Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,939 Members 50,618 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] ICS 4.0.3 Acer iconia A200 leak

Tip us?
 
jhunterb18
Old
(Last edited by jhunterb18; 4th February 2012 at 02:01 AM.) Reason: correction to write up
#1  
jhunterb18's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 65
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Westminster, CO
Default [ROM] ICS 4.0.3 Acer iconia A200 leak

I made this post for users of the a200 so they could know how to put it on their tablets.

Found this and flashed it to my tablet haven't had any issues with it yet.

http://vache-android.com/v1/download.php?fileID=133

To install:

Step 1: download from link (I used my tablet to download it.)
Step 2: rename to update.zip (used esfile explorer to rename and move it)
Step 3: copy file to root of EXTERNAL SD CARD
Step 4: power off tablet
Step 5: press and hold left volume button (button with two dots) and then press and hold power until Acer appears and white text in the upper left corner then release the buttons
Step 6: let it install it shouldn't take all that long
Step 7: Enjoy Ice Cream Sandwich. Suggest rebooting just once to let it settle in

Not responsible for bricking or blowing up your tablet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120203_093138.jpg
Views:	1785
Size:	192.5 KB
ID:	886166  
Current Phone: HTC EVO 3D
ROM: CHUBBZ 4.0.3 w/ sense 4.0

Previous Tablet: Acer Iconia A200 w/ ICS 4.0.3 [Leak]

Previous phones: HTC EVO 4G,HTC EVO Shift 4G, Samsung Transform, HTC HD2, HTC Dream G1, Palm Treo 650, Samsung T809, Motorola Razr (FLIP).
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to jhunterb18 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
10507
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 181
Posts: 1,628
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Desert Rat
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhunterb18 View Post
Found this and flashed it to my tablet haven't had any issues with it yet.

http://vache-android.com/v1/download.php?fileID=133

To install:

Step 1: download from link (I used my tablet to download it.)
Step 2: rename to update.zip (used esfile explorer to rename and move it)
Step 3: copy file to root of EXTERNAL SD CARD
Step 4: power off tablet
Step 5: press and hold left volume button (button with two dots) and then press and hold power until Acer appears
Step 6: let it install it shouldn't take all that long
Step 7: Enjoy Ice Cream Sandwich. Suggest rebooting just once to let it settle in
The author has already posted this here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1308469
Tmobile HTC HD2
ROM 2.13.531.1
Radio 2.10.50.26

ACER 500 64GB Tablet
Changelog for CM10
The Following User Says Thank You to 10507 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jhunterb18
Old
#3  
jhunterb18's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 65
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Westminster, CO
Did this for users of the a200 so they can put it on there tablets. its just a how to. Didn't see one in that post. Since there's not a dev section for the a200 yet.
Current Phone: HTC EVO 3D
ROM: CHUBBZ 4.0.3 w/ sense 4.0

Previous Tablet: Acer Iconia A200 w/ ICS 4.0.3 [Leak]

Previous phones: HTC EVO 4G,HTC EVO Shift 4G, Samsung Transform, HTC HD2, HTC Dream G1, Palm Treo 650, Samsung T809, Motorola Razr (FLIP).
 
nifterific
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 243
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10507 View Post
The author has already posted this here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1308469
In what world are a 3.2.1 port to the a500 and 4.0.3 designed for the a200 the same thing?
Also, TC, I've seen far more complicated ways for a200 owners to get this working, so thanks for sharing (even if I dont have an a200). Hopefully someone can port this to a500, I love the ring feature, its why I sacrifice my rear camera to run the port the other guy linked to (I also sacrifice app compatibility on occasion as my tablet now reads as an a200, things like the USAA banking app dont show in the market and BIA2+ doesnt work but that game kinda blows anyway).
 
10507
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 181
Posts: 1,628
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Desert Rat
Quote:
Originally Posted by nifterific View Post
In what world are a 3.2.1 port to the a500 and 4.0.3 designed for the a200 the same thing?
Also, TC, I've seen far more complicated ways for a200 owners to get this working, so thanks for sharing (even if I dont have an a200). Hopefully someone can port this to a500, I love the ring feature, its why I sacrifice my rear camera to run the port the other guy linked to (I also sacrifice app compatibility on occasion as my tablet now reads as an a200, things like the USAA banking app dont show in the market and BIA2+ doesnt work but that game kinda blows anyway).
Anyway, I think it is still best to let the author post that himself. He has all that up on his server at http://vache-android.com/v1/index.php?site=files&cat=38
Tmobile HTC HD2
ROM 2.13.531.1
Radio 2.10.50.26

ACER 500 64GB Tablet
Changelog for CM10
 
agentfazexx
Old
#6  
agentfazexx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 352
Posts: 4,845
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reisterstown Maryland, USA
How does this work? Different HW.
Devices:
Samsung Galaxy S IV
ROM: CM11 M9 Snapshot [Official]
Recovery: ClockworkMod 6.0.4.7

Tablets:
Sprint Samsung Galaxy Tab 3
ROM: CM11 [Unofficial]
Recovery: ClockworkMod 6.0.4.7

Google Nexus 7
ROM: CM11 Nightly 9/1 [Official]
Recovery: ClockworkMod 6.0.4.3

Acer A500
ROM: OMNIRom v9 Android 4.4.2
Recovery: Thor's Recovery 1.8.1

Did I help you? Click "thanks" under my post!

Circle me on Google+
 
jhunterb18
Old
#7  
jhunterb18's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 65
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Westminster, CO
As far as putting it in your tablet or performance wise? If performance wise, I think it works great. No issues with it really. Notice it was a little laggy with Pandora in the background while I was browsing the web with the stock browser but I switched to dolphin browser and its been working great. Highly recommend. It doesn't have facial unlock like the new nexus is supposed to have but no biggy.
Current Phone: HTC EVO 3D
ROM: CHUBBZ 4.0.3 w/ sense 4.0

Previous Tablet: Acer Iconia A200 w/ ICS 4.0.3 [Leak]

Previous phones: HTC EVO 4G,HTC EVO Shift 4G, Samsung Transform, HTC HD2, HTC Dream G1, Palm Treo 650, Samsung T809, Motorola Razr (FLIP).
 
agentfazexx
Old
#8  
agentfazexx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 352
Posts: 4,845
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reisterstown Maryland, USA
This ROM does not work on my A500. I get an error: "assert failed" getprop('ro.product.name') == "a200_pa_cus1"

Maybe you should fix the build.prop and re-upload, or put it in the OP that this needs to be done. Because as you have it uploaded, it doesn't work.
Devices:
Samsung Galaxy S IV
ROM: CM11 M9 Snapshot [Official]
Recovery: ClockworkMod 6.0.4.7

Tablets:
Sprint Samsung Galaxy Tab 3
ROM: CM11 [Unofficial]
Recovery: ClockworkMod 6.0.4.7

Google Nexus 7
ROM: CM11 Nightly 9/1 [Official]
Recovery: ClockworkMod 6.0.4.3

Acer A500
ROM: OMNIRom v9 Android 4.4.2
Recovery: Thor's Recovery 1.8.1

Did I help you? Click "thanks" under my post!

Circle me on Google+
 
nifterific
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 243
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by agentfazexx View Post
This ROM does not work on my A500. I get an error: "assert failed" getprop('ro.product.name') == "a200_pa_cus1"

Maybe you should fix the build.prop and re-upload, or put it in the OP that this needs to be done. Because as you have it uploaded, it doesn't work.
or you could read the OP and find out its an a200 rom and not an a500 rom. seriously, flashing wihtout reading is just begging for a bricked device.
 
agentfazexx
Old
#10  
agentfazexx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 352
Posts: 4,845
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reisterstown Maryland, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by nifterific View Post
or you could read the OP and find out its an a200 rom and not an a500 rom. seriously, flashing wihtout reading is just begging for a bricked device.
Pretty sure this is in the A500 forum, doesn't say what his "tablet" is, and ROM's don't really brick your device. That is what your recovery partition is for. Hurr durr
Devices:
Samsung Galaxy S IV
ROM: CM11 M9 Snapshot [Official]
Recovery: ClockworkMod 6.0.4.7

Tablets:
Sprint Samsung Galaxy Tab 3
ROM: CM11 [Unofficial]
Recovery: ClockworkMod 6.0.4.7

Google Nexus 7
ROM: CM11 Nightly 9/1 [Official]
Recovery: ClockworkMod 6.0.4.3

Acer A500
ROM: OMNIRom v9 Android 4.4.2
Recovery: Thor's Recovery 1.8.1

Did I help you? Click "thanks" under my post!

Circle me on Google+

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes