FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

AGPS Patch HTC Desire 3.1 & 2.2 | | GET BACK TO RAPID GPS LOCK, CAN LOCK MORE SATS

2,473 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,174
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
27th January 2012, 10:25 AM |#11  
siliconaddict's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tuckerville, the Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droidzone

It works pretty well on the Desire. Was going to add the patch and credits to my ROM, but had to pull my latest update for some other reasons.

Swyped on my Htc Desire running on Supernova Extreme - Gingerbread goodness with 2 GB of Internal memory

Which version did you use then on your ROM?
 
 
27th January 2012, 11:43 AM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 102
 
More
Wow! What a difference. Before I installed this, my maps and sportstracker app had trouble with gps. I was kind of "jumpy" in maps and sportstracker had trouble setting a start position. But now gps-lock is almost instant! Must admit I was a sceptic to gps scripts before. Now I'm proven wrong. I'm running Sandvoids ICS-rom. But had same issues on cm7.1.

Thanks for a great solution!

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
27th January 2012, 11:48 AM |#13  
ZeGuitarist's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Belgium
Thanks Meter: 338
 
More
Can confirm that this is working on Desire. Installed Google Specific build as recommended, and it's working perfectly. GPS lock is definitely quicker and more accurate - I even managed to get a GPS lock from indoors, which my Desire never managed before.

I'm using Runnymede AIO v5.0.4 ROM, btw, in case anyone else using that ROM should want to try this out.
The Following User Says Thank You to ZeGuitarist For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2012, 12:33 PM |#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
I had pretty good GPS coverage, (Melbourne Australia.) 8 of 12 sats and 6 metre accuracy with a hook up time of about 7 seconds. I flashed the google flashable file, this halved the hook up time and connects to 100% of days with an error as little as 3 metres.
HTC desire, great patch.

Sent from my HTC Desire using xda premium
27th January 2012, 01:30 PM |#15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Hum ... since i flashed it in recovery maps won't connect anymore saying the app requires an active data connection (which is active yes)

Anyone an idea ?
27th January 2012, 01:53 PM |#16  
00Scott00's Avatar
Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
How do you check how many satellites you are connecting to?
27th January 2012, 02:23 PM |#17  
Lothaen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 412
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00Scott00

How do you check how many satellites you are connecting to?

I used GPS Test app free from the market https://market.android.com/details?i....gpstest&hl=en

---------- Post added at 02:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:23 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patchank

Hum ... since i flashed it in recovery maps won't connect anymore saying the app requires an active data connection (which is active yes)

Anyone an idea ?

sounds obvious but tried a reboot or something? how about another GPS app?
The Following User Says Thank You to Lothaen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2012, 02:33 PM |#18  
Member
Flag Nantou
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
sorry for my bad English
I don't know what different between 3.1 & 2.2?
is it mean my android version or just a patch version?
27th January 2012, 02:44 PM |#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
patch confirmed working great on desire with miui xj !
27th January 2012, 04:01 PM |#20  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
yup, rebooting changes nothing and as a matter of fact, it completely broke my data connection
27th January 2012, 04:10 PM |#21  
crypted's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 4,174
 
Donate to Me
More
First: To all that confirmed it working, glad it's operating well! I didn't expect so many comments so fast. I can't go through and multi-quote the whole thread so thanks to all!

Quote:
Originally Posted by EZ-man

sorry for my bad English
I don't know what different between 3.1 & 2.2?
is it mean my android version or just a patch version?

3.1 uses my servers and 2.2 uses NTP.ORG and Qualcomm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patchank

yup, rebooting changes nothing and as a matter of fact, it completely broke my data connection

The patch cannot break anything. Something else is up with your setup, maybe the ROM? Is it a CM nightly? This patch, as the first post details, only replaces a non-required /etc/gps.conf and /etc/suplrootcert. Neither do anything with your data connections.

ROM and Radio maybe.

Are you running any apps that try to "fix" GPS? The Notes Section is vital to anyone with issues to actually review.

Supply lots of information.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gps, lock, qualcomm, satellite
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes