Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,235 Members 51,884 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] VPNC Route Help

Tip us?
 
ChezJfrey
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default [Q] VPNC Route Help

So I inadvertently killed my D1 by drowning it in a river and work sent me a new D3.

With a rooted D1, I was able to get VPNC to a Cisco working and <whisper>WiFi tether; I wanted the same usability in the D3. A little trickier getting things set up, but I'm just about there.

With wonderful resources like you people, found a radio tweak, and also that the D3 has tun built in (can see dev/net/tun), so with VPNC widget, got connected, see our Cisco banner text and issued IP in the VPNC log.

However, once connected to VPN, I can't access internet and can't ping any of our internal IPs either...I think my routes are wrong.

But, I don't know enough about setting up the routing table and was hoping someone could steer me in the right direction? I would like to manually adjust them, see if it works, then hopefully script it for after connection.

Not sure what anyone might need, but I'll start with this:

Before...

ip route list
66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 scope link
66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 proto kernel scope link src 10.251.3.122
default via 66.174.201.64 dev ppp0

netcfg
lo UP 127.0.0.1 255.0.0.0 0x00000049
usb0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
gether0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
sit0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00000080
ip6tnl0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00000080
tun DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
ppp0 UP 10.251.3.122 255.255.255.255 0x000010d1


After VPN connected...

66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 scope link
66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 proto kernel scope link src 10.251.3.122
default via 66.174.201.64 dev ppp0


netcfg
lo UP 127.0.0.1 255.0.0.0 0x00000049
usb0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
gether0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
sit0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00000080
ip6tnl0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00000080
tun DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
tun0 UP 192.168.144.8 255.255.255.255 0x000010d1
ppp0 UP 10.251.3.122 255.255.255.255 0x000010d1

I appreciate anyone taking the time to help me out.
 
ChezJfrey
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Update...

Apparently, I found my busybox wasn't symlinked properly, so things like grep weren't working...that's why the usual vpnc-script file wasn't updating routes as it normally would. Updated bb and after connecting with VPNC, I now get:

ip route list
<myciscoip> via 66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 src 10.242.253.151 mtu 1500
advmss 1460
66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 scope link
66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 proto kernel scope link src 10.242.253.151
default dev tun0 scope link

netcfg
lo UP 127.0.0.1 255.0.0.0 0x00000049
usb0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
gether0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
sit0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00000080
ip6tnl0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00000080
tun DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
ppp0 UP 10.242.253.151 255.255.255.255 0x000010d1
tun0 UP 192.168.144.5 255.255.255.255 0x000010d1

Unfortunately, I still can't reach internet or ping any of our internal IPs? Like I said, I don't know enough about TCP route configuration to know what's missing/wrong from the phone's routing table.

Anyone with some insight?
 
ChezJfrey
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Interesting...came across this (site wouldn't allow me to post link, so I mucked it a bit): androidforums.com /evo-4g-support-troubleshooting/ 140775-post-froyo-vpn-issues.html

They could connect to VPN if using WiFi, but not 3g. So, I tried connecting to my home WiFi, then VPN to work Cisco on phone...voila! Works fine...ping internal work IPs, facebook is blocked in browser due to our WebSense...just as expected.

So, can't VPN over 3g connection just yet....
 
lufc
Old
#4  
lufc's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Resident Priest
Thanks Meter 1485
Posts: 9,512
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Blackpool UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Please use the Q&A Forum for questions Thanks
Moving to Q&A
Pay attention and participate,Encourage,
not discourage, Listen to advice and accept instruction,
and in the end you will be wise.......... Prov. 19:20
 
jordy5
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Nov 2007
I've got it working in mine by doing the folowing (Thether + 3G):

First try using IP instead of DNS. Otherwise you'll need what I need probably (strip your APN of MMS etc.)

Create a new APN. Only fill in mimimal:

Name: Internet
APN: Internet
Type: Internet

Rest default. Worked for me. Adding MMS proxy etc. Blocks my VPN
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes