Post Reply

[UTIL] PatchSplash v0.1 - flash custom splash screen w/o old splash at the bottom!

OP pfcsabre

13th October 2008, 09:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag The Hague
Thanks Meter: 6
 
870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
I noticed that the old splash screen when flashing a new one still exists occupying about 100 pixels below the screen (where the OS, radio info shows at startup). This has been a problem in the Diamond and Raphael devices. On my stubborness and experimentation I've fixed it (without disregard of bricking it! I thank rotohammer for this!)

So, here you go! Tested working in Touch Pro and Diamond! (thanks to Sevennl for the first one testing it on Diamond )

patchsplash v0.1

- supports Raphael and Diamond Splash screen

Instructions:

- do the steps from on how to change your splash screen from here:

for Raphael : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...00&postcount=1
for Diamond (item no. 3): http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...95&postcount=1

- BUT, before doing step no. 5 (converting .nb back to .nbh file) run patchsplash

- usage: patchsplash.exe [R/D] <target .nb file> <output .nb file>

example for Raphael: patchsplash.exe R Splash.nb Output.nb
example for Diamond: patchsplash.exe D Splash.nb Output.nb

- continue packing it to to .nbh
- FLASH and DONE!

Correct file size of the final .nb file to be converted to .nbh should be 655360.
Want to revert back to original splash screens? I've extracted T-Mobile/Vodafone/HTC original splash screen for Raphael.

A SIMPLE DONATION OF THANK YOU's IS APPRECIATED. And of course, I'm not liable if you brick your phone

AT&T Splash from navyguy (thanks!) can be found here!
Attached Files
File Type: zip patchsplashv0.1.zip - [Click for QR Code] (8.2 KB, 2579 views)
File Type: zip Raphael_HTCHSplash.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.5 KB, 2791 views)
File Type: zip Raphael_TMobileSplash.zip - [Click for QR Code] (7.0 KB, 563 views)
File Type: zip Raphael_VodaSplash.zip - [Click for QR Code] (55.2 KB, 549 views)
Last edited by pfcsabre; 11th December 2008 at 09:32 PM.
14th October 2008, 04:30 AM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Flag The Hague
Thanks Meter: 6
 
870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
- reserved -

I need some sleep... zzzzzzzzzzzzz...
14th October 2008, 08:12 AM   |  #3  
bennec83's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pineal Gland Looking At Your 3rd Eye
Thanks Meter: 16
 
815 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
I would love to test but can i just ask, if i have a 480x640 splash screen i want to use, with your method the image will show up under the bottom 100px, or is that the wrong understanding.
14th October 2008, 09:38 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag The Hague
Thanks Meter: 6
 
870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennec83

I would love to test but can i just ask, if i have a 480x640 splash screen i want to use, with your method the image will show up under the bottom 100px, or is that the wrong understanding.

no-- that is the current problem right now everybody is missing about 100px data at the bottom of their screen when flashing splash screens for Diamond and Raphael, but with the patchsplash it will fill up the missing data so it will have the true 480x640 splash screen What others was doing before is just have a black splash screen (with an original HTC splash) so it would "sort of" blend with the screen
14th October 2008, 10:09 AM   |  #5  
bennec83's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pineal Gland Looking At Your 3rd Eye
Thanks Meter: 16
 
815 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfcsabre

no-- that is the current problem right now everybody is missing about 100px data at the bottom of their screen when flashing splash screens for Diamond and Raphael, but with the patchsplash it will fill up the missing data so it will have the true 480x640 splash screen What others was doing before is just have a black splash screen (with an original HTC splash) so it would "sort of" blend with the screen

so doing this would give me my full image (480x640), not the image minus the the last 100px and a black stripe?
14th October 2008, 10:12 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag The Hague
Thanks Meter: 6
 
870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennec83

so doing this would give me my full image (480x640), not the image minus the the last 100px and a black stripe?

precisely This is the thread on Diamond (see page 2-3) and I found the problem also happens on Raphael: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=412796
14th October 2008, 10:22 AM   |  #7  
bennec83's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pineal Gland Looking At Your 3rd Eye
Thanks Meter: 16
 
815 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfcsabre

precisely This is the thread on Diamond (see page 2-3) and I found the problem also happens on Raphael: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=412796

im going to the gym, then ill get this done!!

thanks for your help, ill report bk once complete.

Just a quick question, it has been a while since i used any command line stuff, how do i use patchsplash.exe (feel dumb asking! also abit lazy for not reading!! sorry)
14th October 2008, 12:06 PM   |  #8  
Sevennl's Avatar
Member
Flag Wijchen
Thanks Meter: 0
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
I tried it and it works perfectly on my HTC Touch Diamond.
Alto I used a different Flasher : DiamonCustomRUU.exe
(attached to this post)
Attached Files
File Type: zip DiamondCustomRUU.zip - [Click for QR Code] (611.3 KB, 310 views)
14th October 2008, 12:16 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Flag The Hague
Thanks Meter: 6
 
870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sevennl

I tried it and it works perfectly on my HTC Touch Diamond.
Alto I used a different Flasher : DiamonCustomRUU.exe
(attached to this post)

Yaaay! so it's confirmed! I'll modify my first post. Thanks for testing it!
14th October 2008, 12:51 PM   |  #10  
mallman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
1,762 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
yup, works like a charm. never spashed so beautifully!!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes