Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

YU Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Installing ICS directly from Google

OP svenvaeth

29th January 2012, 11:18 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
After reading all the postings about official ICS update from Sony, I just wonder whether it would be possible to just install ICS as a customized rom, the official Google version respectively. I mean, I could deal with losing all the Sony features. Did the same with my Arc S and it works properly.
30th January 2012, 12:05 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
I think we might need to be able to root the device first in order to do that
30th January 2012, 08:14 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 82
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by svenvaeth

After reading all the postings about official ICS update from Sony, I just wonder whether it would be possible to just install ICS as a customized rom, the official Google version respectively. I mean, I could deal with losing all the Sony features. Did the same with my Arc S and it works properly.

Yep, we'd definitely need at least root and probably a working Custom Recovery too. A modded kernel would make things easier too, all of which are quite a feat to accomplish. At the moment, until we get root, we'll just have to make do with whatever official updates we get.
The Following User Says Thank You to agc93 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th February 2012, 03:22 PM   |  #4  
HKboy92's Avatar
Member
Flag Den Helder
Thanks Meter: 10
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
If it was possible, screen should be calibrated too. Hardware buttons etc. Would NOT be possible, so sorry
9th February 2012, 03:28 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 82
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HKboy92

If it was possible, screen should be calibrated too. Hardware buttons etc. Would NOT be possible, so sorry

Hardware buttons are not necessary in ICS, since just like HC there is a bar at the bottom of the screen that houses the multitasking, home, back and contextual menu buttons.
9th February 2012, 01:41 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
Would it be possible now? After the rooting? =)
9th February 2012, 02:13 PM   |  #7  
unclespoon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 128
 
676 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Root is just the first step. Recoveries and ROMs are still in the distant future I would imagine, but root is great!
10th February 2012, 03:16 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 82
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by svenvaeth

Would it be possible now? After the rooting? =)

as unclespoon mentioned, the short answer is no.

Root allows developers and users more access to their system, but the Tablet would need a custom bootloader and recovery before we could get anywhere on this kind of thing, both of which are a very serious undertaking.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes