FORUMS

Earthquake Early Warning in Your Pocket

Probably all of us reading this have a smartphone in our pocket. For many of us, the … more

Sony: The OEM You Want To Save

In our recent Discuss article, we asked you readers on which OEM you would like to help. While the … more

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

root HTC Legend - unlockroot.com

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By mferlitsch, Junior Member on 3rd February 2012, 11:51 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

did anyone tried the tool from unlockroot.com?

PHP Code:
HTC     HTC Legend     2.1
HTC     HTC Legend     2.2 
It should work for HTC Legend but I tried one and it didn't work.

Is there any other one-click tool for rooting a HTC Legend 2.2 available?

greets, Makus
 
 
3rd February 2012, 07:56 PM |#2  
Cristian_berme's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
I tried it, and it worked for me, but for almost all the users with Froyo can't make it work...
I think the reason is that only works with S-OFF
4th February 2012, 12:02 AM |#3  
Stevemotto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
Not sure if there is a one click root for legend yet.

Sent from my Legend using xda premium
5th February 2012, 09:05 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
On website is written that it should also work with Froyo 2.2 but on my Legend 2.2 I only get reboots and after 5 minutes I removed the battery. :(
22nd February 2012, 09:51 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hey all,

I have the same problem with an HTC Legend and Froyo 2.2.
When i clic on "root" i receive "failed to get shell root" and after few minutes, my phone reboot.

Any idea ?

I read we have to S-OFF, but how can i do that ?

Thanks
22nd February 2012, 11:33 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Doesn't work here either.
My legend has its bootloader unlocked (S-ON), HTC dev.

I receive this message: failed to chmod file: /data/local/tmp


Edit: I just rooted my HTC Legend with "HTC Supertool v3" (Step 1 and 3)
Last edited by KoEvOeT; 22nd February 2012 at 03:12 PM.
24th February 2012, 10:35 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
"Official" rooting mechanism?
HTCDEV now offers an official way of unlocking the bootloader; see http://www.htcdev.com/bootloader.

Has anyone used this yet?

I have a Legend lingering around; got a Nexus S, so the Legend is mostly lying in a drawer now. If I could get (say) CM7 onto it, it would be at least somewhat more interesting again.

I tried fighting through the "generate Gold card and root it" process without any success; I was on a newer version and had to do the RUU downgrade; it would get partway through and fail. It would certainly be interesting to have an extra toy :)
21st March 2012, 02:47 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbbrowne

HTCDEV now offers an official way of unlocking the bootloader; see http://www.htcdev.com/bootloader.

Has anyone used this yet?

I have a Legend lingering around; got a Nexus S, so the Legend is mostly lying in a drawer now. If I could get (say) CM7 onto it, it would be at least somewhat more interesting again.

I tried fighting through the "generate Gold card and root it" process without any success; I was on a newer version and had to do the RUU downgrade; it would get partway through and fail. It would certainly be interesting to have an extra toy :)

Did it today.. worked perfect to unlock bootloader.. will now try to get root access. Before this was available it wasnt possible for me to root with gold card method due to my bootloader version :(.. I have a galaxy s2 but hoping to breathe new life into the legend :).. I was on build 3.15.405.3 froyo 2.2 before I started this process if that helps...
22nd March 2012, 10:16 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
do it with htc supertool:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1431398
it worked for me after i unlocked my legend via htc dev
26th March 2012, 04:28 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
If you want to flash a rom you dont need root. Just flash recovery and Go

Sent from my Legend using XDA
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes