Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,210 Members 49,402 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Stuck on "obtaining IP address". Fixes don't work...

Tip us?
 
HotWhipT/A
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Stuck on "obtaining IP address". Fixes don't work...

So I got the dreaded "obtaining IP" loop. I searched and found others have this problem too, but not for the Nitro. Their fixes don't work for me.

I can connect to my friend's router just fine with his password. I also have 2 routers at my house, both have passwords. I can connect to one of them just fine, but the other doesn't work and that's the one I get better signal from! I'm 100% sure I have the right password and I know the router is working fine because everyone else can connect to that router just fine with their phone.
 
bmxant
Old
#2  
bmxant's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 88
Join Date: Nov 2007
You're trying to connect to 2.4Ghz, not 5Ghz, correct? My Galaxy SII would connect to 5Ghz on my router, but my Nitro only connects to 2.4Ghz.
 
HotWhipT/A
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Dec 2011
They are both identical routers in my house. They don't say the Ghz.
 
bmxant
Old
#4  
bmxant's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 88
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotWhipT/A View Post
They are both identical routers in my house. They don't say the Ghz.
Which router is it?
 
HotWhipT/A
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Dec 2011
D-Link DIR-615 wireless N router
 
bmxant
Old
#6  
bmxant's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 88
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotWhipT/A View Post
D-Link DIR-615 wireless N router
Which channel is the wireless set to?

Transmission Rate?

Channel Width?

Security Mode?

WPA Mode?

Cipher Type?

Let me know what these settings are, I'm using the D-Link DIR-825 here and it's working fine.
 
HotWhipT/A
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Dec 2011
That's all Chinese to me. Where would I find this information?

All I know is my phone says its secured with WPA/WPA2 PSK

I really appreciate the help though
 
bmxant
Old
#8  
bmxant's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 88
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotWhipT/A View Post
That's all Chinese to me. Where would I find this information?

All I know is my phone says its secured with WPA/WPA2 PSK

I really appreciate the help though
Log in to the router from 192.168.0.1

Click the setup tab, and then wireless settings on the left. Next click "Manual Wireless Network Setup" and you should see your settings on that page.
 
HotWhipT/A
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmxant View Post
Which channel is the wireless set to?
2.432 GHz - Ch 5
Transmission Rate?
Couldn't find this. I searched around and on the internet. It's suppose to be under the Advanced wireless as the first thing. It's not under this tab. My first thing trasmit power and its on High.
Channel Width?
20 MHz
Security Mode?
WPA-Personal
WPA Mode?
WPA2 only
Cipher Type?
TKIP and AES
..........................
 
bmxant
Old
#10  
bmxant's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 88
Join Date: Nov 2007
Try these

Which channel is the wireless set to?
2.432 GHz - Ch 6
Transmission Rate? Automatic is usually the default setting for this
Couldn't find this. I searched around and on the internet. It's suppose to be under the Advanced wireless as the first thing. It's not under this tab. My first thing trasmit power and its on High.
Channel Width?
20 MHz
Security Mode?
WPA-Personal
WPA Mode?
Auto (WPA or WPA2)
Cipher Type?
TKIP and AES

The Following User Says Thank You to bmxant For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...