Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Easy way to root evo

OP ralf_97

23rd January 2012, 02:59 AM   |  #1  
ralf_97's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
wats up guys. Im trying to root an evo and wanna know wats the easiest way to do it. I dnt have access to a computer right now so thats why im asking for an easy way if there is one. TIA
Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
23rd January 2012, 03:20 AM   |  #2  
GrimReaper24's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 1,089
 
5,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralf_97

wats up guys. Im trying to root an evo and wanna know wats the easiest way to do it. I dnt have access to a computer right now so thats why im asking for an easy way if there is one. TIA
Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App

You need a computer as far as I know and use http://revolutionary.io/ This works like a champ.
23rd January 2012, 03:28 AM   |  #3  
ralf_97's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Thanx. Do I need to download any files?
Quote:
Originally Posted by reaper24

You need a computer as far as I know and use http://revolutionary.io/ This works like a champ.



sent from my EPIC LEGENDARY SAMURAI phone bitches!!
23rd January 2012, 03:34 AM   |  #4  
GrimReaper24's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 1,089
 
5,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralf_97

Thanx. Do I need to download any files?



sent from my EPIC LEGENDARY SAMURAI phone bitches!!

http://unrevoked.com/rootwiki/doku.p.../revolutionary


read this there are Hboot drivers for windows make sure you have HTC sync uninstalled.

Anyways make sure your Hboot is one of the latest 2.16 i think is the latest.

What Hboot do you have? Your phone CDMA also?

Are you talking about the HTC EVO? Not the Evo design? Nor the EVO 3D

---------- Post added at 09:34 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:30 PM ----------

Also make sure there isn't any PC36IMG.ZIP on your phone. Prior to root.


Your talking about a EVO CDMA not a EVO 3D right...
23rd January 2012, 03:34 AM   |  #5  
xavier86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 82
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by reaper24

You need a computer as far as I know and use http://revolutionary.io/ This works like a champ.

Depends on the hboot. Revolutionary works with hboot 1.3 and 1.4. For hboot 1.5 the safest is with the HTC unlock method.

To figure out what hboot you have power down your phone and pull the battery for a few seconds to clear the fastboot. The press and hold vol. Down + power button which will boot into the bootloader and will tell you what hboot you have.

For hboot 1.5
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1239821

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
Last edited by xavier86; 23rd January 2012 at 03:37 AM.
23rd January 2012, 03:40 AM   |  #6  
GrimReaper24's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 1,089
 
5,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xavier86

Depends on the hboot. Revolutionary works works with hboot 1.3 and 1.4. For hboot 1.5 the safest is with the HTC unlock method.

To figure out what hboot you have power down your phone and pull the battery for a few seconds to clear the fastboot. The press and hold vol. Down + power button which will boot into the bootloader and will tell you what hboot you have.

For hboot 1.5
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1239821

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium

I think he is talking about the plain evo?

---------- Post added at 09:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:35 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ralf_97

wats up guys. Im trying to root an evo and wanna know wats the easiest way to do it. I dnt have access to a computer right now so thats why im asking for an easy way if there is one. TIA
Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App

Don't donwload that file unless your on the HTC EVO CDMA and know what HBOOT you are using the latest is 2.16 i think.

If your on the EVO 3D you will need to root HTC method if your hboot is 1.5.
23rd January 2012, 03:40 AM   |  #7  
xavier86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 82
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by reaper24

I think he is talking about the plain evo?

EVO 4g? I could be wrong believe the last ota that was released borked the ability to root until a new exploit method is found.

My point is that if he has updated recently then idk if he can root.

Again I could be wrong

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
23rd January 2012, 03:46 AM   |  #8  
xavier86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 82
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by reaper24

I think he is talking about the plain evo?

---------- Post added at 09:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:35 PM ----------



Don't donwload that file unless your on the HTC EVO CDMA and know what HBOOT you are using the latest is 2.16 i think.

If your on the EVO 3D you will need to root HTC method if your hboot is 1.5.

2.18 is the latest and can't be unlocked

http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-...ot-accept.html
Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
23rd January 2012, 03:46 AM   |  #9  
xavier86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 82
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I hope he didn't update if he has the EVO 4g

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
23rd January 2012, 03:47 AM   |  #10  
ralf_97's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Ok I have hboot 2.16... Now wat

sent from my EPIC LEGENDARY SAMURAI phone bitches!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes