FORUMS

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

GPS woes & new ICS update

870 posts
Thanks Meter: 105
 
By jonboyuk, Senior Member on 23rd January 2012, 09:01 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Well, damn it ASUS! I had a vague GPS thing going on when I first got ICS. Since I got the update for GPS it's killed it

I left the prime in the window bay for 25 mins and this is what I got


Nothing. I presume this has nothing to do with root etc? Would a system erase make any difference? Is it even worth a try?

It's not like I use it often, but it used to lock from here fine and now it doesn't.

Meh!
The Following User Says Thank You to jonboyuk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
23rd January 2012, 10:26 AM |#2  
SteveG12543's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Dover, DE
Thanks Meter: 375
 
Donate to Me
More
No difference for me, no satellites before or after the update. But...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1459356

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA Premium.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SteveG12543 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2012, 11:35 AM |#3  
kristovaher's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tallinn
Thanks Meter: 221
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonboyuk

Well, damn it ASUS! I had a vague GPS thing going on when I first got ICS. Since I got the update for GPS it's killed it

I left the prime in the window bay for 25 mins and this is what I got


Nothing. I presume this has nothing to do with root etc? Would a system erase make any difference? Is it even worth a try?

It's not like I use it often, but it used to lock from here fine and now it doesn't.

Meh!

You should get some satellites if you turn the device around. Right now the metal back possibly blocks all potential signals. Aluminum back cuts down about 50% of GPS signal performance compared to smartphone like Galaxy Nexus (which also does not have ideal GPS, though does work).

23rd January 2012, 12:56 PM |#4  
jonboyuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South West UK
Thanks Meter: 105
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kristovaher

You should get some satellites if you turn the device around. Right now the metal back possibly blocks all potential signals. Aluminum back cuts down about 50% of GPS signal performance compared to smartphone like Galaxy Nexus (which also does not have ideal GPS, though does work).

Good idea and thanks - I tried this, flat, next to a window and left for an hour. Still nothing How can an OTA update that claims to fix GPS break it?! Lol!
23rd January 2012, 01:15 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Epsom
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Yeah, I got the same - absolutely nothing despite over an hour face up completely flat.
My phone (Dell Streak) gets locks immediately in the same place.

The only way I've managed to "see" a single satellite on my Prime is after BT tethering to my Streak!

Very disappointing, not that it's crucial to have GPS, but there's a principle involved here.
23rd January 2012, 01:23 PM |#6  
Wordlywisewiz's Avatar
Senior Member
Brattleboro
Thanks Meter: 226
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonboyuk

Good idea and thanks - I tried this, flat, next to a window and left for an hour. Still nothing How can an OTA update that claims to fix GPS break it?! Lol!

Do yourself a favor change the power modes while in the GPS app!

See that little circle notification if it is not flashing it is not trying to lock so all you gotta do to get it to start locking is expand than minimize the notification bar!

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Wordlywisewiz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2012, 01:23 PM |#7  
jonboyuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South West UK
Thanks Meter: 105
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by green750one

Yeah, I got the same - absolutely nothing despite over an hour face up completely flat.
My phone (Dell Streak) gets locks immediately in the same place.

The only way I've managed to "see" a single satellite on my Prime is after BT tethering to my Streak!

Very disappointing, not that it's crucial to have GPS, but there's a principle involved here.

Couldn't agree more. I had mine picking up sats in my car with Honeycomb...then ICS came along (second ICS OTA) and decided to take it away from me. Disappointed. Now, where's that Mr.Gary Key? Ha!
23rd January 2012, 01:28 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 145
 
More
Ditto - this last update killed my previously acceptable GPS performance. Mine will see as many as 8 birds with decent SNR, but will not lock on any of them.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk
23rd January 2012, 01:53 PM |#9  
jonboyuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South West UK
Thanks Meter: 105
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wordlywisewiz

Do yourself a favor change the power modes while in the GPS app!

See that little circle notification if it is not flashing it is not trying to lock so all you gotta do to get it to start locking is expand than minimize the notification bar!

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

I knew that trick!! It was the first thing I tried before running a full reset :/ Thanks though
23rd January 2012, 01:55 PM |#10  
jonboyuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South West UK
Thanks Meter: 105
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman

Ditto - this last update killed my previously acceptable GPS performance. Mine will see as many as 8 birds with decent SNR, but will not lock on any of them.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk

Ooops I should have multiquoted! Anyway, clearly it's happened quite a lot....gutted.....
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes