Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[KERNEL][3.0.21+][HD video working now on 16Gb NT] Nook Tablet ICS kernel development

OP Kuzma30

19th August 2012, 09:43 PM   |  #721  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
I do know that this is a development thread. The issue I stated on 1 you think would be resolved because titles has been updated to HD video working. Now in regards to the font size being smaller and larger I thought could attribute to the reason HD not working.

The formatting of the system may seem a little redundant. When I would switch to a different Rom either cm7 or 9 and then back I would have reboots. Do that one extra step and no reboots.

Sent from my VS910 4G using xda app-developers app
20th August 2012, 07:29 AM   |  #722  
Senior Member
Flag Attalla, AL
Thanks Meter: 14
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fickendichdu

I do know that this is a development thread. The issue I stated on 1 you think would be resolved because titles has been updated to HD video working. Now in regards to the font size being smaller and larger I thought could attribute to the reason HD not working.

Sent from my VS910 4G using xda app-developers app

I know that netflix works on cm9 but the cm10 thread says that hardware decoding doesn't work so that's why you get the black screen and audio, (cm9 with 2.x kernel does that too)
20th August 2012, 03:31 PM   |  #723  
ibilln's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sxypapi

Hello guys. has anyone has a mirror link to this kernel? any help will be appreciated

Anyone? Link at OP broken...
20th August 2012, 03:50 PM   |  #724  
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Gdańsk
Thanks Meter: 3,437
 
1,340 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zippy Dufus

Hello,

I built using the ducati_test and made two flash attempts. This build would not boot - black screen only with backlight on.

Thanks. Is it a trouble for you to upload whole .zip of that build? I'd like to catch UART dmesg and test it abit.

If it's any kind trouble, don't bother yourself.


//edit:
This is a concept to test out, I've got troubles testing it atm. ^^
For rather advanced users.
Just notice pathes are "AFAIR", probably these differ abit in real.
switch governor to "userspace" (echo userspace > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_current_governor )
This should disable DVFS
experiment with frequencies (echo <desired_freq> > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_setspeed )
Try to hang system on every frequency. It's possible that on some frequencies it will hang more often, on some less often, on others wont hang at all. It's also possible that frequency won't matter at all and it will hang equally often on all freqs.
Last edited by Rebellos; 20th August 2012 at 07:24 PM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Rebellos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th August 2012, 07:59 PM   |  #725  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 100
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebellos

Thanks. Is it a trouble for you to upload whole .zip of that build? I'd like to catch UART dmesg and test it abit.

If it's any kind trouble, don't bother yourself.

I'm always willing to help on this but I'm now traveling and my time and computing environment are more restricted.

I'm currently testing how stable this build is on airport and hotel wifi networks. I did have a crash this morning where it went into the state that the backlight remained on and I had the hold down the power button for a while (10+ seconds) to completely shut it down. I would be interested if the kernel is still accessible via SSH but I do not have such access now.

My knowledge of UART is almost nothing but if you can point me to where I can read up on it, I may find some time on the weekend to play with it.

Also, could you explain demetris_l's comments in this post? I don't understand the difference of flashing a kernel versus flashing the whole build package. In fact, I quickly looked inside the builds zip file and couldn't recognize a file that would be the kernel. I'm a Fedora Linux user and thought that I should be able to find the kernel file.

I'm pleased with this alpha build of CM10 and would suggest that the focus would be to fix the kernel in it first and return to CM9 afterwards. CM10 appears to be a couple bugs short of awesome!

Cheers.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Zippy Dufus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th August 2012, 08:18 PM   |  #726  
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Gdańsk
Thanks Meter: 3,437
 
1,340 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Donate to Me
Err, ducati_test is ordinary 3.0+ kernel, and it should be as useable in ICS as in JB, and in theory in GB and stuff. So shouldn't matter if you flash CM9 or CM10.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Rebellos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th August 2012, 08:55 PM   |  #727  
Demetris's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Limassol
Thanks Meter: 7,641
 
2,576 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
boot.img is kernel + ramdisk.
Rebellos in theory All true
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Demetris For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st August 2012, 02:15 AM   |  #728  
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Gdańsk
Thanks Meter: 3,437
 
1,340 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Donate to Me
Lawl, why noone wrote in kernel thread that underclocking does prevent random reboots... I've been suspecting it for some time but haven't suspected someone tested it out already in ROM threads, wuuut. I still need some input with these tests: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=724
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rebellos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st August 2012, 04:08 AM   |  #729  
Demetris's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Limassol
Thanks Meter: 7,641
 
2,576 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
For not advanced users use this

http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...4&d=1310073004
It might work the same.
Notice that is kinda old version of setcpu freely available to xda members taken from here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=505419
Report back if it works, thanks

---------- Post added at 05:08 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:47 AM ----------

For advanced users that will test this following Rebellos quide i will add some helping hints.

You can use these commands in adb shell or while running nook tablet within a terminal application.

echo userspace > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor

This command will change ondemand (default governor) to userspace then you need to Check Available frequencies with:

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies

Then you will get response back from system like:
300000 600000 800000 1008000

So let's say we need to e.g. Switch to 800Mhz, we type this:

echo 800000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_setspeed

Then we need to check if our changes took effect by issuing:

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq

We should see a response back from system with:
800000
So now we succesfully set our CPU at 800mhz speed with no options to scale up or down.

I hope i helped.

Also this is how you activate both cores:

chmod 666 /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/online
echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/online
chmod 444 /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/online

To Deactivate Core 1....

chmod 666 /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/online
echo 0 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/online
chmod 444 /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/online
Last edited by Demetris; 21st August 2012 at 04:33 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Demetris For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st August 2012, 07:10 AM   |  #730  
Demetris's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Limassol
Thanks Meter: 7,641
 
2,576 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
This is crash with 800mhz userspace governor.
adb shell cat /proc/last_kmsg > kmsg.txt
http://pastebin.com/pzRCeZFr

This is crash with 1GHz userspace governor

http://pastebin.com/H0K6Fd0Y

And this is after i disable wifi from rom by deleting firmware and modules and having connected usb on Nook tablet(if not connect usb no last_kmsg output file)

http://pastebin.com/vaRyzrmR

Notice how brightness goes down then up by itself
In the log shows brightness had gone from 101 to 0 and then came back up from 0 to 102!
We dont have brightness control
Last edited by Demetris; 21st August 2012 at 08:48 AM.

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Demetris For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
mmcblk0boot0
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes