Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

root HTC Legend - unlockroot.com

OP mferlitsch

3rd February 2012, 12:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Hi,

did anyone tried the tool from unlockroot.com?

PHP Code:
HTC     HTC Legend     2.1
HTC     HTC Legend     2.2 
It should work for HTC Legend but I tried one and it didn't work.

Is there any other one-click tool for rooting a HTC Legend 2.2 available?

greets, Makus
3rd February 2012, 08:56 PM   |  #2  
Cristian_berme's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 16
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I tried it, and it worked for me, but for almost all the users with Froyo can't make it work...
I think the reason is that only works with S-OFF
4th February 2012, 01:02 AM   |  #3  
Stevemotto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 53
 
379 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Not sure if there is a one click root for legend yet.

Sent from my Legend using xda premium
5th February 2012, 10:05 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
On website is written that it should also work with Froyo 2.2 but on my Legend 2.2 I only get reboots and after 5 minutes I removed the battery. :(
22nd February 2012, 10:51 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Hey all,

I have the same problem with an HTC Legend and Froyo 2.2.
When i clic on "root" i receive "failed to get shell root" and after few minutes, my phone reboot.

Any idea ?

I read we have to S-OFF, but how can i do that ?

Thanks
22nd February 2012, 12:33 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Doesn't work here either.
My legend has its bootloader unlocked (S-ON), HTC dev.

I receive this message: failed to chmod file: /data/local/tmp


Edit: I just rooted my HTC Legend with "HTC Supertool v3" (Step 1 and 3)
Last edited by KoEvOeT; 22nd February 2012 at 04:12 PM.
24th February 2012, 11:35 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 7
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
"Official" rooting mechanism?
HTCDEV now offers an official way of unlocking the bootloader; see http://www.htcdev.com/bootloader.

Has anyone used this yet?

I have a Legend lingering around; got a Nexus S, so the Legend is mostly lying in a drawer now. If I could get (say) CM7 onto it, it would be at least somewhat more interesting again.

I tried fighting through the "generate Gold card and root it" process without any success; I was on a newer version and had to do the RUU downgrade; it would get partway through and fail. It would certainly be interesting to have an extra toy :)
21st March 2012, 03:47 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
282 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbbrowne

HTCDEV now offers an official way of unlocking the bootloader; see http://www.htcdev.com/bootloader.

Has anyone used this yet?

I have a Legend lingering around; got a Nexus S, so the Legend is mostly lying in a drawer now. If I could get (say) CM7 onto it, it would be at least somewhat more interesting again.

I tried fighting through the "generate Gold card and root it" process without any success; I was on a newer version and had to do the RUU downgrade; it would get partway through and fail. It would certainly be interesting to have an extra toy :)

Did it today.. worked perfect to unlock bootloader.. will now try to get root access. Before this was available it wasnt possible for me to root with gold card method due to my bootloader version :(.. I have a galaxy s2 but hoping to breathe new life into the legend :).. I was on build 3.15.405.3 froyo 2.2 before I started this process if that helps...
22nd March 2012, 11:16 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
do it with htc supertool:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1431398
it worked for me after i unlocked my legend via htc dev
26th March 2012, 05:28 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
If you want to flash a rom you dont need root. Just flash recovery and Go

Sent from my Legend using XDA

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes