Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,925 Members 53,108 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] [SOLVED] "FAILED: ICS Update not working"

Tip us?
 
jfortier777
Old
(Last edited by jfortier777; 12th January 2012 at 06:58 PM.) Reason: Solved, details added
#1  
jfortier777's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 101
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NYC
Default [GUIDE] [SOLVED] "FAILED: ICS Update not working"

Read all instructions before beginning.
THIS IS NOT A GUIDE TO ROOTING, OR FOR DOWNGRADING TO .33 FROM ICS.

0. link a google account with your tablet if you have recently done a factory reset.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slayer69 View Post
1. Extract the update zip on your computer.
2. Find the zip file in the extracted folders.
3. Copy that file to the root of your sd card.
4. Reboot.... Zip file will be detected after reboot.
5. . 33 update will install.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfortier777
Just to be clear...

You are downloading UpdateLauncher_US_epaduser8_8_3_33.zip

at

http://usa.asus.com/Eee/Eee_Pad/Eee_...F201/#download

and extracting US_epad-user-8.8.3.33.zip


Then placing it in REMOVABLE/MICROSD/US_epad-user-8.8.3.33.zip

and then just reboot or wait for the system prompt and it will install .33

Quote:
Originally Posted by slayer69 View Post

6. After reboot re root
7. Then use root keeper to save root
8. Install ics and enjoy.
9. Once done use root keeper to gain root again
10. Use root checker to verify

Thanks to everyone who helped sort this out and make sense of it.
I never new bloatware could be so dangerous.

DO NOT DELETE BLOATWARE IF YOU WANT TO RECEIVE OTA UPDATES IN THE FUTURE


Quote:
Originally Posted by kristovaher View Post
Damn OP for making me think that unrooted people are also having update problems. I was panicking when I read through the first pages of this thread.
Nothing to worry about when you don't root and don't delete system apps.

My sincere apologies. *I did not want to garner any undue hostility to jcase or viperboy as the Root process was not at fault in any way.

It was only what we all happened to do once we had it. (deleting bloatware)




If you arent sure where the update goes after all this...





Below maintained for archive only:

3 attempts so far and each time after the firmware downloads and the prime reboots, right after the Android with the gears shows up he turns into an android with an exclamation mark.

Then after a 5 minute boot I get a system message that says:





Post here if you failed too, and solutions you have.


Attempts:
first - Device was nachorooted, root backed up via OTA rootkeeper. FAILED

second - with root disabled via OTA rootkeeper FAILED

third - removed root via viperboy's tool FAILED

fourth - factory reset then update FAILED

fifth - just going to repeat the stock attempts until something looks different
TF201 64GB - Still Rooted - ICS
Tmobile G2 - Rooted - CM7
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jfortier777 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BongoBong
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 360
Join Date: Apr 2011
No idea if this would work but maybe use that tool viperboy made to unroot yours and then try (pretty sure it has an unroot option)? Not sure why that would help since rooted users have successfully updated but may be worth a shot.
 
jfortier777
Old
#3  
jfortier777's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 101
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NYC
sorry forgot to mention that was my 3rd attempt


i'm on #4 now just doing a factory reset first.
TF201 64GB - Still Rooted - ICS
Tmobile G2 - Rooted - CM7
The Following User Says Thank You to jfortier777 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rawdikrik
Old
#4  
rawdikrik's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 686
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Arlington

 
DONATE TO ME
Having this same issue. Not sure what the problem is, but it keeps failing.

I too am rooted.

Trying out this E4GT...
Click to view
My Personal Sprint Galaxy Note 3 Setup
Rooted Stock 4.4 with Beast Kernel
 
johnnyutah22
Old
#5  
johnnyutah22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 101
Posts: 429
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tennessee
exact same thing happened to me, except I have no idea how to try to update again, when I go to about phone, system update, the check update box is greyed out.
 
chris61292
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 132
Join Date: Jan 2010
How exactly do you factory reset on .33 with the .33 zip on asus's website?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
 
jfortier777
Old
#7  
jfortier777's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 101
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NYC
method 4 failed as well, any ideas anyone?
TF201 64GB - Still Rooted - ICS
Tmobile G2 - Rooted - CM7
 
johnnyutah22
Old
#8  
johnnyutah22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 101
Posts: 429
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tennessee
How are ya'll able to try the update more than once? Are you just talking about reboot or are you actually downloading the update again? the reason I ask is that I am unable to click the check update button.
 
jfortier777
Old
#9  
jfortier777's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 101
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris61292 View Post
How exactly do you factory reset on .33 with the .33 zip on asus's website?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk

its not exactly "factory" reset, but its a full wipe of settings and data.
TF201 64GB - Still Rooted - ICS
Tmobile G2 - Rooted - CM7
 
2fastkuztoms
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 201
Join Date: Jul 2010
like 5 attemps still failed..

factory reset, cold boot, reboot router, still failed.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes