Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required

Noob: Intel Android tablet to Windows 8? Possible?

OP CacOBG

25th January 2012, 12:27 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0

2 posts
OK, couldn't find a similar thread, so I will make a new one. I am a Noob when it comes to tablets and their OS restrictions (I've heard of boot-loaders and stuff but don't know exactly what they are).

So to the question - say I get something like this: Lenovo Ideatab K2110, which runs on an Intel X86 architecture.

Then when Windows 8 come out, can I get a license and run it on the device? Will that be possible? I know it is sort of early, but I am thinking about tablets and evaluating the options. Not really a fan of Android and iOS as I've always used windows, so I was just wondering if I get an Intel-based ICS 4.0 device, whether I can upgrade to Win eventually if I am not happy with it.

Also, I haven't found anything on the net, for convertable Android Intel-based tablets (like the Transformer) - anyone read anything on the topic? As if I upgrade to Win 8, I'd prefer a keyboard-dockable device.

Any help will be much appreciated!