FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

New firmware update today

664 posts
Thanks Meter: 54
 
By the_game_master, Senior Member on 19th January 2012, 01:16 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
19th January 2012, 01:32 AM |#11  
BSMan1011's Avatar
Member
Flag Indianapolis, IN
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Tried installing and got an android that looked like it was is in surgery with a red warning sign above it....about to try again... I have root but that is all

---------- Post added at 08:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:29 PM ----------

I also have a custom boot anim which i am going to remove and retry now
 
 
19th January 2012, 01:34 AM |#12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
You guys who have done stuff with root are brave. I'm waiting for the updates to slow down before I attempt any custom stuff. No need to confuse myself as to the cause of issues should they occur. I'm staying vanilla for awhile!!
The Following User Says Thank You to senatorxmg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th January 2012, 01:34 AM |#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Updated just fine for me on a rooted device. Restored root with root keeper. Did not unroot before running the update.
19th January 2012, 01:36 AM |#14  
GirLuvsDroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Wilmington, DE
Thanks Meter: 144
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabbill

Updated just fine for me on a rooted device. Restored root with root keeper. Did not unroot before running the update.

Thanks, I'll try it again without removing root.

Still didn't work. I'm going to remove my modded SystemUI and restore the original one and see if that will make it work.
Last edited by GirLuvsDroid; 19th January 2012 at 01:38 AM.
19th January 2012, 01:36 AM |#15  
ragesoss's Avatar
Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
I just upgraded. No issues, and root is still intact.

Update: Actually, I was mistaken. It broke root, but it restored fine with rootkeeper.
Last edited by ragesoss; 19th January 2012 at 02:09 AM.
19th January 2012, 01:37 AM |#16  
BSMan1011's Avatar
Member
Flag Indianapolis, IN
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by senatorxmg

You guys who have done stuff with root are brave. I'm waiting for the updates to slow down before I attempt any custom stuff. No need to confuse myself as to the cause of issues should they occur. I'm staying vanilla for awhile!!

All I have done is the custom boot anim and even that doesnt require replacing any files, I am still afraid to mess with cpu with things like vipermod
19th January 2012, 01:37 AM |#17  
Wordlywisewiz's Avatar
Senior Member
Brattleboro
Thanks Meter: 226
 
Donate to Me
More
I wonder if this downloaded without me knowing and tried to install when it rebooted...

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
19th January 2012, 01:39 AM |#18  
BSMan1011's Avatar
Member
Flag Indianapolis, IN
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Attempt 2 failed....got halfway then died....any ideas anyone?



UPDATE:
2rd attempt failed as well died around 1/3 way, 2nd probably died at the same point I just didnt pay enough attention....3rd try was plugged in, I am at 45% so that shouldnt be the issue but thought I would try....going to remove root and try again
Last edited by BSMan1011; 19th January 2012 at 01:48 AM. Reason: Update
19th January 2012, 01:41 AM |#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Mine seems to work just fine. Not sure why, but my prime is FLYING now...everything is super fast and smooth. Before it was fast, but not like this and every once in a while there would be a little lag. No more. This is even from "Normal" Mode. I can confirm that it breaks root however. My Prime no longer has root privileges.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using xda premium
19th January 2012, 01:41 AM |#20  
achuong08's Avatar
Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
anyone still getting random reboots/lockup/flashing?
19th January 2012, 01:42 AM |#21  
HuskerWebhead's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Omaha
Thanks Meter: 147
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSMan1011

Attempt 2 failed....got halfway then died....any ideas anyone?

I know it seems silly, but try removing the custom boot animation. You never know. Try and think of any other changes you might have made and revert them back.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes