How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Stuck on "obtaining IP address". Fixes don't work...

OP HotWhipT/A

22nd January 2012, 07:32 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
So I got the dreaded "obtaining IP" loop. I searched and found others have this problem too, but not for the Nitro. Their fixes don't work for me.

I can connect to my friend's router just fine with his password. I also have 2 routers at my house, both have passwords. I can connect to one of them just fine, but the other doesn't work and that's the one I get better signal from! I'm 100% sure I have the right password and I know the router is working fine because everyone else can connect to that router just fine with their phone.
23rd January 2012, 07:53 AM   |  #2  
bmxant's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
You're trying to connect to 2.4Ghz, not 5Ghz, correct? My Galaxy SII would connect to 5Ghz on my router, but my Nitro only connects to 2.4Ghz.
23rd January 2012, 10:21 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
They are both identical routers in my house. They don't say the Ghz.
24th January 2012, 12:00 AM   |  #4  
bmxant's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotWhipT/A

They are both identical routers in my house. They don't say the Ghz.

Which router is it?
24th January 2012, 08:55 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
D-Link DIR-615 wireless N router
25th January 2012, 04:00 AM   |  #6  
bmxant's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotWhipT/A

D-Link DIR-615 wireless N router

Which channel is the wireless set to?

Transmission Rate?

Channel Width?

Security Mode?

WPA Mode?

Cipher Type?

Let me know what these settings are, I'm using the D-Link DIR-825 here and it's working fine.
25th January 2012, 07:05 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
That's all Chinese to me. Where would I find this information?

All I know is my phone says its secured with WPA/WPA2 PSK

I really appreciate the help though
25th January 2012, 07:25 AM   |  #8  
bmxant's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotWhipT/A

That's all Chinese to me. Where would I find this information?

All I know is my phone says its secured with WPA/WPA2 PSK

I really appreciate the help though

Log in to the router from 192.168.0.1

Click the setup tab, and then wireless settings on the left. Next click "Manual Wireless Network Setup" and you should see your settings on that page.
25th January 2012, 07:03 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmxant

Which channel is the wireless set to?
2.432 GHz - Ch 5
Transmission Rate?
Couldn't find this. I searched around and on the internet. It's suppose to be under the Advanced wireless as the first thing. It's not under this tab. My first thing trasmit power and its on High.
Channel Width?
20 MHz
Security Mode?
WPA-Personal
WPA Mode?
WPA2 only
Cipher Type?
TKIP and AES

..........................
26th January 2012, 02:26 AM   |  #10  
bmxant's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Try these

Which channel is the wireless set to?
2.432 GHz - Ch 6
Transmission Rate? Automatic is usually the default setting for this
Couldn't find this. I searched around and on the internet. It's suppose to be under the Advanced wireless as the first thing. It's not under this tab. My first thing trasmit power and its on High.
Channel Width?
20 MHz
Security Mode?
WPA-Personal
WPA Mode?
Auto (WPA or WPA2)
Cipher Type?
TKIP and AES

The Following User Says Thank You to bmxant For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes