Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

GPS woes & new ICS update

OP jonboyuk

23rd January 2012, 10:01 AM   |  #1  
jonboyuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South West UK
Thanks Meter: 94
 
851 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Well, damn it ASUS! I had a vague GPS thing going on when I first got ICS. Since I got the update for GPS it's killed it

I left the prime in the window bay for 25 mins and this is what I got


Nothing. I presume this has nothing to do with root etc? Would a system erase make any difference? Is it even worth a try?

It's not like I use it often, but it used to lock from here fine and now it doesn't.

Meh!
The Following User Says Thank You to jonboyuk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2012, 11:26 AM   |  #2  
SteveG12543's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Dover, DE
Thanks Meter: 373
 
2,131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
No difference for me, no satellites before or after the update. But...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1459356

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA Premium.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SteveG12543 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2012, 12:35 PM   |  #3  
kristovaher's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tallinn
Thanks Meter: 221
 
947 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonboyuk

Well, damn it ASUS! I had a vague GPS thing going on when I first got ICS. Since I got the update for GPS it's killed it

I left the prime in the window bay for 25 mins and this is what I got


Nothing. I presume this has nothing to do with root etc? Would a system erase make any difference? Is it even worth a try?

It's not like I use it often, but it used to lock from here fine and now it doesn't.

Meh!

You should get some satellites if you turn the device around. Right now the metal back possibly blocks all potential signals. Aluminum back cuts down about 50% of GPS signal performance compared to smartphone like Galaxy Nexus (which also does not have ideal GPS, though does work).

23rd January 2012, 01:56 PM   |  #4  
jonboyuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South West UK
Thanks Meter: 94
 
851 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kristovaher

You should get some satellites if you turn the device around. Right now the metal back possibly blocks all potential signals. Aluminum back cuts down about 50% of GPS signal performance compared to smartphone like Galaxy Nexus (which also does not have ideal GPS, though does work).

Good idea and thanks - I tried this, flat, next to a window and left for an hour. Still nothing How can an OTA update that claims to fix GPS break it?! Lol!
23rd January 2012, 02:15 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Epsom
Thanks Meter: 16
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Yeah, I got the same - absolutely nothing despite over an hour face up completely flat.
My phone (Dell Streak) gets locks immediately in the same place.

The only way I've managed to "see" a single satellite on my Prime is after BT tethering to my Streak!

Very disappointing, not that it's crucial to have GPS, but there's a principle involved here.
23rd January 2012, 02:23 PM   |  #6  
Wordlywisewiz's Avatar
Senior Member
Brattleboro
Thanks Meter: 226
 
1,123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonboyuk

Good idea and thanks - I tried this, flat, next to a window and left for an hour. Still nothing How can an OTA update that claims to fix GPS break it?! Lol!

Do yourself a favor change the power modes while in the GPS app!

See that little circle notification if it is not flashing it is not trying to lock so all you gotta do to get it to start locking is expand than minimize the notification bar!

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Wordlywisewiz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2012, 02:23 PM   |  #7  
jonboyuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South West UK
Thanks Meter: 94
 
851 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by green750one

Yeah, I got the same - absolutely nothing despite over an hour face up completely flat.
My phone (Dell Streak) gets locks immediately in the same place.

The only way I've managed to "see" a single satellite on my Prime is after BT tethering to my Streak!

Very disappointing, not that it's crucial to have GPS, but there's a principle involved here.

Couldn't agree more. I had mine picking up sats in my car with Honeycomb...then ICS came along (second ICS OTA) and decided to take it away from me. Disappointed. Now, where's that Mr.Gary Key? Ha!
23rd January 2012, 02:28 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 144
 
755 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Ditto - this last update killed my previously acceptable GPS performance. Mine will see as many as 8 birds with decent SNR, but will not lock on any of them.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk
23rd January 2012, 02:53 PM   |  #9  
jonboyuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South West UK
Thanks Meter: 94
 
851 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wordlywisewiz

Do yourself a favor change the power modes while in the GPS app!

See that little circle notification if it is not flashing it is not trying to lock so all you gotta do to get it to start locking is expand than minimize the notification bar!

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

I knew that trick!! It was the first thing I tried before running a full reset :/ Thanks though
23rd January 2012, 02:55 PM   |  #10  
jonboyuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South West UK
Thanks Meter: 94
 
851 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman

Ditto - this last update killed my previously acceptable GPS performance. Mine will see as many as 8 birds with decent SNR, but will not lock on any of them.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk

Ooops I should have multiquoted! Anyway, clearly it's happened quite a lot....gutted.....

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes