Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,347 Members 51,618 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

CWM 5.5.0.4 for Gtab--NVFLASH only (BETA from team DRH)

Tip us?
 
J017373
Old
(Last edited by J017373; 30th January 2012 at 12:22 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 32
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default CWM 5.5.0.4 for Gtab--NVFLASH only (BETA from team DRH)

THIS IS NOT CWM FLASHABLE. YOU MUST USE NVFLASH

Edit: It has come to my attention that the CWM is 5.5.0.2. This error has since been corrected. Sorry folks. I'm an idiot.

Hey, i hope this doesn't bother anyone but i compilied and easy zip for NVFLAshing the new CWM.

Thanks Fosser, Team DRH, and the BishopofTechnology (all of whoms work this is, i just put it in one place)

Included is the NVflashable info, the drivers for APX, and the new version of CWM.

Do this @ your own risk, i'm not responsible for any problems (i did test it three times, with each version of CWM, if that counts for anything)

Step 1) Get into APX mode (power + Vol-) [the screen will go black. that's what you want

Here's what the Bish says:
Quote:
Step 2) Connect the GTab to the PC via the USB cable.
  • if your PC loads the USB driver and connects to the GTab, SKIP to the “Using NVFlash” section.
  • if the WINDOWS PC fails to load the driver, just click through Start/Control Panel/Device Manager and find “APX” listed in the devices with a yellow “!” (exclamation point) on the icon.
  • Select the APX item and find the “Update Driver” button and click it.
  • When it asks where to search, choose the “local computer” manual selection choice and tell it to Browse to the "Flash USB Drivers".
  • If you go back to Device Manager after the Windows install has completed, it will show the nVidia USB drivers near the top of the USB device list.
Step 3) Run the "nvflash_gtablet.bat"

A CMD prompt will pop up, let it do it's thing (don't stop or unplug during). Give it about a minute or until the CMD prompt disappears. You will the get a message that says "Entering NvFlash recovery mode / Nv3p Server"

At this point is should be okay to restart your tab. I'm running Flashback and had no problems staring up.

If you want to check the new CWM, hold the power + Vol+ when restarting and it should put you into recovery.

CONGRATS! You have the new recovery in preparation for ICS.

Once again, none of this is my work--i just put it into a convenient place.

Thanks again to all the Devs and enthusiasts. You make the Gtab worth having!

Edit 1:
Here is the MD5 check: 3DD468C48A3515E6E5A1C1236FF5068E

Edit 2:
The update recovery is with the normal sized Recovery.

Edit 3: 1) It seems this version partitions the external sd card when you choose to partition sd card. 2) choose zip from internal sdcard seems to use the internal memory 3) "FORMAT SDCARD" will FORMAT MICROSD CARD! YOU WERE WARNED
Attached Files
File Type: zip Updated%20Recovery%205.5.0.4.zip - [Click for QR Code] (31.2 KB, 2284 views)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to J017373 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
J017373
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 32
Join Date: Dec 2010
Alright. Download tested and verified. this is deff 5.5.0.4!

sorry again folks
The Following User Says Thank You to J017373 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
aabbondanza
Old
(Last edited by aabbondanza; 4th February 2012 at 04:38 AM.) Reason: Edited link to point to fixed CWMR 5504 b6
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 373
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Goldsboro
Anyone that is interested in installing this via CWM, I created a CWM flashable verison from fosser2's download. Here is a link to the "normal font" version http://dl.dropbox.com/u/36150173/CWMR5504_recovery.zip. If you want the "big font" version, all you have to do is open the zip, delete the recovery.img, rename the Team DRM/fosser2/plastikman supplied version to recovery.zip & then add it to the zip.

I have installed this on 2 of my gTabs (one gTab Comb v3.3, the other CCCv8) and did not had any issue installing it this way.

Just a few notes on this version; it does give you the ability to flash from both the internal sd & external sd but uses a different naming convention though..."sdcard" is the name used for the external microsd slot and "internal sd" is what we would normally call sdcard. This version also appears to have fixed the "reboot recovery" bootloop bug of cwm3.0.2.8 (or aleast bypassed it)...when I selected "reboot recovery" it did the same as "reboot system now" (as I was doing this I crossed my fingers hoping it wasn't going to bootloop me...yea..no bootloop).

CWMR is touch capable. You scroll/select in 3 different ways...you can either use the capacitive buttons (which have been remapped to...Search is "select", Home is "scroll up", Menu is "Scroll down" and Back is "back"), you can also use the on screen touch controls (back, up, down & return), or you can also swipe up and down to scroll up/down and swipe sideway to select.

Al

PS:

WARNING: This is the beta6 release. The op page over in the Slatedroid gTablet Laboaratory says that selecting repartition will only repartition the EXTERNAL SD. Two users have reported magic value mismatch after repartioning with this version. plastikman, who created it says he is looking into it.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to aabbondanza For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lsu205
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 150
Join Date: Dec 2010
So u can install from the older cwm that's in flashback like any other zip?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using XDA App
 
jamcar
Old
#5  
jamcar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 1,174
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Virginia Beach
why does it only boot into CWM mod now? it would boot normally when i was on CWM 3.x.x.x
 
aabbondanza
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 373
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Goldsboro
Default Yes but beware of repartition bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsu205 View Post
So u can install from the older cwm that's in flashback like any other zip?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using XDA App
Yes you can. I installed on both mine from CWM 3.0.2.8.

Please note the warning I put on my previous post! It probably isn't a good ides to "repartition" with this version until plastikman finds the bug. If you need to repartition (which shouldn't be very oftern) you can always flash the old CWM (or stock recovery) via this version. The recoveries are so small that I keep a copy of each on the tablet just in case.
 
wuilly
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 65
Join Date: Feb 2006
is the download ok i have try to unzip it and it gives me an error file is not a zip file
 
aabbondanza
Old
(Last edited by aabbondanza; 4th February 2012 at 04:37 AM.) Reason: edited link to point to fixed CWMR 5504 b6
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 373
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Goldsboro
Default Alternate location

Quote:
Originally Posted by wuilly View Post
is the download ok i have try to unzip it and it gives me an error file is not a zip file
You don't need to unzip it but it does need to be a vailid zip.

Yes, the download is OK from dropbox. I just redownloaded it to my PC & tested the archive. No erors found.

I also put it on mediafire...try this link http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?qg3n084hfu783i2 & see if it's any different for you.

Al

---------- Post added at 09:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:15 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamcar View Post
why does it only boot into CWM mod now? it would boot normally when i was on CWM 3.x.x.x
It shouldn't (and didn't for me). Are you sure you didn't select accidentally hit "reboot recovery" instead of "reboot system now" (since you were still in CWM3.0.2.8 untill you reboot)? If you did accidentally hit reboot recovery then it would have put you in a CWM bootloop.

There are 2 ways I've used to fixed a CWM bootloop (yes I've accidentally hit reboot recovery too)..one was is to use nvflash to format partition 7 (MSC) and the other way is to use CWM to flash stock recovery and then install CWM3.0.2.8 (for b/l1.2) via stock recovery. Formatting MSC is the fastest, but most people I suggest these fixes to choose to do the stock recovery route. If you want detailed instruction for either, let me know.

Al
 
nyciz
Old
#9  
nyciz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 254
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC - now in NE PA or ATL
Great work and thanks for putting in one spot. I'll probably wait till a ICS ROM is released with but must say that this is a great first step till we get it. Cant wait for 10" of ICS....my cappy luvs ICS...
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S3
-rooted & CWM touch +CM10 Nightly

Samsung Cappy
On CM9 ICS Nightly
-stock kernel

ViewSonic gTablet - ICS by TeamDRH {Click me and let me do it for you..}
-7.2.0 RePack BL 1.2

Please click link for referal we both get extra storage for free! Thx

DropBox - Used w/ TitaniumBackUps

SugarSync - 5 GB for free Used for my fone pics
 
rajeevvp
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 406
Posts: 1,315
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by J017373 View Post
Edit 3: 1) It seems this version partitions the external sd card when you choose to partition sd card. 2) choose zip from internal sdcard seems to use the internal memory 3) "FORMAT SDCARD" will FORMAT MICROSD CARD! YOU WERE WARNED
What does the recovery do when you don't have a microSD card in the slot. The /etc/recovery.fstab file is setup to fall back to using the internal SD card like CWM-4.0.1.5 is. Does it work on the internal SD card if no external one is present?

---------- Post added at 09:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:19 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by aabbondanza View Post
and the other way is to use CWM to flash stock recovery and then install CWM3.0.2.8 (for b/l1.2) via stock recovery.
That procedure only works as a side effect. Simpler to wipe MSC directly. See post #3 of this thread.

Stash that zip file on you SD card, and if you accidentally select "Reboot recovery", just "flash" it to fix the always boots-to-recovery problem.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes