Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Flashing CM7 nightlies - LINK2SD messes up

OP *se-nsei.

15th January 2012, 10:57 PM   |  #1  
*se-nsei.'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 499
 
922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Can anyone help me out here?

I'm on the stable unofficial cm7.2 from alquez. Now the nightly builds are being released, but everytime I update by installing the zip via cwm my link2sd goes all nuts.

When I reboot after flash I get a mount warning, so I do a reboot.. then I try all sorts of things but all the liniks seem to be messed up and my internal memory goes full to capacity.

Does anyone know how to update without messing up my link2sd? I have to restore my nandroid everytime and so I don't get to use the nightlies.

I'm using an 8GB SD partitioned ext4 to 1GB.
16th January 2012, 01:46 AM   |  #2  
d33ps1x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 615
 
683 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Lightbulb Getting back up and running from a CM7 Nightly Update
1/ NANDROID BACKUP TO GET BACK TO WHERE YOU WERE IF YOU HAVE TO
2/ Titanium backup of all apps/data and system data
4/ Backup Titanium backup, ES File Explorer and LINK2SD apk's to SD card (Always have them there anyways!) using ES File Explorer
3/ Full wipe and install of new nightly and gapps
4/ Use CM7 File Explorer to reinstall TB, ES File, and LINK2SD
5/ Run Link2SD and relink SD Ext
6/ Turn on autolinking in settings
7/ Reboot
8/ Full titanium restore (files will auto relink to SD Ext with autolink on)
9/ Mass unlink the files you want on the Internal memory
10/ Redo your widgets on desktop

All your settings including WiFi, Google accounts, apps settings and data, System and Cyanogenmod settings will be retained.

Like I said. Pretty much all you have to redo is widgets.
Last edited by d33ps1x; 16th January 2012 at 02:01 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to d33ps1x For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2012, 03:08 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
134 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by *se-nsei.

Can anyone help me out here?

I'm on the stable unofficial cm7.2 from alquez. Now the nightly builds are being released, but everytime I update by installing the zip via cwm my link2sd goes all nuts.

When I reboot after flash I get a mount warning, so I do a reboot.. then I try all sorts of things but all the liniks seem to be messed up and my internal memory goes full to capacity.

Does anyone know how to update without messing up my link2sd? I have to restore my nandroid everytime and so I don't get to use the nightlies.

I'm using an 8GB SD partitioned ext4 to 1GB.

After flashing new build of CM7
go to link2sd, then recreate mount script choosing your correct partition (ext4 in this case)
fully reboot (not quick reboot)
all your app should now shown correctly
16th January 2012, 03:41 AM   |  #4  
d33ps1x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 615
 
683 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexyie

After flashing new build of CM7
go to link2sd, then recreate mount script choosing your correct partition (ext4 in this case)
fully reboot (not quick reboot)
all your app should now shown correctly

Sometimes you can lose some but not all of your linked apps and they won't relink dalvik or libraries.

Last attempt at a normal update and remount script I lost 69 apps that refused to relink.

If you want to be safer than sorry...
16th January 2012, 07:17 PM   |  #5  
*se-nsei.'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 499
 
922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by d33ps1x

1/ NANDROID BACKUP TO GET BACK TO WHERE YOU WERE IF YOU HAVE TO
2/ Titanium backup of all apps/data and system data
4/ Backup Titanium backup, ES File Explorer and LINK2SD apk's to SD card (Always have them there anyways!) using ES File Explorer
3/ Full wipe and install of new nightly and gapps
4/ Use CM7 File Explorer to reinstall TB, ES File, and LINK2SD
5/ Run Link2SD and relink SD Ext
6/ Turn on autolinking in settings
7/ Reboot
8/ Full titanium restore (files will auto relink to SD Ext with autolink on)
9/ Mass unlink the files you want on the Internal memory
10/ Redo your widgets on desktop

All your settings including WiFi, Google accounts, apps settings and data, System and Cyanogenmod settings will be retained.

Like I said. Pretty much all you have to redo is widgets.

OMg. That's the same as installing any custom ROM, just keeping the settings (which I backup anyway). I can't do this nightly! I might as well just update when there are major major improvements such as kernal, etc.

Can't we like, use a patch or something that saves all the links when updating, or something like that?
16th January 2012, 09:52 PM   |  #6  
d33ps1x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 615
 
683 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by *se-nsei.

OMg. That's the same as installing any custom ROM, just keeping the settings (which I backup anyway). I can't do this nightly! I might as well just update when there are major major improvements such as kernal, etc.

Can't we like, use a patch or something that saves all the links when updating, or something like that?

I'll work something out.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to d33ps1x For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2012, 10:43 PM   |  #7  
No.12's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
322 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
I too, always do full backup with Titanium, then full wipe, clear dalvik cash, install new CM build, then restore app using Titanium again.
My question is, why when I reinstall new build, gapps are always present, I don't have to install them again? I always do factory reset, clear cash partition and dalvik cash before update.

Wildfire S powered by CM 7.2
16th January 2012, 11:43 PM   |  #8  
*se-nsei.'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 499
 
922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by No.12

I too, always do full backup with Titanium, then full wipe, clear dalvik cash, install new CM build, then restore app using Titanium again.
My question is, why when I reinstall new build, gapps are always present, I don't have to install them again? I always do factory reset, clear cash partition and dalvik cash before update.

Wildfire S powered by CM 7.2

They're present because you included them in the full titanium backup.

--

Cool if you can d33p
17th January 2012, 01:02 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by d33ps1x

I'll work something out.

that would be great, thanks in advance.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cm7, ext4, link2sd, nightlies
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes