5,605,373 Members 39,570 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] XT883 radio image/fastboot for [SELFKANG ICS/CM9 ROM Alpha #5] GSM AT&T/T-Mobile?

Tip us?
 
ifailprettyhard
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Dec 2010
Post [Q] XT883 radio image/fastboot for [SELFKANG ICS/CM9 ROM Alpha #5] GSM AT&T/T-Mobile?

So i was Wondering if its Possible to Flash the XT883 radio image to HashCode's ICS/CM9 Rom Alpha #5 and do a build.prop tweek or so.. so we can have use of AT&T and T-Mobile just like you can do on the Stock Moto XT862 rom or The 2.0 Liberty Rom

My Droid 3 is Unlock and I am using Simple Mobile witch is on T-Mobile's Network
it Has Work Fine with Liberty 2.0 and stock Moto Rom i Have try the flashing method on ICS/CM9 but for some reason it wont give me the option to switch to GSM/UMTS on Network settings I have also try going to *#*#4636#*#* and switching is to GSM Only and Nothing Seems to happen, to me it seems like its not Flashing the Radio but not sure... Has any one try doing this?
The Following User Says Thank You to ifailprettyhard For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Endoroid
Old
#2  
Endoroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 314
Posts: 1,456
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Surrey
When you flash a rom its only flashing /system. Your radio.img should stay intact. However cm9 afaik still has issues with gsm, regardless of which radio.img you have

Sent from my XT860 using xda premium
 
BenSWoodruff
Old
#3  
BenSWoodruff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 118
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Vantucky
I'm going to be waiting till I get back on Verizon before I try this ROM. Hopefully by then it will be in Beta as well :)
Droid 3 XT862 back on Verizon now, using custom build.prop. Can't seem to get ICS to flash to my Safe system, ugh!!!
 
24861
Old
#4  
24861's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 43
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Trailer Park of Spokane

 
DONATE TO ME
Same results here. I been trying to get an ICS rom to run with the XT883 radio since I use Straight Talk (Wally's AT$T). But to no avail thus far. If anyone has managed to get them both to work, simultaneously I mean, help me into the "know". Thanks All........
 
ifailprettyhard
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Dec 2010
Has anyone had any luck with the New ICS/CM9 Alpha #6?
 
kapilthio
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 76
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mathura, Uttar Pradesh
For CM9, and Verizon Stock ROM to work with GSM:

Replace radio of XT883 into XT862 ROM using Fastboot. Install Safestrap if you want to flash CM9.

After flash the ROM in Safestrap (Don't ask me how to safestrap, Google it), replace the /system/lib/libmoto_ril.so & /system/etc/ppp/peers/pppd-ril.option with xt883's, edit /system/build.prop, changes:

ro.mot.eri=1 >>> ro.mot.eri=0
ro.cdma.nbpcd=1 >>> ro.cdma.nbpcd=0
ro.telephony.gsm-routes-us-smsc = 1 >>> ro.telephony.gsm-routes-us-smsc = 0
ro.cdma.home.operator.isnan=1 >>> ro.cdma.home.operator.isnan=0

find ro.kernel.android.ril=yes, and append these 2 lines below that:
persist.ril.rssi.enable.param6 = 1
persist.ril.baudrate=230400

reboot,then in dialler input *#*#4636#*#*,select Phone Information -> GSM Only (PRL) & same in Wireless & Networks.

Remember most custom ROM are Rooted. For Stock ROM Google for Moto_Fail or Droid 4 exploit and use them.
 
ifailprettyhard
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Dec 2010
Thank you so much will try it when I get home I have been waiting for this!!!
Sent from my XT862 using XDA
 
ifailprettyhard
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Dec 2010
One quick question where can i find the /system/lib/libmoto_ril.so & /system/etc/ppp/peers/pppd-ril files do i grab them from a xt883 OTA/Rom? or what? I am trying to do this it with ICS/CM9, Not stock Rom.
The Following User Says Thank You to ifailprettyhard For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
neonlite
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 144
Join Date: Dec 2006
after changing the build.prop settings. i cant enter my sim code anymore.
also when entering the *#*#4363#*#* i cant select GSM auto (PRL), stays on Unknown.
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 | Stock 4.3
Sony Xperia Tablet Z | CM11 - Android 4.4 - FreeXperia Project

-------------------

Device history:

Nexus 4
Nexus 7
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7
Droid 3
HTC Desire Z
HTC Diamond

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android App Review: Auto Config Free – XDA Developer TV

In this weeks episode of XDA Xposed Tuesday, we talked about customization of … more

Cloupload is a Beautiful and Fully Functional CloudApp Client for Android

If you’re a Mac OS X user who frequently uploads screenshots, … more

Microsoft Finally Brings Remote Desktop to Windows Phone

You may recall that back in October of last year, Microsoft released itsofficial … more

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more