FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

New firmware update today

664 posts
Thanks Meter: 54
 
By the_game_master, Senior Member on 19th January 2012, 01:16 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Anybody know what it does? I'm currently installing it on my Prime. This will be my first update since the ICS upgrade.
The Following User Says Thank You to the_game_master For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
19th January 2012, 01:17 AM |#2  
addisdar's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Mine just finished updating... Not sure yet on what it was for.
19th January 2012, 01:19 AM |#3  
hollywould's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Huntington Beach
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
Does it break root? I just got it, but haven't installed it yet.
19th January 2012, 01:21 AM |#4  
demandarin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Alexandria, Va
Thanks Meter: 2,050
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by addisdar

Mine just finished updating... Not sure yet on what it was for.

Seriously..hmmm....I meed to check mines then for update...place update thread with any thoughts or finds on new firmware. I'm busy posting in another thread n we got new firmware. hope it doesn't kill my overclock..lol
19th January 2012, 01:22 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
I got it about a half an hour ago and so far I feel like the only thing they changed was the menu button icon in a bunch of Google apps. Now it is 3 vertical dots. I could be wrong but I feel like it was different before.

Besides that I don't notice any difference.
19th January 2012, 01:24 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
no update here in UK....
19th January 2012, 01:24 AM |#7  
Doktaphex's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 655
 
More
I wonder if this time it wipes the whole system partition in order to eliminate any remaining HC niggles that may/may not have been causing issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frooty

I got it about a half an hour ago and so far I feel like the only thing they changed was the menu button icon in a bunch of Google apps. Now it is 3 vertical dots. I could be wrong but I feel like it was different before.

Besides that I don't notice any difference.

Were you rooted previously? Do you still have root?
19th January 2012, 01:25 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 323
 
More
looks like GPS driver gets updated.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1452803
19th January 2012, 01:26 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
yes!

edit, same link as above
19th January 2012, 01:28 AM |#10  
GirLuvsDroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Wilmington, DE
Thanks Meter: 144
 
More
I used the Voodoo Rootkeeper app to temporarily undo root, then tried to install the update and the update failed. I used Rootkeeper to give me back root, but my overclock got wiped out. I just ran the Gscript I created from the vipermod tool script and got it back and then had SystemTunerPro set it to keep the CPU settings on boot again, but I'm not sure what to do about the update at this point.
19th January 2012, 01:32 AM |#11  
BSMan1011's Avatar
Member
Flag Indianapolis, IN
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Tried installing and got an android that looked like it was is in surgery with a red warning sign above it....about to try again... I have root but that is all

---------- Post added at 08:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:29 PM ----------

I also have a custom boot anim which i am going to remove and retry now

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes