Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,814 Members 43,846 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

locking up and rebooting now with ICS.....

Tip us?
 
jdbaker82
Old
(Last edited by jdbaker82; 31st January 2012 at 10:52 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 551
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default locking up and rebooting now with ICS.....

Twice now in the last 40 minutes since updating to ICS my screen has locked up in a browser and in a game and then restarted itself..... anyone else?

UPDATE:

- Short and sweet so you don't have to read through 30 pages.

- If your Prime has this problem either
A.) Return to store for refund or exchange and pray you get a newer unit without the different hardware/firmware version
B.) Call ASUS RMA it and pray they can finally get something right.
C.) Sit on your hands while you wait to see if ASUS can somehow figure out a magical firmware patch that will play nice with both older and newer Primes..... all the while getting frustrated with a prime that can be used as a paper weight.

I recommend A I found a new prime from HHGregg and it works just fine and I am finally happy again but still pissed at ASUS for this huge quality control blunder.

update 1/31

here is exactly the reason you do not want to rma to Asus.

forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1474354
The Following User Says Thank You to jdbaker82 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
demandarin
Old
#2  
demandarin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,044
Posts: 6,979
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alexandria, Va
Everything has been running great for me. Maybe try rebooting Prime for a fresh start up. might fix it. mine hasn't locked up or anything.

IPAD- 32GB WiFi ver. 4.2.1

Transformer Prime 32GB(Retired)

NEXUS 7 16gb Unlocked & Rooted JB 4.3 CleanRom 4.0 Faux Kernel

Galaxy Note 10.1 32gb- Hyperdrive Rom w/ Zeus kernel AMAZING!

Samsung Galaxy SIII - JB 4.1.2

Lg Optimus G Pro- new 1080P 5.5in. Display w/Snapdragon 600 Andreno 320

Microsoft Surface Pro 128gb. Full HD Display 1080P Windows 8 HD4000 Graphics Type Cover

Prime/Tegra3 Gamers Thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1409077

 
pyro6128
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 383
Join Date: Nov 2010
Mine is locking up non stop. I can't even boot to the home screen most of the time. And when it does it'll lock up after a bit and go into more boot loops

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
 
Cmotion
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 165
Join Date: Jul 2010
Were any of you rooted before updating?

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
 
jondroot
Old
#5  
jondroot's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 48
Join Date: Nov 2011
Mines actually running amazingly well perfect transition its like a new tablet... Oh wait lol

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using xda premium
 
Summdumkid
Old
#6  
Summdumkid's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chico, CA
I can say that my TP is also restarting over and over again. I can't get anything done. Just got it in the mail today. Haven't touched it besides firmware updates.
 
jdbaker82
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 551
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmotion View Post
Were any of you rooted before updating?

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
May I wasn't will test further
 
JanetPanic
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 589
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rockville, MD
Mine has been stable. The only FC I got was on engadget on their live feed from the nvidia presentation. Reopened the browser and everything was fine (including the engadget page).

I have been in both gmail and exchange, world of goo, tapatalk, newsrob, reddita, etc... with no problems.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
 
nerdninja
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 64
Join Date: Aug 2009
Constant locking and rebooting here. Never rooted.

I've done the factory wipe twice. Still doing it.

This time I wiped and didnt sync with my Google account in case its some data thats being restored thats causing it.

Ive had no problems until the update
 
jg10571
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 23
Join Date: Oct 2010
I updated to ICS last night and it rebooted at least 6 times in 1 hour. Couldn't take it anymore. I've only had the tablet for a week with no issues before update..Hope Asus didn't release a bad update...that would suck.
Thinking about doing a full data wipe and factory reset. Has anyone already tried this?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes