Post Reply

[RECOVERY] Lenovo Thinkpad CWR Port

OP jcase

22nd January 2012, 08:51 PM   |  #11  
Member
Flag Tbilisi
Thanks Meter: 1
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
More
Hello, can't install CWM. Made everything as in first post (but changed filename). After reboot tried to enter recovery mode, there was text on screen entering recovery or something but device booted to system and nothing happend. Whats wrong. Here is output of instalation:

c:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb push cwr_ventana_2
.img /data/local/
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
1298 KB/s (4452352 bytes in 3.347s)

c:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb shell
$ su
su
# mount -o rw,remount /system
mount -o rw,remount /system
# echo "#!/system/bin/sh" > /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
echo "#!/system/bin/sh" > /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
# dd if=/data/local/cwr_ventana_2.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p1
dd if=/data/local/cwr_ventana_2.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p1
8696+0 records in
8696+0 records out
4452352 bytes transferred in 1.903 secs (2339648 bytes/sec)
#
22nd January 2012, 10:03 PM   |  #12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
CWR test
did not seem to work . doesn't reboot in recovery but straight in normal boot

what info do you need to help debugging
22nd January 2012, 10:22 PM   |  #13  
ker2gsr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbaron

Hello, can't install CWM. Made everything as in first post (but changed filename). After reboot tried to enter recovery mode, there was text on screen entering recovery or something but device booted to system and nothing happend. Whats wrong. Here is output of instalation:

c:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb push cwr_ventana_2
.img /data/local/
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
1298 KB/s (4452352 bytes in 3.347s)

c:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb shell
$ su
su
# mount -o rw,remount /system
mount -o rw,remount /system
# echo "#!/system/bin/sh" > /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
echo "#!/system/bin/sh" > /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
# dd if=/data/local/cwr_ventana_2.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p1
dd if=/data/local/cwr_ventana_2.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p1
8696+0 records in
8696+0 records out
4452352 bytes transferred in 1.903 secs (2339648 bytes/sec)
#

have you tried usiing rom manager? ? I have not had the chance if not I would test currently backing up using titanium backup

Sent from my ThinkPad Tablet using Tapatalk
22nd January 2012, 10:26 PM   |  #14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
I installed it. It works. Though /sdcard cannot be found and backup doesn't work. But I'm sure these will be figured out in the near future
22nd January 2012, 10:32 PM   |  #15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
I've got it installed just fine and even got the back up files

Gonna do a clean install and then see about dumping the images
22nd January 2012, 10:41 PM   |  #16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
ClockworkMod Recovery boots for me and was backing up but failed while it was backing up /data for me (I have tried twice now). It seems to backup /system just fine though, I don't know why it would fail during the /data backup. Has anyone else successfully made a backup yet?
22nd January 2012, 10:50 PM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
405 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
failed to restart in recovery for me (exactly as redBaron)
Try to install CWM 3 times

OK, booting in recovery works fine, but NOT via Rom Manager !
(only by pressing and releasing vol+ button when booting)
Last edited by quyTam; 22nd January 2012 at 11:08 PM.
22nd January 2012, 11:57 PM   |  #18  
stewarta's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 38
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2004
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhankinson

Thanks for sharing this it worked great, except for the instructions I needed to use
dd if=/data/local/cwr_ventana_2.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p1
rather than
dd if=/data/local/cwr_recovery.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p1
to match the name of your file.
Thanks again for sharing, CWR seems to be running perfectly.
Also for those looking for root the exploit has been posted here.

Yes ... one has to take great care with naming files ... I did something similar and used Root Explorer to rename the cwr file correctly.
23rd January 2012, 12:50 AM   |  #19  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
recovery
still not workign for me.
tried to re-install it a few times

when i boot in recovery with Vol++ i see the booting into recovery message and then after a second or so vibrate again and start normal boot
23rd January 2012, 06:25 AM   |  #20  
Senior Member
Cypress, TX, USA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
I am very excited to see this news - though i'm going to wait until there is a semi-stable, well establish path for Root. Hopefully this achievement leads to the Thinkpad Tablet getting much more attention, its a pretty badass tablet and should prove to be a pretty good performer once all the Lenovo crapware is tossed out. Glad I remained faithful and patient!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes