Post Reply

[XT860][CM9] Working 3G data... finally!

OP Rick#2

26th January 2012, 08:47 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Victoria
Thanks Meter: 123
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Hey guys,

I finally got 3G data working in Hashcode's port of ICS to the Droid 3/XT860. I'm currently using the isuacell (Mexico) revision on a Bell XT860; I wasn't able to get ICS to boot up on the current Bell update, although I'm sure it's something simple I've overlooked. I'm fairly certain it'll work on other software updates such as the ones from Argentina/Brazil, and possibly the ME863 but I don't have the time to test it myself, let me know if it works for you if you're running any of these updates.

Nevertheless, I got it working pretty easily. I don't have time to do a full writeup right now but it was exactly what I suspected earlier, a minor issue in the Android framework causing an exception that would disconnect 3G data a few seconds after a connection to the APN was successfully made. That, combined with Motorola's RIL library from the isuacell firmware and a few build.prop tweaks were all it took, and so far it is running pretty good.

Only major thing I've noticed so far is that the cell status indicator only seems to indicate either perfect reception or none, no in between, but for now I'm pretty stoked this is working as I can finally use ICS on a daily basis instead of switching back and forth a dozen times a day.

Here's a link to a .zip to be installed via Safestrap. Be sure to perform a factory reset and to be safe, mount system and format it in the "mounts and storage" area before installing the zip to ensure a clean install. Also, as Hashcode had mentioned in his release thread, don't let it restore your old settings when you run through the Setup Wizard on the first boot. Enjoy, and be sure to thank Hashcode for all the effort he's put into making our phones even better!

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/22632665/CM9_XT860.zip
md5=6302b1733777ad5d7e3d5483d9291591
176820984 bytes

---------------------------------------

EDIT: I was lazy earlier and just posted the link to the full update, I finally got around to releasing a significantly smaller, more sensible patch:

http://db.tt/HEbusNM3
xt860_ics_patch_01_30_2012-safe_system-signed.zip
md5=60dc2db347c7310d0f5e51b0e02b9952
4231015 bytes

I recommend flashing Hashcode's Alpha 5 release, then doing a factory reset before installing this update in Safestrap. I can make one for the non-safe system users out there too, just didn't bother but it'd take two seconds.

Also, check out my github repos for the changes I made to get 3G data working. (You'll probably laugh when you see the change to android_frameworks_base):

http://github.com/buddyrich

I've kind of mimicked Hashcode to keep things simple; my changes are in the branch "ics-xt860". The easiest way to compile it all from scratch is like this: (Assuming you're in your working directory)

1) repo init -u git://github.com/CyanogenMod/android.git -b ics
2) cd .repo
3) git clone git://github.com/buddyrich/android_local_solana.git
4) cd android_local_solana
5) git checkout ics-xt860
5) cp local_manifest.xml ../
6) rm -f -r android_local_solana
7) repo sync -j24
8) Place this file in the root of your working directory, eg: ~/android/system/ : http://db.tt/1HpM2m6r
9) vendor/cm/get-prebuilts
10) . build/envsetup.sh
11) brunch solana
Last edited by Rick#2; 30th January 2012 at 12:32 PM.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Rick#2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th January 2012, 10:58 AM   |  #2  
emprize's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 124
 
1,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
nice, it works!
26th January 2012, 02:12 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick#2

Also, as Hashcode had mentioned in his release thread, don't let it restore your old settings when you run through the Setup Wizard on the first boot.

I see this mentioned everywhere, and now I just have to ask. What happens if you do let it restore your old settings?
26th January 2012, 03:27 PM   |  #4  
emprize's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 124
 
1,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
funny....i got 3G, but i cant make a call nor receive a call......
is that my problem or known problem?
Last edited by emprize; 26th January 2012 at 04:00 PM.
26th January 2012, 03:42 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Victoria
Thanks Meter: 123
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
That is strange, I can make and receive calls without any issues. What software/baseband are you using?
26th January 2012, 03:47 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Victoria
Thanks Meter: 123
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by albatorsk

I see this mentioned everywhere, and now I just have to ask. What happens if you do let it restore your old settings?

The world will explode.

No, to be honest I have never tried. I think the idea is that you don't want any settings from a completely different Android release (ie: Gingerbread vs. ICS) being restored. It will still sync up your contacts and everything, just not any wifi connections, system settings, etc.
26th January 2012, 04:01 PM   |  #7  
emprize's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 124
 
1,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick#2

That is strange, I can make and receive calls without any issues. What software/baseband are you using?

kinda strange, i wipe and try now, sometimes clean install but got phone.apk freeze, my latest try is ok....
Last edited by emprize; 26th January 2012 at 04:13 PM.
26th January 2012, 07:03 PM   |  #8  
Willis111's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Ontario
Thanks Meter: 84
 
681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by emprize

kinda strange, i wipe and try now, sometimes clean install but got phone.apk freeze, my latest try is ok....

Very nice man!! I was actually talking to this with Hashcode a while ago and we figured that the best way to get things working for xt860/me863 might be to release small patches to enable data etc. Is it possible to pop your modified files in a smaller patch that can be applied against the current and future cm9 builds? (With a list of what's modded I think most people can do this pretty easily and the patch should be easier to update than the ~175 meg cm9 zip as well when carriers release newer firmwares with updated libs etc).

I have this running against my bell 2.3.6 cwm rom that I flashed non-safe, only problem I have is that I have to boot the phone plugged into the computer with ICS, Hash has fixed and broke that a few times I think, not the most important thing. I notice with your build I don't need to have my phone plugged in to the computer to boot ics.

Edit: For some reason I have data and "Sim card not detected" in the status bar, everything is populated correctly in phone info, phone works for calling and data. Switching out the included libmoto_ril.so with the one from bell 2.3.6 took care of the "Sim card not detected" up top(srsly, maybe it was just the reboot) but when I try to make a call phone fc's lol.
Last edited by Willis111; 26th January 2012 at 08:32 PM.
26th January 2012, 08:27 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
nice ill try later

Enviado desde mi XT860 usando Tapatalk
26th January 2012, 08:36 PM   |  #10  
Willis111's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Ontario
Thanks Meter: 84
 
681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by goalando

nice ill try later

Enviado desde mi XT860 usando Tapatalk

It's worth trying now, with libertys dl site going down last night I flashed this knowing I wouldn't have data only to wake up and find that it's my every day rom now. Any hacking etc from this point might as well be done while using/on this (although I would still really like to see data working on cm7 as well personally, perhaps if Rick#2 makes this into a smaller patch we can test it on that as well). Only a few things that are holding us back now like camera/some codec/module issues.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes