Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROOT] Mempodroid root - ICS 9.4.2.11+

OP se1000

24th January 2012, 10:47 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
** This is completely unsupported!!!!!!! **

ALL credit goes to saurik for the root method, Jason A. Donenfeld (zx2c4) for finding the exploit, alpharevx for finding the offsets and initial confirmation on the Transformer Prime and viperboy for finding it and posting it in his thread. I did not research, find, or develop this root method!

Mods, if I've done anything wrong, please feel free to remove this thread.

You will need to know how to use ADB commands, otherwise, use viperMOD PrimeTime!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.
Downloads:

mempodroid binary
su binary


Root:

adb push mempodroid /data/local
adb push su /data/local
adb shell

chmod 777 /data/local/mempodroid
/data/local/mempodroid 0xd9ec 0xaf47 sh

** You should now be in a remote shell session with root (indicated by #)

mount -o remount,rw -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /system

** IF you have previously rooted your Prime, run the following two commands. They may throw an error that the file a file was not found.

rm /system/bin/su
rm /system/xbin/su


cat /data/local/su > /system/xbin/su
chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su
rm /data/local/mempodroid
rm /data/local/su
exit
exit

adb reboot


After your Transformer Prime comes up, install Superuser from android market.

HOPEFULLY everyone has learned their lesson and will also install Voodoo Rootkeeper as well!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! R

Enjoi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


** Feb 21 2012 Edit **

Works on 9.4.2.14


** Feb 09 2012 Edit **

Works on 9.4.2.13

** Jan 25 2012 Edit **

Changed the mount command - thanks viperboy!
Added steps to possibly resolve issues with previously rooted systems
Changed a few steps to be a little bit easier.


**Jan 24 2012 Edit **

Some people are reporting issues with this method. I suspect this is due to previously having root or other altered files. A method that has worked for some is to update to 9.4.2.11.1 and then following the above procedures. Please note, this firmware release is unofficial and at this time THERE IS NO DOWNGRADE PATH.
Last edited by se1000; 22nd February 2012 at 12:55 AM.
The Following 50 Users Say Thank You to se1000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th January 2012, 11:03 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
i keep getting permission denied after

adb shell /data/local/mempodroid 0xd9ec 0xaf47 mount -o remount,rw '' /system
24th January 2012, 11:04 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
i missed a chmod step, add it just now.

run:
adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/mempodroid

and then pick up right where you left off.
The Following User Says Thank You to se1000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th January 2012, 11:11 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
as i am not root nor superuser .. i don't even get access

/ $ cd data
~ $ ls
ls: can't open '.': Permission denied
24th January 2012, 11:12 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
after this command
adb shell /data/local/mempodroid 0xd9ec 0xaf47 sh
i got root@android:/ # but i cant type anything else in the dos windows after it.. can you explain further please
24th January 2012, 11:13 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by insane111

after this command
adb shell /data/local/mempodroid 0xd9ec 0xaf47 sh
i got root@android:/ # but i cant type anything else in the dos windows after it.. can you explain further please

click on the window, you should be able to continue typing
24th January 2012, 11:14 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
/mnt/sdcard/Download $ adb push su /data/local
error: device not found
24th January 2012, 11:15 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
for some odd reason i cant type anything else after on that window..
24th January 2012, 11:18 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
after shell with root, i get the #, but i can't type anything afterwards. do i just repeat the process over?

edit: question was already asked, tried clicking on window, doesn't work.
24th January 2012, 11:18 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by insane111

for some odd reason i cant type anything else after on that window..

updating!

10 char

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes