Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,001 Members 39,612 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Unrooting the rezound

Tip us?
 
bradxnght
Old
(Last edited by bradxnght; 30th April 2012 at 12:01 PM.)
#1  
bradxnght's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 138
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [GUIDE] Unrooting the rezound

warning - if you are s off do not use this guide to return to stock till its updated. You will brick your device


Unrooting The HTC Rezound



1. Assuming your bootloader is unlocked since you are rooted.

Fastboot Tool Download (Credit to slacker101 for the tool):
http://db.tt/nDADCLgY

The easiest way I've found to re-lock your rezound is to download the attached "tools.zip" and extract to your desktop.

Boot your rezound into fastboot by removing your battery, putting the battery back in, holding down on the volume rocker and power. Then plug your rezound into your computer. Assuming you used your computer to unlock the rezound then you should already have the required drivers.

Open command prompt and enter the following:

cd C:\Users\[Your Name Here]\desktop\tools

Then run the command

fastboot oem lock


Your bootloader is now locked and ready to begin restoring stock recovery and rom from Stock RUU.



2. Downloading the stock RUU

*Will Update As New RUU's Are Released*

2.02.605.11 STOCK RUU EXE
download
1.02.605.6 STOCK RUU EXE
download

(will add PH98IMG.zip download for 2nd method soon)

You can do this one of two ways. You can use the exe ruu which i like to use, its simple straight forward and guides you through the process

-or-

Extract the RUU zip from the exe or download from XDA its all over.
Rename the zip PH98IMG.ZIP put on root of SD card and boot into HBOOT hit
yes with appropriate volume key and let it do its thing.

I personaly perfer running the exe. Makes life easy. But whatever floats your boat.


SIDE NOTE: IF YOU WISH TO ROOT AGAIN
the one click root tool might not work properly and will not have proper permision to install SU, If this happens flash amon through fastboot. And under development section install su / superuser, you are now rooted again



Credit for user cotribution:
DrSadistic ( Fastboot section )

***this was a quick write up so if you think anything should be added or removed, or there is some wrong information let me know so i can fix it***

■ Visual Basic [√] ■ C++/Java [√] ■ Expanding My Knowledge! [√] ■
■ Retired Devices ■ Incredible ■ Nexus S 4g ■ 3VO ■ Rezound ■ Evo V 4G ■ iPhone ■ Razr M ■ One ■
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to bradxnght For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Flyhalf205
Old
#2  
Flyhalf205's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 5899
Posts: 3,770
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL

 
DONATE TO ME
Is the RUU your uploading older or the same version as the OTA.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA App
HTC Thunderbolt > HTC Incredible > HTC Incredible 2 > HTC Rezound > HTC DNA > HTC One > HTC One Max
TO MY PHONE FUND!!!
My GitHub: https://github.com/Flyhalf205?tab=repositories
 
TeamSPD
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 98
Join Date: Mar 2011
Awesome. Thanks for the guide. Makes life easier with these straight forward steps.
 
bradxnght
Old
#4  
bradxnght's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 138
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyhalf205 View Post
Is the RUU your uploading older or the same version as the OTA.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA App
ill be using the last RUU and will update with new RUU when i get my hands on it

Quote:
Awesome. Thanks for the guide. Makes life easier with these straight forward steps.
no problem

■ Visual Basic [√] ■ C++/Java [√] ■ Expanding My Knowledge! [√] ■
■ Retired Devices ■ Incredible ■ Nexus S 4g ■ 3VO ■ Rezound ■ Evo V 4G ■ iPhone ■ Razr M ■ One ■
The Following User Says Thank You to bradxnght For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bradxnght
Old
#5  
bradxnght's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 138
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York

 
DONATE TO ME
RUU link added

■ Visual Basic [√] ■ C++/Java [√] ■ Expanding My Knowledge! [√] ■
■ Retired Devices ■ Incredible ■ Nexus S 4g ■ 3VO ■ Rezound ■ Evo V 4G ■ iPhone ■ Razr M ■ One ■
 
DrSadistic
Old
#6  
DrSadistic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 182
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cuthbert

 
DONATE TO ME
Just wanted to add a little something, if you dont mind...

The easiest way I've found to re-lock your rezound is to download the attached "tools.zip" and extract to your desktop.

Boot your rezound into fastboot by removing your battery, putting the battery back in, holding down on the volume rocker and power. Then plug your rezound into your computer. Assuming you used your computer to unlock the rezound then you should already have the required drivers.

Open command prompt and enter the following:
Quote:
cd C:\Users\[Your Name Here]\desktop\tools
Then run the fastboot oem lock command.

Credit goes to slacker101 and THIS post for the tools zip.
Attached Files
File Type: zip tools.zip - [Click for QR Code] (212.2 KB, 287 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DrSadistic For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bradxnght
Old
#7  
bradxnght's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 138
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrSadistic View Post
Just wanted to add a little something, if you dont mind...

The easiest way I've found to re-lock your rezound is to download the attached "tools.zip" and extract to your desktop.

Boot your rezound into fastboot by removing your battery, putting the battery back in, holding down on the volume rocker and power. Then plug your rezound into your computer. Assuming you used your computer to unlock the rezound then you should already have the required drivers.

Open command prompt and enter the following:


Then run the fastboot oem lock command.

Credit goes to slacker101 and THIS post for the tools zip.
thanks for the addition i used what you said pretty much word for word, gave slacker101 and you credit for the contribution let me know how everything looks

■ Visual Basic [√] ■ C++/Java [√] ■ Expanding My Knowledge! [√] ■
■ Retired Devices ■ Incredible ■ Nexus S 4g ■ 3VO ■ Rezound ■ Evo V 4G ■ iPhone ■ Razr M ■ One ■
 
DrSadistic
Old
#8  
DrSadistic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 182
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cuthbert

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by nghtmr3 View Post
thanks for the addition i used what you said pretty much word for word, gave slacker101 and you credit for the contribution let me know how everything looks
You didnt have to give me credit, but it looks great.
 
bradxnght
Old
#9  
bradxnght's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 138
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York

 
DONATE TO ME
Mods can we get this stickied

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA App

■ Visual Basic [√] ■ C++/Java [√] ■ Expanding My Knowledge! [√] ■
■ Retired Devices ■ Incredible ■ Nexus S 4g ■ 3VO ■ Rezound ■ Evo V 4G ■ iPhone ■ Razr M ■ One ■
 
MajikUF
Old
(Last edited by MajikUF; 1st February 2012 at 12:41 AM.)
#10  
MajikUF's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 411
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
I wasn't expecting the lock process to be a big deal, but unfortunately it looks a little strange

Quote:
C:\Android>fastboot oem lock
...
(bootloader) Lock successfully...
(bootloader) TZ_HTC_SVC_DISABLE ret = 134086000 (0x7FDFD70)
FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
finished. total time: 0.937s
I assume this is wrong with the failed? I was also not expecting fastboot to say "RELOCKED". Can we get it to say "LOCKED"?

Tags
rezound, unroot guide, unroot rezound
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes