Post Reply

[Gingerbread][ROM] Stock Rooted OTA ROM w/ Firmware [Gingerbread]

OP con247

27th January 2012, 02:07 PM   |  #1  
con247's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Ann Arbor
Thanks Meter: 3,117
 
3,070 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
THE BEST WAY TO GET THE NEW FIRMWARE IS TO RELOCK, RUN THE NEW RUU, UNLOCK, THEN REFLASH RECOVERY AND RE-ROOT WITH THE TUTORIAL IN MY SIGNATURE.

THIS IS GINGERBREAD NOT ICS

Thanks to hgoldner for taking the time to install the OTA update and get me a rooted system image to work with!

Anyway...
This is the late January/early Feburary GingerBread OTA update integrated into the rezound shipped stock rom. No new features other than what the OTA adds other than root and custom recovery based installation support. That isn't the point of this rom.

What will this get you:
1. New stock rom with OTA update built in
2. New firmware like hboot, radio, etc. Won't impact the ability to unlock/relock
3. Any rom fixes htc made.

If this doesn't work for some reason, it is probably my fault but it should work. Any damage caused to your device is your problem, not mine, hgoldner, htc, anyone except you. This does push the new firmware to your device via a PH98IMG.zip. If this could brick, but is very unlikely. The PH image is UNTOUCHED from the HTC release.

Thanks to ardreissig for the reupload!
Download

Info on installing. You unfortunately have to relock for the firmware flash to occur if you are S-ON.

So if you want firmware (these are abbreviated, general outline steps for more advanced users):
1: Install in recovery
2: Relock if you are S-ON. Remember this will wipe your internal sd card. But since you just installed the rom from a clean flash you won't lose app data and such.
3. Install PH98IMG.zip deposited by my rom on the card
4. Unlock if you are S-ON

OP updated 6/22 to future proof instructions.
Last edited by con247; 22nd June 2012 at 06:41 PM.
The Following 22 Users Say Thank You to con247 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2012, 02:14 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Mankato, MN
Thanks Meter: 182
 
597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Thank you.

Sent from a cellular telephone
27th January 2012, 02:29 PM   |  #3  
Jetdr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chandler AZ
Thanks Meter: 53
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Thank You!!!

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda premium
27th January 2012, 02:39 PM   |  #4  
WizeGuyDezignz's Avatar
Senior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 1,072
 
2,773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
If I'm on an ICS rom and getting the mainver errors, will this method still work?
27th January 2012, 02:46 PM   |  #5  
zeroxg4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 85
 
545 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
This work for anyone? I got some sort of error when it tried to flash the PH portion in Bootloader.

EDIT: Are we supposed to fastboot OEM lock before this?

EDIT2: I guess so. Seems to be working now.
Last edited by zeroxg4; 27th January 2012 at 02:55 PM.
27th January 2012, 02:55 PM   |  #6  
andybones's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate NY
Thanks Meter: 9,277
 
9,525 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeroxg4

This work for anyone? I got some sort of error when it tried to flash the PH portion in Bootloader.

EDIT: Are we supposed to fastboot OEM lock before this?

this is a ROM , no need to lock bootloader.
the PH isnt working cos u must have a newer mainver.
either change the androidinfo.txt

or fix ur mainver with this awesome find!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1467099
27th January 2012, 02:58 PM   |  #7  
zeroxg4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 85
 
545 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybones

this is a ROM , no need to lock bootloader.
the PH isnt working cos u must have a newer mainver.
either change the androidinfo.txt

or fix ur mainver with this awesome find!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1467099

It was NOT because of the mainver as I did not receive a "mainver older" error and it was already updated to the one I have within the PH zip (I checked). I did in fact have to relock for the update to take.
27th January 2012, 03:02 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybones

this is a ROM , no need to lock bootloader.
the PH isnt working cos u must have a newer mainver.
either change the androidinfo.txt

or fix ur mainver with this awesome find!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1467099

drop box says boo on you and your awesomeness!

anyone who has it able to mirror? pretty please?
27th January 2012, 03:06 PM   |  #9  
scrosler's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Fargo
Thanks Meter: 52,477
 
23,922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by con247

Thanks to hgoldner for taking the time to install the OTA update and get me a rooted system image to work with!

Anyway...
This is the new OTA update integrated into the rezound shipped stock rom. No new features other than what the OTA adds. That is scrosler or someone else's job

What will this get you:
1. New stock rom with OTA update built in
2. New firmware like hboot, radio, etc. Won't impact the ability to unlock/relock
3. Any rom fixes htc made.

If this doesn't work for some reason, it is probably my fault but it should work. Any damage caused to your device is your problem, not mine, hgoldner, htc, anyone except you. This does push the new firmware to your device via a PH98IMG.zip. If this could brick, but is very unlikely. The PH image is UNTOUCHED from the HTC release so your mainver will be updated to the latest official version. (Required to get new radio). If you don't want this to happen, decline the bootloader update. This mainver shouldn't be as bad as the ICS one as it is likely they will release an RUU for this mainver soon.

Download


Over capacity on drop box. Re-up to dev-host.org.
27th January 2012, 03:08 PM   |  #10  
andybones's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate NY
Thanks Meter: 9,277
 
9,525 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeroxg4

It was NOT because of the mainver as I did not receive a "mainver older" error and it was already updated to the one I have within the PH zip (I checked). I did in fact have to relock for the update to take.

I respectfully disagree.

for a ROM..
you do NOT! have to lock bootloader!!!!!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Rezound Android Development by ThreadRank