Post Reply

[ROM][2012.04.21]MS2Ginger - Android 2.3.6 now working

OP walter79

12th March 2012, 05:22 PM   |  #71  
walter79's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag #484047
Thanks Meter: 3,535
 
3,535 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skeevy420

Thanks for the reply, but it didn't help. Apn was already correct. Pushed apn from cm7 I use normally and it didn't help either. After some catloging, I noticed permission errors for mediashare would appear after enabling tether. I froze it with TB, and only thing in log was accessing tether screen, no usbd mode switch or anything. I've never messed with android system permissions so I'm not sure where to go from here.

Since you mentioned resuming work on 3.0, would trying to get it to boot be more helpful to you?

Trying to boot 3.0 should help. I think the problem is ramdisk (2nd-init folder) and the bravo froyo kernel. 3.0 needs a new ramdisk.
12th March 2012, 05:41 PM   |  #72  
skeevydude's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Hot Springs
Thanks Meter: 2,863
 
2,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by walter79

Trying to boot 3.0 should help. I think the problem is ramdisk (2nd-init folder) and the bravo froyo kernel. 3.0 needs a new ramdisk.

Wow, quick reply. As for the tether error, it occurs with MotUsbService and UsbSettings not changing to mode 5. Figured the correct information may help someone who knows more. I get the same exact errors on some cm7 ports. I'm trying to find an overall fix for tethering as it's seems to be just a porting glitch since I don't see tethering issues on the Defy forums when I have them.

As for 3.0, I'll give it a good attempt and post back later this evening. Any way of pulling a logcat or similar during a bootloop?
12th March 2012, 06:26 PM   |  #73  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by skeevy420

Wow, quick reply. As for the tether error, it occurs with MotUsbService and UsbSettings not changing to mode 5. Figured the correct information may help someone who knows more. I get the same exact errors on some cm7 ports. I'm trying to find an overall fix for tethering as it's seems to be just a porting glitch since I don't see tethering issues on the Defy forums when I have them.

As for 3.0, I'll give it a good attempt and post back later this evening. Any way of pulling a logcat or similar during a bootloop?

Did you manage to get the camera working in 2.1?

Sent from my MB520 using XDA App
12th March 2012, 06:52 PM   |  #74  
walter79's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag #484047
Thanks Meter: 3,535
 
3,535 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skeevy420

Wow, quick reply. As for the tether error, it occurs with MotUsbService and UsbSettings not changing to mode 5. Figured the correct information may help someone who knows more. I get the same exact errors on some cm7 ports. I'm trying to find an overall fix for tethering as it's seems to be just a porting glitch since I don't see tethering issues on the Defy forums when I have them.

As for 3.0, I'll give it a good attempt and post back later this evening. Any way of pulling a logcat or similar during a bootloop?

You can try Moto USB tethering apk.

http://android.podnova.com/software/598316.htm

or from market.
12th March 2012, 06:56 PM   |  #75  
skeevydude's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Hot Springs
Thanks Meter: 2,863
 
2,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
No. I got bootloops when I replaced any camera lib/file, except for /system/etc/mot_ise_imager_cfg.bin. Have you tried this? It's supposed to work.

Also posted pikachu fix for ya in other thread. I wasn't on it long, but it seemed nice. Personally, I don't really care for the Miui interface, except settings menu, real nice and organized.

@Walter79, been looking over init scripts and comparing with cm7 and seeing slight symlink and mount variations among other little differences. Drag and drop from cm7 didn't work (didn't think it would either) so I'm gonna try and fix scripts line by line. Hopefully something good will come from this, and I'll learn a little more droid along the way.
12th March 2012, 07:11 PM   |  #76  
walter79's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag #484047
Thanks Meter: 3,535
 
3,535 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skeevy420

No. I got bootloops when I replaced any camera lib/file, except for /system/etc/mot_ise_imager_cfg.bin. Have you tried this? It's supposed to work.

Also posted pikachu fix for ya in other thread. I wasn't on it long, but it seemed nice. Personally, I don't really care for the Miui interface, except settings menu, real nice and organized.

@Walter79, been looking over init scripts and comparing with cm7 and seeing slight symlink and mount variations among other little differences. Drag and drop from cm7 didn't work (didn't think it would either) so I'm gonna try and fix scripts line by line. Hopefully something good will come from this, and I'll learn a little more droid along the way.


You can`t use init scripts from CM7. This scripts needs changes in framework too. Scipts works only with cm7.

I compared working bravo scripts with the 2.3.6 script. There are only a few changes in init.rc and initmapphone_umts.rc. Init and ueventd are different.
12th March 2012, 11:08 PM   |  #77  
skeevydude's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Hot Springs
Thanks Meter: 2,863
 
2,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by walter79

You can`t use init scripts from CM7. This scripts needs changes in framework too. Scipts works only with cm7.

I compared working bravo scripts with the 2.3.6 script. There are only a few changes in init.rc and initmapphone_umts.rc. Init and ueventd are different.


I really didn't think they would, just a stupid shot in the dark.

After adding in some cm7 init binaries and *.rc changes, I'm able to get past 2nd-init and get the backlight buttons to flicker, but it hangs and won't load the boot animation, no bootloop whatsoever. At least it's not bootlooping at the motologo upon trying to execute 2nd-init.

Also, should I compare with working cm7 scripts, stock scripts, or some other.
13th March 2012, 04:38 AM   |  #78  
skeevydude's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Hot Springs
Thanks Meter: 2,863
 
2,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
@Walter79 Here's the logcat from my latest boot attempt. Can't figure out what to do next. My errors now are panic_daemon, gki_pd_notifier, and SSM. I'm motologo bootlooping now, but etc/init.d scripts are working.

Offtopic, the Moto Tether Tool didn't work for me. Possibly because I use linux, never tested it with windows. Pdanet works when native tether doesn't, but requires me to reboot into windows.
Attached Files
File Type: txt logcat.txt - [Click for QR Code] (48.0 KB, 1 views)
Last edited by skeevydude; 13th March 2012 at 04:47 AM.
13th March 2012, 11:59 PM   |  #79  
walter79's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag #484047
Thanks Meter: 3,535
 
3,535 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skeevy420

@Walter79 Here's the logcat from my latest boot attempt. Can't figure out what to do next. My errors now are panic_daemon, gki_pd_notifier, and SSM. I'm motologo bootlooping now, but etc/init.d scripts are working.

Offtopic, the Moto Tether Tool didn't work for me. Possibly because I use linux, never tested it with windows. Pdanet works when native tether doesn't, but requires me to reboot into windows.

Maybe i found the problem. I added some mount point in /system/bootmenu/2nd-init/init.mapphone_umts.rc

attached new ramdisk. (2nd-init folder)

Can someone replace it in bravo patch and test if it works?

http://www.4shared.com/zip/tWiHLTYg/2nd-init.html

edit:

new patch for flash via cwm

http://www.4shared.com/zip/keF7yrPd/new-bravo-ms2ginger3-patch.html
Last edited by walter79; 14th March 2012 at 12:19 AM.
14th March 2012, 12:42 AM   |  #80  
skeevydude's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Hot Springs
Thanks Meter: 2,863
 
2,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by walter79

Maybe i found the problem. I added some mount point in /system/bootmenu/2nd-init/init.mapphone_umts.rc

attached new ramdisk. (2nd-init folder)

Can someone replace it in bravo patch and test if it works?

http://www.4shared.com/zip/tWiHLTYg/2nd-init.html

edit:

new patch for flash via cwm

http://www.4shared.com/zip/keF7yrPd/...er3-patch.html

Trying now, I'll post back when I'm done.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes