5,594,805 Members 36,481 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Sprint 3g slow?

Tip us?
 
FPJ
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 71
Join Date: May 2011
Default Sprint 3g slow?

Is anyone else feeling like 3g is super slow? I just moved to l.a and my 3g hangs and is slower than usual.... I can't even play youtube videos like before. Now I have to let it load for a couple minutes :\

Just asking if anyone else is experiencing lag in the l.a area or anywhere in general.... and is there a fix?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
 
‹BERô
Old
(Last edited by ‹BERô; 28th January 2012 at 11:10 PM.)
#2  
‹BERô's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 8819
Posts: 13,739
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Marble Falls, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
3G turbocharger by Zepplinrox is a miracle worker used to get .60mbs download now pushing almost 2 and half mbs full bars I'll link you to it in a minute... make sure you find the 3G Turbocharger RC 3.txt and have script manager from the market... and I'll give you instructions unless you want to read the thread about it.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=991276
Sent From My "epic" SPH-D700 via XDA Premium
Nexus 5: Banks RastaKat / Faux Mainline
Nexus 7 FHD: Stock Rooted 4.4.2 / Faux Mainline
___________________________



 
FPJ
Old
(Last edited by FPJ; 28th January 2012 at 11:25 PM.)
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 71
Join Date: May 2011
I am willing to try anything! It won't destroy my battery will it?

Id appreciate instructins

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
 
ashamir
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 91
Join Date: Mar 2008
If I am using a custom rom like CleanGB, does that already have the 3G charger built in?
 
FPJ
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 71
Join Date: May 2011
I'm using cleanGB :\

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
 
‹BERô
Old
#6  
‹BERô's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 8819
Posts: 13,739
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Marble Falls, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Nope.... some roms though may incorporate another linux tweak but most don't okay instructions

1. Open script manager and find the rc3.txt
2. A screen will pop up and make sure that the su icon is green or checked this means your running as root. Hit run
3. The command line will go through its script and at the end it will give you 6 options to choose from to boost speed.
4. There is not best option you need to play with them. So prior to installation you should run a speedtest.net to see what your current stats are.
5. Select whichever option I use epieremental 1, and reboot.
6. Run a test and see if its better
7. Test all of them and see which has the best result for you.

If you have any questions feel free to ask.

Sent From My "epic" SPH-D700 via XDA Premium
Nexus 5: Banks RastaKat / Faux Mainline
Nexus 7 FHD: Stock Rooted 4.4.2 / Faux Mainline
___________________________



 
FPJ
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 71
Join Date: May 2011
It doesn't eat thru battery right? It just modifies my 3g settings?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
 
‹BERô
Old
#8  
‹BERô's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 8819
Posts: 13,739
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Marble Falls, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by FPJ View Post
It doesn't eat thru battery right? It just modifies my 3g settings?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
No it doesn't eat through battery even regualr 3g does that
It adds values to your build.prop to edit your 3g connectivity

Sent From My "epic" SPH-D700 via XDA Premium
Nexus 5: Banks RastaKat / Faux Mainline
Nexus 7 FHD: Stock Rooted 4.4.2 / Faux Mainline
___________________________



 
ashamir
Old
(Last edited by ashamir; 28th January 2012 at 11:59 PM.)
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 91
Join Date: Mar 2008
Thank you for linking us to this. The forum page seems terribly confusing - do I simply need to

1. install script manager and copy the script
2. install the script
3. choose speed option


Anything else?

Edit: Also am I downloading the entire V6 script here or am I looking for just the 3G? Please link me directly to the script I need to implement these tweaks?

Thanks!
 
FPJ
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 71
Join Date: May 2011
I'm trying to download it and it keeps saying unsuccessful

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more