Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,879 Members 50,180 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Tutorial: LG P970 (P970H) unbrick/flash using SmartFlash Tool

Tip us?
 
radkor
Old
(Last edited by radkor; 6th February 2012 at 08:32 PM.)
#1  
radkor's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 213
Posts: 322
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Warsaw

 
DONATE TO ME
Arrow Tutorial: LG P970 (P970H) unbrick/flash using SmartFlash Tool

SmartFlash Tool completly erases device memory during flashing.
Phone will make Factory Reset at first boot after flashing!
You can upgrade and downgrade. You can downgrade from V20N too!

This also will remove phone lock if you forget unlock code or pattern. (phone lock, NOT simlock or network lock...)

This method doesn't need internet connection.
If you want to flash an LG P970H download correct ROM from link below.

With this solution you can unbrick LG Optimus Black P970.
It fixes bootloop, "ERROR LG Security Team", and BSOD - blue screen with green writings (untested).

Only requirement is ability to enter in to S/W Update mode and not broken hardware.

Tested on: Windows 7 Ultimate x86, x64 and Windows XP Pro SP3.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Downloads:
- SmartFlash Tool (mirror) [password: radkor@XDA]
- stock ROM V10A EEU XXX with .bin & .fls. [CRC MD5: d880b8834400575b5827bafbf29a745e] - DepositFiles, FileServe, WUpload.

Other bin/fls ROMs are HERE. (All these links are working again!)


You need to install LG Mobile drivers. They are located HERE. [CRC MD5: e4614071e72c0292d3a8238908b5c7ba]

1. Unpack SFT.rar that contains SmartFlash Tool program.

2. Unpack, preffered C: drive, firmware pack BIN_LGP970AT-00-V10a-EEU-XXX-MAY-09-2011_0.zip
Inside there will be 2 files: LGP970AT-00-V10a-EEU-XXX-MAY-09-2011+0_AP.bin i LGP970AT-00-V10a-EEU-XXX-MAY-09-2011+0_CP.fls.

3. Run B_SmartFlashTool_Extern.exe

4. Choose:
1) ROM copy D/L bookmark
2) in Select mode choose Normal mode
3) choose CP file: LGP970AT-00-V10a-EEU-XXX-MAY-09-2011+0_CP.fls
4) choose AP file: LGP970AT-00-V10a-EEU-XXX-MAY-09-2011+0_AP.bin
*) connect phone in S/W Update mode with battery in it (on the phone that is switched off, plug in USB cable WHILE HOLDING Vol+ button)
5) choose COM port.
6) choose LGE Mobile USB Serial Port in Communication Driver
7) click Start and wait till end.
It takes about 3 mins to flash.

After successfully flashing, phone will reboot and make Factory Reset.
And that's all!


Settings:


Flashing:


Finished:


Now your phone should be unbricked and working.


I will not take any responsibility if something goes wrong when you trying this solution. For me and many others it worked well.
The Following 130 Users Say Thank You to radkor For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gabwerkz
Old
#2  
gabwerkz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1545
Posts: 1,511
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Three Stars and a Sun
To add, it is a fast flasher compared to RDTT.
The Following User Says Thank You to gabwerkz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
radkor
Old
#3  
radkor's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 213
Posts: 322
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Warsaw

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabwerkz View Post
To add, it is a fast flasher compared to RDTT.
Exactly! It takes only 3 minutes to flash.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to radkor For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gabwerkz
Old
#4  
gabwerkz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1545
Posts: 1,511
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Three Stars and a Sun
Quote:
Originally Posted by radkor View Post
Exactly! It takes only 3 minutes to flash.
Don't you love that? Quick and easy... Thanks for the list link bro.
 
radkor
Old
#5  
radkor's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 213
Posts: 322
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Warsaw

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabwerkz View Post
Don't you love that? Quick and easy... Thanks for the list link bro.
AFAIK it's the safest & quickiest solution for flashing Black.
Now we only need newest firwares in bin/fls format, eg. V20N. Didn't find that yet.
The Following User Says Thank You to radkor For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gabwerkz
Old
#6  
gabwerkz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1545
Posts: 1,511
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Three Stars and a Sun
Quote:
Originally Posted by radkor View Post
AFAIK it's the safest & quickiest solution for flashing Black.
Now we only need newest firwares in bin/fls format, eg. V20N. Didn't find that yet.
Yeah, I used this one when I had BSOD way back. And I hope there'd be more. What I'd like to know is are they extracted or came from source? The method how to extract is interesting if they are.
 
radkor
Old
(Last edited by radkor; 16th January 2012 at 04:12 PM.)
#7  
radkor's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 213
Posts: 322
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Warsaw

 
DONATE TO ME
I think that these firmwares "leaked" from LG or were downloaded from their servers.
I will ask the guy who posted these files.

I've downloaded all these firmwares on my HDD as a backup if hosting delete this.
It has approx 20GB.
 
fongnd
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 102
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto
Hello all expert,

Newbie here and want to be safe in uncharted territory on flashing my phone, never done it before.

Does the "COM Port" matter, how do we know which port# to use.

Thanks,
 
Redpik
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 355
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bucharest
COM port is automatically assigned when usb is connected. I know in smart flasher, if you select lge mobile usb only one port will be available.
The Following User Says Thank You to Redpik For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fongnd
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 102
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redpik View Post
COM port is automatically assigned when usb is connected. I know in smart flasher, if you select lge mobile usb only one port will be available.
Redpik,

Thanks for your quick reply, really appreciated.

Can we use this tool to install the cook rom REDY2006 put together V20N ROOTED.

I have V20N installed, unfortunately cannot get it to root. Thinking of installing REDY's rom.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes