Post Reply

Newest cellular radio 1.08.01.0111 (02/03/2012), touchscreen firmware flashable zip

OP VICODAN

10th February 2012, 06:21 PM   |  #101  
VICODAN's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Jose, CA
Thanks Meter: 475
 
1,686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by androiddummy

I am not talking about flashing zip files from my phone. I was talking about using the fastboot binary that I have downloaded in "~/android-sdk-linux/platform-tools/" folder on my laptop to flash the files to my phone which is connected to the laptop through usb and is in fastboot mode. I am not modifying zip files to flash them from the phone.

I was just wondering:
A.) Is it possible to do using the "fastboot flash <partition> [ <filename> ]" command from the terminal on my computer? I have flashed radios using this command in the past and that is why I thought that it might work.

B.) Will doing so bypass the software compatibility check that the PG06IMG.zip method uses?

The reason I am wondering is because I am interested in how fastboot interacts with the bootloader. Sorry for any confusion.

No, it is not possible. AFAIK
The Following User Says Thank You to VICODAN For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2012, 07:01 AM   |  #102  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 22
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
That was an easy flash. First time I did that without using my pc to move files around.

Sent from my PG06100 using Tapatalk
13th February 2012, 07:52 PM   |  #103  
evolone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by VICODAN

The entire SDcard must be fat 32. Try a different SDcard. EXT will NOT work.

Confirmed; only works with a single partition FAT32 sdcard.

Thanks for the advice / knowledge!
The Following User Says Thank You to evolone For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2012, 08:41 PM   |  #104  
crump84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Gump
Thanks Meter: 451
 
1,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by evolone

Confirmed; only works with a single partition FAT32 sdcard.

Thanks for the advice / knowledge!

Worked just fine on my card with a sd-ext...

Sent from my PG06100 using Tapatalk
13th February 2012, 08:52 PM   |  #105  
sparksco's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,850
 
8,281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crump84

Worked just fine on my card with a sd-ext...

Sent from my PG06100 using Tapatalk

Mine as well. I think the sdcards get corrupted or something. I know flashing cwm touch recovery has nothing to with these radio's, but I had to repartition my sdcard to get it to work, and when I repartitioned I did add a ext partition.
14th February 2012, 12:04 AM   |  #106  
Hammerfest's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 278
 
1,590 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparksco

Mine as well. I think the sdcards get corrupted or something. I know flashing cwm touch recovery has nothing to with these radio's, but I had to repartition my sdcard to get it to work, and when I repartitioned I did add a ext partition.

ya, i totally forgot to report back.. but my Fat32/EXT4/SWAP partitioned card flashed the radio/touchscreen firmware w/o issue :P

BTW, As I have already switched my storage and backup drives... as soon as android gets a PUBLIC (oh, and free... or cheap) EXFAT capability, Fat32 will be gone so fast its head will spin, wait... FLASH not HDD :P...
14th February 2012, 06:31 AM   |  #107  
StAlphonso's Avatar
Member
Flag Staten Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 6
 
93 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Is it normal that it bypassed 1 and 3? either way touch screen is significantly improved (and I thought it was pretty good to begin with) and I seem to be getting at least slightly better service in my apartment, which is great cause its been spotty the last couple of months...thanks so much for this!
14th February 2012, 07:26 AM   |  #108  
abadasstanker69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix, Az
Thanks Meter: 717
 
1,767 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
I've noticed my GPS is having difficulties locking now until I restart the phone. I used faster fix and GPS tools to recalibrate and reset my GPS but nothing works unless I reboot the phone. Is this related to this update you think?

Sent from my PG06100 using xda premium
14th February 2012, 07:33 AM   |  #109  
prboy1969's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 6,952
 
10,222 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Thanks Vic, just updated. Everything seems to be working great. 3G is definately faster, and the touchscreen response is noiticebly better.
16th February 2012, 04:57 PM   |  #110  
Junior Member
Flag Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
another noob question. My evo shift is with a local carrier in Hawaii (MobiPCS). Not sprint... I had to take it to a local shop to have it "fixed" so it would work with Mobi. Will flashing the radio have any impact on this?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes