Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Folders for Windows Phone [UPDATE 4/30/12]

OP Jaxbot

14th January 2012, 04:10 PM   |  #1  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 548
 
1,224 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Hey all!

New release! Time to clean up the thread a little~



The new release comes as a one-size-fits-all: rooted devices will receive the privileged features, otherwise simple Marketplace searching will be used. Here's the features list:
  • Pin Folders onto your start screen
  • Full customization on what goes into what folder
  • One App Suits All: Install the XAP, which will automatically detect if the device has root privileges, and select the appropriate method for adding applications.
  • Non-rooted: Add from System or Marketplace, including OEM Marketplaces
  • Rooted: Pin folders to your start menu (experimental)
  • Adds one of the most requested features to Windows Phone devices
The region can be changed when searching the Marketplace, too.

You can download it at the bottom of this page: http://windowsphonehacker.com/folders

Let me know of any bugs or feature requests. Thanks!
Last edited by Jaxbot; 1st May 2012 at 11:31 AM. Reason: new release
The Following 32 Users Say Thank You to Jaxbot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2012, 04:27 PM   |  #2  
JusThinK's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chandannagar
Thanks Meter: 111
 
312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Exclamation
it's working fine, but I can't add Nokia Application on Lumia.
14th January 2012, 05:10 PM   |  #3  
EnderPsp's Avatar
Senior Member
Lost in Europe :)
Thanks Meter: 223
 
1,078 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Thanks Jaxbot!
I'm on UK marketplace, seems to be working for "add system"

I added one folder "My Games" with just "Games" in it and pinned it. It worked.
I went back to the app, tried to edit the folder (doesn't always respond) and when I pressed "Add system" and cancelled it, the white frame still remained on top (should've been deleted). Pressing back, I got a toast notification with:

Well this is awkward
I didn't get any arguments...
[ok]

I'll try to make a video.
14th January 2012, 05:16 PM   |  #4  
contable's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 958
 
1,692 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by JusThinK

it's working fine, but I can't add Nokia Application on Lumia.

Read post #1. Atm Marketplace is only supported en-us...
14th January 2012, 05:20 PM   |  #5  
EnderPsp's Avatar
Senior Member
Lost in Europe :)
Thanks Meter: 223
 
1,078 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Here's a photo of the above issue (this should be the original screen):


pressing back several times eventually exits.

---------- Post added at 04:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:20 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by contable

Read post #1. Atm Marketplace is only supported en-us...

So this is expected? Thanks btw! I'll wait for confirmation from Jaxbot.
Looking forward for updates
14th January 2012, 06:20 PM   |  #6  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 548
 
1,224 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnderPsp

Here's a photo of the above issue (this should be the original screen):


pressing back several times eventually exits.

---------- Post added at 04:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:20 PM ----------



So this is expected? Thanks btw! I'll wait for confirmation from Jaxbot.
Looking forward for updates

Confirmed, I'm adding the other markets soon.
Same goes with Nokia, I'll see about adding OEM markets, too.
Also, the popup is a dialog and doesn't behave like you would expect. I'm trying to smooth that out, but that's why that problem is happening. Thanks for the report.
(Also, there should be a little X on the box..try that)
The Following User Says Thank You to Jaxbot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2012, 06:46 PM   |  #7  
contable's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 958
 
1,692 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Here is a small guide how to add apps, which you actually canīt find with the marketplace search function of the folder app, to an existing folder:

1. Download Windows Phone Power Tools from here: http://wptools.codeplex.com
2. Install and run it on your desktop
3. Go to "file browser"
4. Search for the guid of the folder app (a2e30887-7682-43cf-9a71-c20104b190fa)

Note: if you have installed the folder app with Windows Phone Power Tools you will find "Folders" instead of the guid

5. tap on the guid or on "Folders"
6. you will see a file type xxxx.folder (xxxx is the name of your before created folder)
7. Press "Get" button and save the file to your desktop or just use dragīn drop function
8. Open this file with the text editor and add the name, the guid and the iconname of the app you canīt find in the marketplace (just check the existing apps and you will see how to do that)
9. save the modified file
10. copy the xxxx.folder file together with the appicon (important: .jpg format) back to the device ("Put" button or just dragīn drop)
11. run Folders on you device and you will find the manually added app in your folder
12. pin the folder

Attached is an example of a self-created "Nokia" folder including the appicons, just copy, as descibed above, all files with Windows Phone Power Tools to the Isolated Storage of the folders app and voila you will see an Nokia folder...


Cheers


contable
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP-14-01-2012-06-44-19.jpg
Views:	363
Size:	17.9 KB
ID:	856722  
Attached Files
File Type: zip NokiaFolder.zip - [Click for QR Code] (7.9 KB, 116 views)
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to contable For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2012, 06:47 PM   |  #8  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 548
 
1,224 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by contable

Here is a small guide how to add apps, which you actually canīt find with the marketplace search function of the folder app, to an existing folder:

1. Download Windows Phone Power Tools from here: http://wptools.codeplex.com
2. Install and run it on your desktop
3. Go to "file browser"
4. Search for the guid of the folder app (a2e30887-7682-43cf-9a71-c20104b190fa)

Note: if you have installed the folder app with Windows Phone Power Tools you will find "Folders" instead of the guid

5. tap on the guid or on "Folders"
6. you will see a file type xxxx.folder (xxxx is the name of your before created folder)
7. Press "Get" button and save the file to your desktop or just use dragīn drop function
8. Open this file with the text editor and add the name, the guid and the iconname of the app you canīt find in the marketplace (just check the existing apps and you will see how to do that)
9. save the modified file
10. copy the xxxx.folder file together with the appicon (important: .jpg format) back to the device ("Put" button or just dragīn drop)
11. run Folders on you device and you will find the manually added app in your folder
12. pin the folder

Attached is an example of a self-created "Nokia" folder including the appicons, just copy, as descibed above, all files with Windows Phone Power Tools to the Isolated Storage of the folders app and voila you will see an Nokia folder...


Cheers


contable

Glad people figured that out Thanks for the guide!
The Following User Says Thank You to Jaxbot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2012, 07:03 PM   |  #9  
contable's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 958
 
1,692 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaxbot

Glad people figured that out Thanks for the guide!

Thank you for the great app !

Is it possible to use .png files instead of .jpg ?

Copy .png files to the Applications\Install\....\Install\apps folder of your app doesnīt work if I create a folder manually...
14th January 2012, 07:09 PM   |  #10  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 548
 
1,224 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by contable

Thank you for the great app !

Is it possible to use .png files instead of .jpg ?

Copy .png files to the Applications\Install\....\Install\apps folder of your app doesnīt work if I create a folder manually...

Should be..might need to name them .jpg though, not sure. The images should be loaded as PNGs, though.

The Following User Says Thank You to Jaxbot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes