FORUMS

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

Droid Turbo Lollipop OTA, 2015 Moto G Leaked – XDA TV

Android Lollipop for the Droid Turbo has been released. That and much more … more

[MOD] Quick & Easy Root Script - HC

405 posts
Thanks Meter: 230
 
By crossix, Senior Member on 30th January 2012, 07:55 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This should work for any and all a100 Honeycomb builds, you'll need to install an app from the market called terminal emulator. Also, you'll need a file manager like Astro to unzip the file.

This mod should root your tab in a matter of seconds after the script file is launched. I've tested this on my tab from a clean build and it works like a champ.

Here we go!

- Install the following apps from the market:
Terminal Emulator
https://market.android.com/details?i...oidterm&rdot=1

Astro File Manager
https://market.android.com/details?i...go.astro&hl=en

- Download the attached file from this post.

- Extract and put both the root.sh and su in /mnt/sdcard from the root.zip file.

(Using Astro, find the root.zip file it might be in /mnt/sdcard/Downloads or could be else where if your not using the website to view XDA. Copy it from where ever it's at and paste it in /mnt/sdcard. Press your finger on the zip file and tap Extract when the menu pops up. Tap "Extract to This Directory".)

- Next, open terminal emulator and copy / paste the following:

sh /mnt/sdcard/root.sh

Text will fly by, the script will automatically copy the su binary and install it to the proper location.


Once the script finishes running, be sure to install superuser from the market:

Very Important, if you skip this you won't be "officially rooted yet"!!!

https://market.android.com/details?i...fou.android.su

Open the superuser app once it's installed, click on the wrench in the upper right corner, scroll to the bottom and find "Su binary v... Tap to check for updates" and tap that link. It should bring you to an update screen, click the button at the bottom to update!


Once you have done the above, then install busybox, Titanium, etc.. if needed.

Thanks goes to abliss for origionally coming up with the root commands!

This mod really just automates his work.
Attached Files
File Type: zip root.zip - [Click for QR Code] (6.9 KB, 14700 views)
Last edited by crossix; 14th April 2012 at 04:56 AM.
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to crossix For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
30th January 2012, 09:42 PM |#2  
mvan4310's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
permission denied every step of the way. Used both script manager and terminal
30th January 2012, 10:14 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 230
 
Donate to Me
More
ok terminal manager is out, I didn't realize that doing a hard reset wouldn't wipe the /system/xbin directory completely so technically busybox tools were still installed and sh wouldn't normally be there. I'll see if there's another way..
31st January 2012, 07:42 AM |#4  
luisxd's Avatar
Member
Flag Mexicali, BC
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
this method work for any build? and if so, is there any problem during the process that could "kill" my a100 or it's safe?
31st January 2012, 02:25 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 230
 
Donate to Me
More
This method should, yes and it's safe.. It's actually more safe (if that's possible) than the method origionally posted in the dev section since there really isn't any room for user error.

Sent from my MB860 using XDA App
Last edited by crossix; 2nd February 2012 at 08:49 PM.
1st February 2012, 02:35 AM |#6  
mvan4310's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Ill give the new method a go around tomorrow and report back for you.
1st February 2012, 07:14 AM |#7  
FloatingFatMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 538
 
More
I wasn't expecting it to anyway, but I figured I'd let you know this doesn't work on the A101.

Hoping someone can find a working root method for this model.
1st February 2012, 02:15 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 230
 
Donate to Me
More
Sorry to hear about the a101, that thing sounds like a tough nut to crack!

Sent from my MB860 using XDA App
2nd February 2012, 09:38 AM |#9  
lesa0208's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Beograd, Uzice
Thanks Meter: 2,798
 
More
This working for me i manage to root my a100
2nd February 2012, 07:51 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up It works and its so simple
Thank you so much for this! It was so easy. Though the only problem I had was with the terminal emulator, no fualt of the Dev, but it might help someone. When I was trying to write in the line of code I kept getting errors because I couldnt get the keyboard to write lower case. So copy and paste if your a noon like me to get it through the terminal.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes