Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,262 Members 50,596 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

(TWEAK'S) Deodex/odex tweak build.prop tweaks etc

Tip us?
 
Danzano
Old
(Last edited by Danzano; 10th April 2012 at 11:29 PM.)
#1  
Danzano's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 361
Posts: 2,739
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Auckland
Default (TWEAK'S) Deodex/odex tweak build.prop tweaks etc

More tweaks being added see below!!!!!!!!!

Here's a little tip/tweak!!!!!!

All credit goes to my friend Nibras Reeza this is hes work all credit to him im just the messenger. I tested this tweak for him awhile back in the GT540 thread tried it on the TF101 and had great results so thought I should share

This wasnt supposed to be a tweak for devices with 1Gb of RAM etc. However I think if I had to choose odexed or deodexed I would choose deodexed plus this tweak no matter what device no matter how much RAM.

AS WITH ANY MODDING PROCEDURE FOR YOUR PHONE, THIS GUIDE ALSO COMES WITH NO WARRANTY. AUTHOR HOLDS NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR ANY DIRECT AND INDIRECT CONSEQUENCES OF FOLLOWING THIS GUIDE. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE MADE A NAND BACKUP BEFORE PROCEEDING.

This will give a performance boost in deodexed ROMs as much as odexing system & data apps. This is an alternative for odexing. It's not that you can't apply this tweak on an odexed ROM but rather, it's useless to do so.

1) Open Terminal Emulator on phone or adb shell from PC and type the following.
su
setprop dalvik.vm.verify-bytecode false
setprop dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags v=n,o=v
rm /data/dalvik-cache/*
rm /cache/dalvik-cache/*
reboot

2) Add these to the /data/local.prop or build.prop.
dalvik.vm.verify-bytecode = false
dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=v=n,o=v

(Copy local.prop or build.prop to SD and edit them. Copy back afterwards. If lines starting with dalvik.vm.verify-bytecode or dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags exist already, please modify them as above. Also type following in adb shell or terminal emulator.
rm /data/dalvik-cache/*
rm /cache/dalvik-cache/*
reboot


Advantages:
  • More free RAM.
  • Faster launch for system & user apps during the second launch.
  • Gives as much as of a performance boost as ODEX without odexing. Themer friendly.
  • Smoother app switching.

Disadvantages:
  • Might break some apps. ( I have not had any break you probably wont either but you have been warned!!!! )

Reversing the change/undo tweak.
Type the following in shell.
su
setprop dalvik.vm.verify-bytecode true
rm /data/dalvik-cache/*
rm /cache/dalvik-cache/*
reboot

WARNING!!! (Have had a few people have this problem) If you have V6Supercharger installed and you are trying to edit the build.prop through root explorer or similar and its just not working its not the tweaks fault nor my fault you must Un-Supercharge edit the build.prop then Re-Supercharge afterwards!

MORE TWEAKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I will add to this section when I can mostly just build.prop tweaks or change's to settings that might help some people get there device a little smoother

##########################

**Improve Touch Performance**
1. Open up your favorite Root explorer
2. Open build.prop in a text editor
3. Add this line of code ( windowsmgr.max_events_per_sec=500 )
4. Save and exit and delete build.prop.bak if you trust the tweak
5. Reboot Enjoy

Quick note if your build.prop has an additional build properties section the line of code needs to go in there !!!!!

###########################

**Dalvik Tweak**
1. Open up your favorite Root explorer
2. Open build.prop in a text editor
3. The line of code stating the vm growth will usually be set around 32-48 on some TF101 roms they now use 54-64 Thanks for the support devs
4. Save and exit and delete build.prop.bak if you trust the tweak
5. Reboot to Recovery
6. Wipe Cache and Dalvik-Cache
7. Reboot Enjoy

############################

To be continued......

ADDING MORE SOON BUT WANT THEM TO BE 4.0.3 SPECIFIC SO LOTS OF TRIAL AND ERROR HAPPENING
LG G2

Just installing a few roms to test then will settle on one :P
---------------------------------------------

Asus TF101 32GB with dock
500GB Seagate 2.5" HDD
My own personal re-worked flavour of AOKP built from source a lot of tweaking.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Danzano For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gnufabio
Old
#2  
gnufabio's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3531
Posts: 1,386
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Milan

 
DONATE TO ME
The problem with this is that it just turns off the dalvik controlls, so it may break some apks. Nice tweak, however
Quote:
Information Technology MUST be human. What does it mean? It means that the resources it produces must be available for everyone for free. #opensource
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gnufabio For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MarkyG82
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 742
Join Date: Oct 2010
Will give this a go later.

Is there any reason why it wouldn't work in ics?

Sent from my HTC Desire Z using xda premium
 
M1ST4K3
Old
#4  
M1ST4K3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 173
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portugal
Tried it on my phone with CM7.1 and everything is fine... I'm not sure if it improoved but I'm not getting any errors from apps...

Huawei Ideos x5 U8800
ASUS Transformer 32GBs TF101
 
pashinator
Old
#5  
pashinator's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 712
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wirral
i remember trying this on my gt540 (why is it now legacy device section?) and it worked great but we would have 100mb free ram at a time whereas ow i got a gig in this badboy. confirmed works.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using xda premium

Devices:
Current
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S III I9300
Tablet: Asus Nexus 7 2013 FHD 32GB
Old
Phone: LG Optimus GT540
Tablet: Asus EEE Pad Transformer TF101
 
Danzano
Old
#6  
Danzano's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 361
Posts: 2,739
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Auckland
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnufabio View Post
The problem with this is that it just turns off the dalvik controlls, so it may break some apks. Nice tweak, however
Cheers im looking into a few other tweaks and tricks at the moment will post if theres any good ones

Sent from my tf Enigmatic V1 Alpha 1.59Ghz Panda.test ( still a little crashy at this speed )
LG G2

Just installing a few roms to test then will settle on one :P
---------------------------------------------

Asus TF101 32GB with dock
500GB Seagate 2.5" HDD
My own personal re-worked flavour of AOKP built from source a lot of tweaking.
 
Danzano
Old
#7  
Danzano's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 361
Posts: 2,739
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Auckland
Quote:
Originally Posted by pashinator View Post
i remember trying this on my gt540 (why is it now legacy device section?) and it worked great but we would have 100mb free ram at a time whereas ow i got a gig in this badboy. confirmed works.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using xda premium
Haha goog to see another gt owner and yes im pretty sure it is now

Ive had people at univerrsity and a couple of mates ask if it was one of the first androids ever lol

Sent from my tf Enigmatic V1 Alpha 1.59Ghz Panda.test ( still a little crashy at this speed )
LG G2

Just installing a few roms to test then will settle on one :P
---------------------------------------------

Asus TF101 32GB with dock
500GB Seagate 2.5" HDD
My own personal re-worked flavour of AOKP built from source a lot of tweaking.
 
dragon_76
Old
#8  
dragon_76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 92
Posts: 573
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by pashinator View Post
i remember trying this on my gt540 (why is it now legacy device section?) and it worked great but we would have 100mb free ram at a time whereas ow i got a gig in this badboy. confirmed works.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using xda premium
UNIX-like systems cache eveything and as memory is needed, lesser used cached items are purged. If you have a UNIX-like system that has a lot of free RAM, your system is not running at optimal performance. Empty RAM is wasted RAM.

Cheers!
-M
Xda member since 2007
The Following User Says Thank You to dragon_76 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mrevankyle
Old
#9  
mrevankyle's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 540
Posts: 1,523
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
every time i run rm /cache/dalvik-cache/* it fails but wiping the dalvik cache in CWM will do the same thing correct?
Galaxy Note II-OmniRom Asus Transformer- Stockish(Media Center)
"Thank the devs, Thank the contributors"
 
Danzano
Old
#10  
Danzano's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 361
Posts: 2,739
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Auckland
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrevankyle View Post
every time i run rm /cache/dalvik-cache/* it fails but wiping the dalvik cache in CWM will do the same thing correct?
Correct
With mine i cleaned cache also aswell as cleared out staging but thats just me

Sent from my tf Enigmatic V1 Alpha 1.59Ghz Panda.test ( still a little crashy at this speed )
LG G2

Just installing a few roms to test then will settle on one :P
---------------------------------------------

Asus TF101 32GB with dock
500GB Seagate 2.5" HDD
My own personal re-worked flavour of AOKP built from source a lot of tweaking.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes