Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,099 Members 45,556 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

New firmware update today

Tip us?
 
BSMan1011
Old
#11  
BSMan1011's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 56
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Tried installing and got an android that looked like it was is in surgery with a red warning sign above it....about to try again... I have root but that is all

---------- Post added at 08:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:29 PM ----------

I also have a custom boot anim which i am going to remove and retry now
 
senatorxmg
Old
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 38
Join Date: Dec 2011
You guys who have done stuff with root are brave. I'm waiting for the updates to slow down before I attempt any custom stuff. No need to confuse myself as to the cause of issues should they occur. I'm staying vanilla for awhile!!
The Following User Says Thank You to senatorxmg For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dabbill
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 246
Join Date: Mar 2010
Updated just fine for me on a rooted device. Restored root with root keeper. Did not unroot before running the update.
 
GirLuvsDroid
Old
(Last edited by GirLuvsDroid; 19th January 2012 at 01:38 AM.)
#14  
GirLuvsDroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 214
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wilmington, DE
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabbill View Post
Updated just fine for me on a rooted device. Restored root with root keeper. Did not unroot before running the update.
Thanks, I'll try it again without removing root.

Still didn't work. I'm going to remove my modded SystemUI and restore the original one and see if that will make it work.
Asus Transformer Infinity
Rooted and ROM'd
Verizon Galaxy Note 3
Rooted & Xposed

Retired Rooted & ROM'd devices: OG Droid, Nook Color, Asus Transformer Prime, Samsung Galaxy Nexus
 
ragesoss
Old
(Last edited by ragesoss; 19th January 2012 at 02:09 AM.)
#15  
ragesoss's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 96
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
I just upgraded. No issues, and root is still intact.

Update: Actually, I was mistaken. It broke root, but it restored fine with rootkeeper.
 
BSMan1011
Old
#16  
BSMan1011's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 56
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Quote:
Originally Posted by senatorxmg View Post
You guys who have done stuff with root are brave. I'm waiting for the updates to slow down before I attempt any custom stuff. No need to confuse myself as to the cause of issues should they occur. I'm staying vanilla for awhile!!
All I have done is the custom boot anim and even that doesnt require replacing any files, I am still afraid to mess with cpu with things like vipermod
 
Wordlywisewiz
Old
#17  
Wordlywisewiz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 226
Posts: 1,123
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brattleboro

 
DONATE TO ME
I wonder if this downloaded without me knowing and tried to install when it rebooted...

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
 
BSMan1011
Old
(Last edited by BSMan1011; 19th January 2012 at 01:48 AM.) Reason: Update
#18  
BSMan1011's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 56
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Attempt 2 failed....got halfway then died....any ideas anyone?



UPDATE:
2rd attempt failed as well died around 1/3 way, 2nd probably died at the same point I just didnt pay enough attention....3rd try was plugged in, I am at 45% so that shouldnt be the issue but thought I would try....going to remove root and try again
 
colbyb25
Old
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 131
Join Date: Feb 2011
Mine seems to work just fine. Not sure why, but my prime is FLYING now...everything is super fast and smooth. Before it was fast, but not like this and every once in a while there would be a little lag. No more. This is even from "Normal" Mode. I can confirm that it breaks root however. My Prime no longer has root privileges.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using xda premium
 
achuong08
Old
#20  
achuong08's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 54
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver
anyone still getting random reboots/lockup/flashing?
Currently:
Galaxy SII-T989
Transformer Prime
Old:
Moto Cliq
Nexus S

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes