Post Reply

New firmware update today

OP the_game_master

19th January 2012, 01:16 AM   |  #1  
the_game_master's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 54
 
663 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Anybody know what it does? I'm currently installing it on my Prime. This will be my first update since the ICS upgrade.
The Following User Says Thank You to the_game_master For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th January 2012, 01:17 AM   |  #2  
addisdar's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Mine just finished updating... Not sure yet on what it was for.
19th January 2012, 01:19 AM   |  #3  
hollywould's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Huntington Beach
Thanks Meter: 47
 
468 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Does it break root? I just got it, but haven't installed it yet.
19th January 2012, 01:21 AM   |  #4  
demandarin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Alexandria, Va
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
6,980 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by addisdar

Mine just finished updating... Not sure yet on what it was for.

Seriously..hmmm....I meed to check mines then for update...place update thread with any thoughts or finds on new firmware. I'm busy posting in another thread n we got new firmware. hope it doesn't kill my overclock..lol
19th January 2012, 01:22 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I got it about a half an hour ago and so far I feel like the only thing they changed was the menu button icon in a bunch of Google apps. Now it is 3 vertical dots. I could be wrong but I feel like it was different before.

Besides that I don't notice any difference.
19th January 2012, 01:24 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 18
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
no update here in UK....
19th January 2012, 01:24 AM   |  #7  
Doktaphex's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 426
 
1,430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I wonder if this time it wipes the whole system partition in order to eliminate any remaining HC niggles that may/may not have been causing issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frooty

I got it about a half an hour ago and so far I feel like the only thing they changed was the menu button icon in a bunch of Google apps. Now it is 3 vertical dots. I could be wrong but I feel like it was different before.

Besides that I don't notice any difference.

Were you rooted previously? Do you still have root?
19th January 2012, 01:25 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 215
 
547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
looks like GPS driver gets updated.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1452803
19th January 2012, 01:26 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
417 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
yes!

edit, same link as above
19th January 2012, 01:28 AM   |  #10  
GirLuvsDroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Wilmington, DE
Thanks Meter: 89
 
214 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
I used the Voodoo Rootkeeper app to temporarily undo root, then tried to install the update and the update failed. I used Rootkeeper to give me back root, but my overclock got wiped out. I just ran the Gscript I created from the vipermod tool script and got it back and then had SystemTunerPro set it to keep the CPU settings on boot again, but I'm not sure what to do about the update at this point.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes