5,594,438 Members 33,634 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

AGPS Patch Wildfire 3.1 & 2.2 | GET BACK TO RAPID GPS LOCK, CAN LOCK ONTO MORE SATS

Tip us?
 
apollopayne
Old
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 255
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: shrewsbury
A big thank you! Took 3 secs if that. Totally stable as used nav to a hotel I'm staying at in Wales. The used method 3 and works great

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium
Samsung Galaxy S2
Rom: RootBox
Kernel: Dorimanx V9.16
Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE 2GB
Rom Parnoidandroid 3.65
Kernel: Yank555 V1.6d
Google Nexus 7
Rom: Parnoidandroid 2.99 Pie 3.1
Join DropBox and now get 500MB Extra Space!!!:- http://db.tt/XBKf4AM
 
eventcom
Old
#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 252
Posts: 797
Join Date: Jan 2012
just for completeness: I've used method 2 (/w ES File Explorer) as I'm not yet very familiar with adb ...
[HTC Wildfire][S-Off AlphaRevX][Radio 13.55.55.24H_3.35.20.10][312MB Custom MTD]
[2.6.35.14-SympFinity+ skoupo@android #9][264MHz-710MHz SmartAssH3][arco CWM]
[LeWaOS buzz v15 CM7nightly/GB 2.3.7][wow effects by CrossBreeder = sliced bread]
[AGPS Patch Wildfire 3.1 & 2.2][Apps, Dalvik-Cache, Cache on 1GB EXT by Mounts2SD]

No Dropbox? Help me + get 2GB
free cloud space yourself
 
crypted
Old
(Last edited by crypted; 18th January 2012 at 08:50 PM.)
#23  
crypted's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 4055
Posts: 2,473
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miami Beach, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollopayne View Post
A big thank you! Took 3 secs if that. Totally stable as used nav to a hotel I'm staying at in Wales. The used method 3 and works great
Glad you're having some luck.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eventcom View Post
just for completeness: I've used method 2 (/w ES File Explorer) as I'm not yet very familiar with adb ...
Cool. And, all is working fine for you still right?
 
eventcom
Old
#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 252
Posts: 797
Join Date: Jan 2012
I'd feel a bit ashamed if I would just say "works fine". GPS status told me that I'm locked on (to between 8 and 11 sats) just in seconds. Insane I'd say!
To me it looks like the manufacturers devs didn't do any of their homework LOL

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using XDA App
[HTC Wildfire][S-Off AlphaRevX][Radio 13.55.55.24H_3.35.20.10][312MB Custom MTD]
[2.6.35.14-SympFinity+ skoupo@android #9][264MHz-710MHz SmartAssH3][arco CWM]
[LeWaOS buzz v15 CM7nightly/GB 2.3.7][wow effects by CrossBreeder = sliced bread]
[AGPS Patch Wildfire 3.1 & 2.2][Apps, Dalvik-Cache, Cache on 1GB EXT by Mounts2SD]

No Dropbox? Help me + get 2GB
free cloud space yourself
 
cceerrtt
Old
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 147
Join Date: Sep 2010
I was thinking whether your server & certificate is really necessary so I have updated the default gps.conf with the other setting from your conf file while keepeng the original values.
Seems to me that it did the job too (gps fix in 5 secs).

Code:
# boot into clockworkmod and mount /system as rw
adb shell mv /system/etc/gps.conf /system/etc/gps.conf.old
adb push gpd.conf /system/etc/gps.conf
adb shell chmod 644 /system/etc/gps.conf
adb reboot
(or you can use esFileExplorer for this job)

I believe that the main reason for gps lock speed up might be enabling this feature properly (maybe original gps.conf doesn't do it right) or more benevolent accuracy thresholds (though I don't know the defaults).

Anyway, I don't want to lower your credits. Thanks a lot for bringing this topic.

My updated gps.conf attached.
 
cceerrtt
Old
#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 147
Join Date: Sep 2010
sorry, now attached.
Attached Files
File Type: zip gps.conf.zip - [Click for QR Code] (522 Bytes, 96 views)
 
crypted
Old
#27  
crypted's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 4055
Posts: 2,473
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miami Beach, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cceerrtt View Post
I was thinking whether your server & certificate is really necessary so I have updated the default gps.conf with the other setting from your conf file while keepeng the original values.
Seems to me that it did the job too (gps fix in 5 secs).

Code:
# boot into clockworkmod and mount /system as rw
adb shell mv /system/etc/gps.conf /system/etc/gps.conf.old
adb push gpd.conf /system/etc/gps.conf
adb shell chmod 644 /system/etc/gps.conf
adb reboot
(or you can use esFileExplorer for this job)

I believe that the main reason for gps lock speed up might be enabling this feature properly (maybe original gps.conf doesn't do it right) or more benevolent accuracy thresholds (though I don't know the defaults).

Anyway, I don't want to lower your credits. Thanks a lot for bringing this topic.

My updated gps.conf attached.
Basically you ripped the settings and remade my v2.2 as the first thread describes the difference.
 
cceerrtt
Old
#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 147
Join Date: Sep 2010
I see :D :D
 
crypted
Old
#29  
crypted's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 4055
Posts: 2,473
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miami Beach, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cceerrtt View Post
I see :D :D
No worries, but you may want to just use v2.2 since it is the same as what you modified my v3.1 to be that way you definitely didn't miss anything.

By the way, the order of the xtra servers are done to get away from the latency of an overloaded primary server from Qualcomm. That was the big winner for v2.2 because it did a localized form of load-balancing to help us out.
The Following User Says Thank You to crypted For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
B3!CrAZy
Old
#30  
B3!CrAZy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 604
Join Date: Jul 2011
little update...not working for splashmod .it works on cm

Tags
agps, gps, lock, navigation, satellite
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes