Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Sprint is rolling out EL29.. but it seems to be... different

OP reddragon72

25th January 2012, 06:38 PM   |  #1  
reddragon72's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston, because I have a problem
Thanks Meter: 290
 
1,321 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
So I have seen new about sprint pushing out an update for our phone starting now. Even though it is EL29 the screen shots are showing a different base band S710.0.5S.EL29 and the EL29 I am on right now is S710.10.S.EL29

so whats the diff? Should I roll back to EG30, and let the OTA go and then root? I ask because I am getting HORRIBLE battery life on EL29 and I mean HORRIBLE!! 8 hour days with less then 2hours of screen on time.... EG30 was 14+ with 4+ screen time....
25th January 2012, 06:49 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
I'm going to be rolling back to receive the OTA because I'm also experiencing unacceptable battery life!
25th January 2012, 06:52 PM   |  #3  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicagoland
Thanks Meter: 2,479
 
5,937 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Uh... why don't you just wait?
The Following User Says Thank You to _MetalHead_ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th January 2012, 06:57 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Maybe we have a release with debugging turned on...

Sent from my SPH-D710 using XDA App
25th January 2012, 08:08 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
So is it a safe assumption that EL29 is newer than the Ek02 that I'm on now?
25th January 2012, 08:12 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,654
 
3,911 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by slevy951

So is it a safe assumption that EL29 is newer than the Ek02 that I'm on now?

Yes.

And I'm interested in seeing the changes, if any. It could just mark that it's official and not in testing anymore. Regardless, 4g signal and 3g signal are superb and my battery life is ridiculously amazing on the cirrent el29 setup.

We'll see.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Overstew For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th January 2012, 09:01 PM   |  #7  
reddragon72's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston, because I have a problem
Thanks Meter: 290
 
1,321 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overstew

Yes.

And I'm interested in seeing the changes, if any. It could just mark that it's official and not in testing anymore. Regardless, 4g signal and 3g signal are superb and my battery life is ridiculously amazing on the cirrent el29 setup.

We'll see.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk


And this is the odd thing. People like yourself are reporting great battery life on EL29, but there are a bunch of us that are experiencing just the opposite. As for signal strength I am not seeing a difference between any rom.
25th January 2012, 09:05 PM   |  #8  
Optimal Carnage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland, OH
Thanks Meter: 39
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Hmm no updates available for me yet
:-/
Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
25th January 2012, 09:09 PM   |  #9  
nibrwr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 288
 
1,352 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overstew

Yes.

And I'm interested in seeing the changes, if any. It could just mark that it's official and not in testing anymore. Regardless, 4g signal and 3g signal are superb and my battery life is ridiculously amazing on the cirrent el29 setup.

We'll see.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk

Stew, you UV/OC? Stock kernel or custom?
25th January 2012, 09:15 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 490
 
1,420 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddragon72

So I have seen new about sprint pushing out an update for our phone starting now. Even though it is EL29 the screen shots are showing a different base band S710.0.5S.EL29 and the EL29 I am on right now is S710.10.S.EL29

so whats the diff? Should I roll back to EG30, and let the OTA go and then root? I ask because I am getting HORRIBLE battery life on EL29 and I mean HORRIBLE!! 8 hour days with less then 2hours of screen on time.... EG30 was 14+ with 4+ screen time....

If you remember a few months ago, eg30 came with two modem variants, it is possible the same thing is this time. Since we have an eg30 modem now, it will be updatable.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes