Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] VPNC Route Help

OP ChezJfrey

11th January 2012, 10:48 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
So I inadvertently killed my D1 by drowning it in a river and work sent me a new D3.

With a rooted D1, I was able to get VPNC to a Cisco working and <whisper>WiFi tether; I wanted the same usability in the D3. A little trickier getting things set up, but I'm just about there.

With wonderful resources like you people, found a radio tweak, and also that the D3 has tun built in (can see dev/net/tun), so with VPNC widget, got connected, see our Cisco banner text and issued IP in the VPNC log.

However, once connected to VPN, I can't access internet and can't ping any of our internal IPs either...I think my routes are wrong.

But, I don't know enough about setting up the routing table and was hoping someone could steer me in the right direction? I would like to manually adjust them, see if it works, then hopefully script it for after connection.

Not sure what anyone might need, but I'll start with this:

Before...

ip route list
66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 scope link
66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 proto kernel scope link src 10.251.3.122
default via 66.174.201.64 dev ppp0

netcfg
lo UP 127.0.0.1 255.0.0.0 0x00000049
usb0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
gether0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
sit0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00000080
ip6tnl0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00000080
tun DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
ppp0 UP 10.251.3.122 255.255.255.255 0x000010d1


After VPN connected...

66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 scope link
66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 proto kernel scope link src 10.251.3.122
default via 66.174.201.64 dev ppp0


netcfg
lo UP 127.0.0.1 255.0.0.0 0x00000049
usb0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
gether0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
sit0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00000080
ip6tnl0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00000080
tun DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
tun0 UP 192.168.144.8 255.255.255.255 0x000010d1
ppp0 UP 10.251.3.122 255.255.255.255 0x000010d1

I appreciate anyone taking the time to help me out.
12th January 2012, 05:16 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Update...

Apparently, I found my busybox wasn't symlinked properly, so things like grep weren't working...that's why the usual vpnc-script file wasn't updating routes as it normally would. Updated bb and after connecting with VPNC, I now get:

ip route list
<myciscoip> via 66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 src 10.242.253.151 mtu 1500
advmss 1460
66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 scope link
66.174.201.64 dev ppp0 proto kernel scope link src 10.242.253.151
default dev tun0 scope link

netcfg
lo UP 127.0.0.1 255.0.0.0 0x00000049
usb0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
gether0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
sit0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00000080
ip6tnl0 DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00000080
tun DOWN 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0x00001002
ppp0 UP 10.242.253.151 255.255.255.255 0x000010d1
tun0 UP 192.168.144.5 255.255.255.255 0x000010d1

Unfortunately, I still can't reach internet or ping any of our internal IPs? Like I said, I don't know enough about TCP route configuration to know what's missing/wrong from the phone's routing table.

Anyone with some insight?
12th January 2012, 07:20 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Interesting...came across this (site wouldn't allow me to post link, so I mucked it a bit): androidforums.com /evo-4g-support-troubleshooting/ 140775-post-froyo-vpn-issues.html

They could connect to VPN if using WiFi, but not 3g. So, I tried connecting to my home WiFi, then VPN to work Cisco on phone...voila! Works fine...ping internal work IPs, facebook is blocked in browser due to our WebSense...just as expected.

So, can't VPN over 3g connection just yet....
12th January 2012, 06:44 PM   |  #4  
lufc's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator / Resident Priest
Flag Blackpool UK
Thanks Meter: 1,532
 
9,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Please use the Q&A Forum for questions Thanks
Moving to Q&A
18th February 2012, 01:08 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
I've got it working in mine by doing the folowing (Thether + 3G):

First try using IP instead of DNS. Otherwise you'll need what I need probably (strip your APN of MMS etc.)

Create a new APN. Only fill in mimimal:

Name: Internet
APN: Internet
Type: Internet

Rest default. Worked for me. Adding MMS proxy etc. Blocks my VPN
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes