Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,210 Members 49,526 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Gingerbread][ROM] Stock Rooted OTA ROM w/ Firmware [Gingerbread]

Tip us?
 
con247
Old
(Last edited by con247; 22nd June 2012 at 06:41 PM.)
#1  
con247's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 3112
Posts: 3,070
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ann Arbor
Default [Gingerbread][ROM] Stock Rooted OTA ROM w/ Firmware [Gingerbread]

THE BEST WAY TO GET THE NEW FIRMWARE IS TO RELOCK, RUN THE NEW RUU, UNLOCK, THEN REFLASH RECOVERY AND RE-ROOT WITH THE TUTORIAL IN MY SIGNATURE.

THIS IS GINGERBREAD NOT ICS

Thanks to hgoldner for taking the time to install the OTA update and get me a rooted system image to work with!

Anyway...
This is the late January/early Feburary GingerBread OTA update integrated into the rezound shipped stock rom. No new features other than what the OTA adds other than root and custom recovery based installation support. That isn't the point of this rom.

What will this get you:
1. New stock rom with OTA update built in
2. New firmware like hboot, radio, etc. Won't impact the ability to unlock/relock
3. Any rom fixes htc made.

If this doesn't work for some reason, it is probably my fault but it should work. Any damage caused to your device is your problem, not mine, hgoldner, htc, anyone except you. This does push the new firmware to your device via a PH98IMG.zip. If this could brick, but is very unlikely. The PH image is UNTOUCHED from the HTC release.

Thanks to ardreissig for the reupload!
Download

Info on installing. You unfortunately have to relock for the firmware flash to occur if you are S-ON.

So if you want firmware (these are abbreviated, general outline steps for more advanced users):
1: Install in recovery
2: Relock if you are S-ON. Remember this will wipe your internal sd card. But since you just installed the rom from a clean flash you won't lose app data and such.
3. Install PH98IMG.zip deposited by my rom on the card
4. Unlock if you are S-ON

OP updated 6/22 to future proof instructions.
Current Phone: iPhone 5[s]
Check out my GS3 Splash Screen Changer
The Following 22 Users Say Thank You to con247 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mrbracht
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 179
Posts: 593
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mankato, MN

 
DONATE TO ME
Thank you.

Sent from a cellular telephone
 
Jetdr
Old
#3  
Jetdr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 305
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chandler AZ
Thank You!!!

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda premium
 
WizeGuyDezignz
Old
#4  
WizeGuyDezignz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 954
Posts: 2,642
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Diego
If I'm on an ICS rom and getting the mainver errors, will this method still work?
 
zeroxg4
Old
(Last edited by zeroxg4; 27th January 2012 at 02:55 PM.)
#5  
zeroxg4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 542
Join Date: Nov 2009
This work for anyone? I got some sort of error when it tried to flash the PH portion in Bootloader.

EDIT: Are we supposed to fastboot OEM lock before this?

EDIT2: I guess so. Seems to be working now.
 
andybones
Old
#6  
andybones's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8874
Posts: 9,224
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeroxg4 View Post
This work for anyone? I got some sort of error when it tried to flash the PH portion in Bootloader.

EDIT: Are we supposed to fastboot OEM lock before this?
this is a ROM , no need to lock bootloader.
the PH isnt working cos u must have a newer mainver.
either change the androidinfo.txt

or fix ur mainver with this awesome find!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1467099
Team Ecliptic - Member/Co-Lead Developer

Motorola Droid > HTC Eris > HTC Incredible > HTC Incredible 2 > Galaxy Nexus > HTC Rezound > HTC Incredible 4G > Samsung Galaxy S3 > Samsung Galaxy S4 > HTC One M7 > HTC One M8

Buy me a beer.
 
zeroxg4
Old
#7  
zeroxg4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 542
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybones View Post
this is a ROM , no need to lock bootloader.
the PH isnt working cos u must have a newer mainver.
either change the androidinfo.txt

or fix ur mainver with this awesome find!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1467099
It was NOT because of the mainver as I did not receive a "mainver older" error and it was already updated to the one I have within the PH zip (I checked). I did in fact have to relock for the update to take.
 
stoffelck
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 233
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybones View Post
this is a ROM , no need to lock bootloader.
the PH isnt working cos u must have a newer mainver.
either change the androidinfo.txt

or fix ur mainver with this awesome find!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1467099
drop box says boo on you and your awesomeness!

anyone who has it able to mirror? pretty please?
 
scrosler
Old
#9  
scrosler's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 50405
Posts: 23,071
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fargo

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by con247 View Post
Thanks to hgoldner for taking the time to install the OTA update and get me a rooted system image to work with!

Anyway...
This is the new OTA update integrated into the rezound shipped stock rom. No new features other than what the OTA adds. That is scrosler or someone else's job

What will this get you:
1. New stock rom with OTA update built in
2. New firmware like hboot, radio, etc. Won't impact the ability to unlock/relock
3. Any rom fixes htc made.

If this doesn't work for some reason, it is probably my fault but it should work. Any damage caused to your device is your problem, not mine, hgoldner, htc, anyone except you. This does push the new firmware to your device via a PH98IMG.zip. If this could brick, but is very unlikely. The PH image is UNTOUCHED from the HTC release so your mainver will be updated to the latest official version. (Required to get new radio). If you don't want this to happen, decline the bootloader update. This mainver shouldn't be as bad as the ICS one as it is likely they will release an RUU for this mainver soon.

Download

Over capacity on drop box. Re-up to dev-host.org.
 
andybones
Old
#10  
andybones's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8874
Posts: 9,224
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeroxg4 View Post
It was NOT because of the mainver as I did not receive a "mainver older" error and it was already updated to the one I have within the PH zip (I checked). I did in fact have to relock for the update to take.
I respectfully disagree.

for a ROM..
you do NOT! have to lock bootloader!!!!!!
Team Ecliptic - Member/Co-Lead Developer

Motorola Droid > HTC Eris > HTC Incredible > HTC Incredible 2 > Galaxy Nexus > HTC Rezound > HTC Incredible 4G > Samsung Galaxy S3 > Samsung Galaxy S4 > HTC One M7 > HTC One M8

Buy me a beer.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes