Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,235 Members 51,989 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

root HTC Legend - unlockroot.com

Tip us?
 
mferlitsch
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default root HTC Legend - unlockroot.com

Hi,

did anyone tried the tool from unlockroot.com?

PHP Code:
HTC     HTC Legend     2.1
HTC     HTC Legend     2.2 
It should work for HTC Legend but I tried one and it didn't work.

Is there any other one-click tool for rooting a HTC Legend 2.2 available?

greets, Makus
 
Cristian_berme
Old
#2  
Cristian_berme's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 106
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Madrid
I tried it, and it worked for me, but for almost all the users with Froyo can't make it work...
I think the reason is that only works with S-OFF
 
Stevemotto
Old
#3  
Stevemotto's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 379
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney
Not sure if there is a one click root for legend yet.

Sent from my Legend using xda premium
HTC Legend : CM 7.1 Overclocked 806 MHZ
 
mferlitsch
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2012
On website is written that it should also work with Froyo 2.2 but on my Legend 2.2 I only get reboots and after 5 minutes I removed the battery. :(
 
makak06
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: May 2009
Hey all,

I have the same problem with an HTC Legend and Froyo 2.2.
When i clic on "root" i receive "failed to get shell root" and after few minutes, my phone reboot.

Any idea ?

I read we have to S-OFF, but how can i do that ?

Thanks
 
KoEvOeT
Old
(Last edited by KoEvOeT; 22nd February 2012 at 03:12 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2012
Doesn't work here either.
My legend has its bootloader unlocked (S-ON), HTC dev.

I receive this message: failed to chmod file: /data/local/tmp


Edit: I just rooted my HTC Legend with "HTC Supertool v3" (Step 1 and 3)
 
cbbrowne
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto
Default "Official" rooting mechanism?

HTCDEV now offers an official way of unlocking the bootloader; see http://www.htcdev.com/bootloader.

Has anyone used this yet?

I have a Legend lingering around; got a Nexus S, so the Legend is mostly lying in a drawer now. If I could get (say) CM7 onto it, it would be at least somewhat more interesting again.

I tried fighting through the "generate Gold card and root it" process without any success; I was on a newer version and had to do the RUU downgrade; it would get partway through and fail. It would certainly be interesting to have an extra toy :)
 
helppme
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 282
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbbrowne View Post
HTCDEV now offers an official way of unlocking the bootloader; see http://www.htcdev.com/bootloader.

Has anyone used this yet?

I have a Legend lingering around; got a Nexus S, so the Legend is mostly lying in a drawer now. If I could get (say) CM7 onto it, it would be at least somewhat more interesting again.

I tried fighting through the "generate Gold card and root it" process without any success; I was on a newer version and had to do the RUU downgrade; it would get partway through and fail. It would certainly be interesting to have an extra toy :)
Did it today.. worked perfect to unlock bootloader.. will now try to get root access. Before this was available it wasnt possible for me to root with gold card method due to my bootloader version :(.. I have a galaxy s2 but hoping to breathe new life into the legend :).. I was on build 3.15.405.3 froyo 2.2 before I started this process if that helps...
 
filipathtc
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 154
Join Date: Jun 2011
do it with htc supertool:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1431398
it worked for me after i unlocked my legend via htc dev
 
AlexS_xda
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Feb 2012
If you want to flash a rom you dont need root. Just flash recovery and Go

Sent from my Legend using XDA

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...