5,595,760 Members 38,170 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Root (Updated for ICS)

Tip us?
 
randomgent
Old
#101  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrix Ashburn View Post
Yes..I did that
Alrighty , cheers mate , just being cautious of not bricking my tablet.
 
Sexxmax
Old
#102  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 57
Join Date: Aug 2003
Hey Guys

Strange. I have Problem entering recovery mode on my device.
With my former galaxy tab :No Problem. So let me clarify a few things.
When i turn of my device battery icon appears. Correct?

While the battery icon is flashing i press down simotanely both buttons power and volume up. Or first volume up and then the power?
I tried both versions and 2 things happen. If i donīt release the power button it just keeps restarting again and again.

If i release the power button- the system boots to os.

Perhaps i have the timing not right i donīt know.When exactly do i have to release the power button. When the big Samsung Galaxy tab 7.7 screen is seen?

Sorry guys but would be nice if you would post the exact procedure. I really need root to get my back up from titanium running.
 
davp
Old
(Last edited by davp; 20th February 2012 at 12:24 PM.)
#103  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 142
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brisbane
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexxmax View Post
Hey Guys

Strange. I have Problem entering recovery mode on my device.
With my former galaxy tab :No Problem. So let me clarify a few things.
When i turn of my device battery icon appears. Correct?

While the battery icon is flashing i press down simotanely both buttons power and volume up. Or first volume up and then the power?
I tried both versions and 2 things happen. If i donīt release the power button it just keeps restarting again and again.

If i release the power button- the system boots to os.

Perhaps i have the timing not right i donīt know.When exactly do i have to release the power button. When the big Samsung Galaxy tab 7.7 screen is seen?

Sorry guys but would be nice if you would post the exact procedure. I really need root to get my back up from titanium running.
Unplug all cables first, then you'll get it (as per post #1).
 
Linuschen
Old
#104  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Feb 2012
Moblie data window keeps pop up,everytime I reboot or using honeybar.
Any possibility to fix that?thanks~
 
EarlZ
Old
#105  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 271
Posts: 5,658
Join Date: Jun 2010
Turn off mobile data option if it keeps happening, hold down the power button and choose disable network data. I even have mine on flight mode and only enable Wifi. Though I dont have the same issue as yours.
 
hungelt8
Old
#106  
hungelt8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 126
Join Date: Feb 2009
failed to mount /sdcard (no such file or directory)
i already put the root.zip to the root of sdcard... but can't root my device successfully...
firmware is la1... hk ver
please help!!
 
jadid
Old
#107  
jadid's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 62
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Everett, WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by earthman5678 View Post
Yahoooo.... our very own Galaxy Tab 7.7 development forum. Rooted mine last night and did OTA update this morning. Surprisingly it didn't break the root. My firmware is now LA2. I made sure I have the original firmware to revert to stock before my root and I strongly suggest you to do so just in case you need to send it in for service. Make sure the firmware matches the original region of your Tab.
How do I backup my original ROM before rooting the device? I receive my SGT7.7 this Saturday (Excited!).

Thanks!
 
rxxt
Old
#108  
rxxt's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 75
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Copenhagen
Quote:
Originally Posted by hungelt8 View Post
failed to mount /sdcard (no such file or directory)
i already put the root.zip to the root of sdcard... but can't root my device successfully...
firmware is la1... hk ver
please help!!

As it says in the guide in first post, you need to use an EXTERNAL SDCARD!
 
hungelt8
Old
#109  
hungelt8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 126
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rxxt View Post
As it says in the guide in first post, you need to use an EXTERNAL SDCARD!
I said I already put the file into the root of the SDCard... but still can't root my device...
 
Jade Eyed Wolf
Old
#110  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 402
Posts: 1,246
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Arlington Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by hungelt8 View Post
I said I already put the file into the root of the SDCard... but still can't root my device...
/sdcard = internal storage

/sdcard/extStorages/SdCard = external storage

The Following User Says Thank You to Jade Eyed Wolf For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes