Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[CONFIRMED] Root after OTA

OP Ƒłƴнαł205

27th January 2012, 01:35 AM   |  #1  
Ƒłƴнαł205's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 6,334
 
4,246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Just wanted to let you guys know that I still have root after I installed the OTA. I will give a few steps what I did in a few minutes.

These are the steps I used. Took a while (seemed like forever) but at least I am updated and with root. I originally came from an ICS rom then I had to flash a stock rom then RUU.

1. Flashed stock recovery (Link below)
2. Locked bootloader (fastboot oem lock)
3. Flashed RUU 1.02.605.6 (link below)
4. Installed OTA (check for new software updates when booted)
5. Unlocked bootloader (http://www.htcdev.com/)
6. Flashed RA recovery (found in forum)
7. Installed su and superuser under Developer menu under RA recovery
8. BAM!!!!!!!

The RUU I used was found at http://www.scottsroms.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=37
Thanks scrosler for having that available!
The stock recovery can be downloaded at http://db.tt/tw5m33ZG. Unzip and flash in Fastboot using command "fastboot flash recovery recovery_signed.img"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00802.jpg
Views:	727
Size:	76.3 KB
ID:	874347   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00804.jpg
Views:	611
Size:	75.3 KB
ID:	874348  
Last edited by Ƒłƴнαł205; 27th January 2012 at 04:00 PM.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Ƒłƴнαł205 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2012, 01:42 AM   |  #2  
ilkevinli's Avatar
Senior Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 32
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Can you post a link to the RUU and stock recovery you used ? Thanks.
27th January 2012, 01:44 AM   |  #3  
Ƒłƴнαł205's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 6,334
 
4,246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilkevinli

Can you post a link to the RUU and stock recovery you used ? Thanks.

Yeah. It's at the bottom of the first post now.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ƒłƴнαł205 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2012, 01:44 AM   |  #4  
hgoldner's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southeastern Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 585
 
2,189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyhalf205

Just wanted to let you guys know that I still have root after I installed the OTA. I will give a few steps what I did in a few minutes.

These are the steps I used. Took a while (seemed like forever) but at least I am updated and with root.

1. Flashed stock recovery
2. Locked bootloader
3. Flashed RUU
4. Installed OTA
5. Unlocked bootloader
6. Flashed RA recovery
7. Installed su and superuser under Developer menu under RA recovery
8. BAM!!!!!!!

The RUU I used was found at http://www.scottsroms.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=37
Thanks scrosler for having that available!

Why did you have to relock the bootloader?
27th January 2012, 01:45 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland, OH
Thanks Meter: 138
 
580 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyhalf205

Yeah. It's at the bottom of the first post now.

FYI, that's not the new RUU file.
27th January 2012, 01:45 AM   |  #6  
Ƒłƴнαł205's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 6,334
 
4,246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hgoldner

Why did you have to relock the bootloader?

I kept on getting an error with it being unlocked about signature error. So I locked it and it finally worked.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ƒłƴнαł205 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2012, 01:46 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Taylor, Michigan
Thanks Meter: 16
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Can you make a very detailed step-by-step process, including commands, adb, etc., that you used?

thx
27th January 2012, 01:46 AM   |  #8  
ilkevinli's Avatar
Senior Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 32
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Do you have a link to the stock recovery ? Thanks



Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyhalf205

Yeah. It's at the bottom of the first post now.

27th January 2012, 01:49 AM   |  #9  
Ƒłƴнαł205's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 6,334
 
4,246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilkevinli

Do you have a link to the stock recovery ? Thanks

Yeah! Here!

http://db.tt/tw5m33ZG
The Following User Says Thank You to Ƒłƴнαł205 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2012, 01:51 AM   |  #10  
WizeGuyDezignz's Avatar
Senior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 1,139
 
2,907 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Everyone that installed an ICS rom is SOL on this right?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes