work

tried flashing Clockwork mod via tcard like works for the ZTE Blade, phone pretends like it is working then reboots and no change, trying to start using the power button and vol - yields nothing.

tried cooking my own rom with the kitchen make the update.zip file
Do adb reboot recovery

the phone comes back to the android system recovery <3e>

I select the option to do update.zip from sdcard

I get:
verifying update package...
installation aborted...

I need root access to remove the AT&T preloaded apps that won't uninstall won't stay killed and are hogging all my space on the phone (limited storage). I would also like to be able to upgrade to 2.3.7 from my current 2.3.4 and possibly make my own roms.

I have emailed ZTE Chinese support to see if I can get an non pork filled rom the Indian who answered their tech support line didn't have an answer and told me not to flash the ZTE roamer rom (if I could even find it) because it will brick my phone. They have been no help!

What am I doing wrong in the android recovery (I have tried both installer scripts)? Is there a way to rebuild the system.img from the system folder that was created in the kitchen because I might be able to rebuild it into the .bin file that the phone will accept from a sdcard with the built in update feature?
The Following User Says Thank You to chunk351 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th January 2012, 06:16 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Unhappy
Ok so I figured out how to repack the system.img I then dropped it back into the folder and used zte-pack.exe to build my .bin file. I go to the tcard update and it fails verification...is there a signature that needs to be made? I didn't see an option in zte-pack
10th January 2012, 08:41 AM   |  #3  
Apo11on's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 129
 
1,208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
i got the same phone with at&t....was unable to root it either, but i only tried super one click...

good luck and share, if you find a way.
10th January 2012, 11:36 AM   |  #4  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 11,545
 
14,928 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Not sure if there is away as of yet. Just did a fast search and it seems no root has been done for it yet
10th January 2012, 12:42 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
try another time z4root
10th January 2012, 03:01 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I am unable to root my XT928 either...Good Luck!
10th January 2012, 04:12 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apo11on

i got the same phone with at&t....was unable to root it either, but i only tried super one click...

good luck and share, if you find a way.

I am soooo close just need that extra little bit of help, I will get it and when I do I will definitely share. I've only had a droid for 2 weeks and I have come this far, I am not going to stop. I have a BS in Computer Science and used to be a MCSE, I don't know this tech well enough yet but I will. Just hoping someone on here has the skillset I need to help complete this,
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chunk351 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th January 2012, 04:13 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by primanka

try another time z4root

tried it multiple times as I have with all of the one click exploits and custom rom trials
11th January 2012, 04:55 AM   |  #9  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 8,303
 
3,944 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
We got root, just need a forum to post, and maybe anotehr tester if someone is interested.

Shoot me a pm
Last edited by jcase; 11th January 2012 at 05:15 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2012, 05:35 AM   |  #10  
Apo11on's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 129
 
1,208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase

We got root, just need a forum to post, and maybe anotehr tester if someone is interested.

Shoot me a pm

Thank you kind Sir! jcase to the rescue again - spent a couple of hours with me and busted this thing open. I can confirm my AT&T Aveil ZTE Z990 is fully rooted now. Mad props to jcase

The Following User Says Thank You to Apo11on For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes