Post Reply

[ROM][05.10.12] CleanROM 4.5 Standard / Pro -★| ICS 4.0.3 | Tweaks | Skins! |★-

OP scrosler

7th April 2012, 06:39 PM   |  #6211  
scrosler's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Fargo
Thanks Meter: 52,695
 
24,021 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by azbryan3

I just have a quick question about the internal sd. is it possible to not wipe the internal sd when flashing. It seems like there are a lot of applications that saves it data to the internal sd like screen shots and a few camera apps. Could I just delete the ".xxxxx" folders to preserve the "user data" folders? I know some apps allow me to change & specify folders to save data to, which I direct to the ext_sd folder like titanium and pocket casts... But most don't.


- If I'm posting here I'm probably using this ROM on the phone that this forum is supporting.

Flashing my ROM will not erase your SD Card or Internal Storage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drkow19

Just flashed 4.3 Pro edition. I also flashed the camera mod for HQ pics and video, gonna try that out. I also flashed the new Beats mod that was posted here somewhere, so we'll see what that does.

I only have one question/concern... From 4.0 to 4.2 I noticed as others have, that Wifi turns itself on all the time, after I turn it off. This also happened on BAMF 2.1. I'm wondering if this is fixed finally, or if it will be fixed soon? Having 4G in my area really makes me never want to use Wifi.

Its not broke. You need to go into advanced settings and uncheck Turn on WIFi automatically and check Never warn me about WiFi or something like that.


-Scott
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to scrosler For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2012, 06:56 PM   |  #6212  
azbryan3's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Victorville, CA
Thanks Meter: 7
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrosler

Flashing my ROM will not erase your SD Card or Internal Storage

-Scott

Huh... Maybe it was just the ruu that initially wiped the internal SD. :) thanks!!

- If I'm posting here I'm probably using this ROM on the phone that this forum is supporting.
7th April 2012, 07:01 PM   |  #6213  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrosler

Hmmmm.... Sounds like the leaked RUU did not get flashed twice. Did you flash it twice?

Also, did you install the kernel per the instructions in the OP?

I will go back and flash the ruu twice, though I'm sure I did the first time. Also, about the kernel, I just have to boot into bootloader after the Rom flash to install thpe kernel, correct?

Also, before I try it, Sebastian's overclock kernel will work with this rom, right?

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
Last edited by wrarvoz; 7th April 2012 at 07:38 PM.
7th April 2012, 09:13 PM   |  #6214  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
This may be a dumb question to some, but I'm not sure so I'm asking anyway. When it says not to restore from backup, can we not restore apps from titanium backup either?
7th April 2012, 09:25 PM   |  #6215  
Po1soNNN's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greater Hartford Area, CT
Thanks Meter: 292
 
1,159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IncredibleMidgett

This may be a dumb question to some, but I'm not sure so I'm asking anyway. When it says not to restore from backup, can we not restore apps from titanium backup either?

no you can restore apps from titanium backup because it just backs up apps while a nandroid backs up your rom
7th April 2012, 09:35 PM   |  #6216  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
That's what I thought, just making sure, thanks! It seems like installation is no different from flashing any other rom, right? Wipe and flash through recovery?
The Following User Says Thank You to IncredibleMidgett For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2012, 09:41 PM   |  #6217  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
4.3 Dirty Flash
OK -- for what it's worth, I ran a dirty flash to go from 4.2.2 to 4.3. It seems to be working quite well, but with the following caveats:
  • Scott does NOT recommend dirty flashes, and I'm not sufficiently technically knowledgeable to be of much help if you try it and it doesn't work.
  • There are a couple of things I had to do to get everything happy again.
Once my phone rebooted, the Play Store could not connect over 4G. I connected over WiFi. Then it didn't show any of my installed apps. So I went to Manage Apps and cleared the cache and data for Play Store.

Next, I went to Titanium Backup and used Market Doctor to rebuild the market links. Play Store fired up under WiFi, with everything in its proper place.

Next, I turned off WiFi and went back to 4G. This time, Play Store connected and everything seems to be working.

One other minor glitch. The ROM insisted on using the Sense launcher, rather than the Nova launcher that I prefer. Re-installing Nova didn't work. I had to install a third launcher to get the phone to ask which one I wanted for default. I picked Nova. Then I deleted the one I'd downloaded, and all is well.

YMMV...
7th April 2012, 09:41 PM   |  #6218  
Po1soNNN's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greater Hartford Area, CT
Thanks Meter: 292
 
1,159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IncredibleMidgett

That's what I thought, just making sure, thanks! It seems like installation is no different from flashing any other rom, right? Wipe and flash through recovery?

yep as long as your on the latest ruu.
Also i recommend CleanWipe. wipes 5 or 10 times before flashing
may seem crazy but since i started using it i've never
had to reflash a rom because of problems
7th April 2012, 09:48 PM   |  #6219  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Ok then, couple more questions. I just got this phone and it came with 4.2 already. How do I find out if I'm on the latest ruu? Also how do you use clean wipe and where is the best place to find it?
7th April 2012, 10:02 PM   |  #6220  
Caladus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portland
Thanks Meter: 10
 
121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IncredibleMidgett

Ok then, couple more questions. I just got this phone and it came with 4.2 already. How do I find out if I'm on the latest ruu? Also how do you use clean wipe and where is the best place to find it?

In HBoot it should give you the date/version #'s for the hboot and radios you are running. Just boot into the bootloader (if you already have CleanROM 4.2 you likely have the leaked RUU, just hold down the power button and choose reboot and then select bootloader to check version #'s)

CleanWIPE in this thread
Last edited by Caladus; 7th April 2012 at 10:05 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Rezound Android Development by ThreadRank