Post Reply

[MOD][Feb 14 2012] tbalden's mt4gs bruteforce TV-out app 1.2 beta

OP tbalden

6th February 2012, 09:45 PM   |  #1  
tbalden's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 6,437
 
3,912 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
tbalden's mt4gs bruteforce tvout


Standalone tvout app runnable from Terminal Emulator.


If you're on stock Doubleshot roms and its derivatives you most probably DON'T need this app, it will work out of the box!
This app won't work on any other device, if it doesnt have an identical PAL/NTSC tvout graphics device of /dev/graphics/fb1



INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Download the flashable, install from your Recovery.
2. Install Terminal Emulator
3. If you don't have busybox with your ROM install busybox (https://market.android.com/details?id=stericson.busybox) (pyroice roms all have it)
4. Plug in your Jack-AVC composite cable to your TV properly, turn on TV to the right mode. only AFTER that, plug in your cable to the phone's jack.
5. Start Terminal Emulator,
6. and according to your tv standards type in one of the appropiate command:


PAL
Code:
~ stvpal
NTSC
Code:
~ stvntsc
PAL-N
Code:
~ stvpaln
PAL-M
Code:
~ stvpalm
It will ask for Root permissions. Grant it!
Will start soon. Enjoy!


On my HDTV i could only test stvpal, probably it will work on any HDTV. If using with older TVs, please report back if one of these scripts works for the tv. Not that I can fix it, but im curious. :P

The app will stop if you plug off the cable. Restart the app if you replug.



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcAiXyzOe-Q

DEVS, PLEASE DON'T INCLUDE THIS IN YOUR ROMS. Rather link to this post.



For best results use it with Pyr'o'Ice ICS 1.0.2 or Pyr'o'Ice Sense 1.0.1, as audio-to-tv most probably won't work with other ROMs.


KNOWN ISSUES:


- Glitches some apps, especially those that use Alpha/Transparency in 2D.
- Glitchy with Live wallpapars and launcher transitions
- Frame rate is sometimes lagging, but since 1.1 much better
- Audio out might not work to tv (it works with Pyr'o'Ice ICS 1.0.2 and Pyr'o'Ice Sense 1.0.1)
- check the youtube video above to see how it works

BE AWARE THE APP IS USING YOUR CPU EXTENSIVELY, SO IT'S ADVISED TO USE YOUR CHARGER IF USING FOR EXTENDED TIMES!


DONATION:


Please consider donation if you like how the app works with your phone, it took a big heap of time to work on this! Also hit the Thanks button if you like this.

Download:
http://www.4shared.com/zip/fPLcd4gW/...rce-tv-v1.html
DOWNLOAD
http://www.4shared.com/zip/kXSrf0OW/...rce-tv-v1.html
md5sum 5625003c57a893d840d329d88a668ada


DEVS, PLEASE DON'T INCLUDE THIS IN YOUR ROMS. Rather link to this post.


Advice:

- For gallery camcorded video playback the Gingerbread movie playback seemed to work better (no black glitches), while ICS had some troubles.
- for video playback you can try different apps. Some might result with more glitches while others with less or none. Let's try to find the best player for this app, if we can.

- some glitches appear momentarily when popups happen like Media volume setting popup.

Btw, look for a cable something like this:



ADDON:

Check this for easier use like a shortcut on your Home screen (needs GScript Lite from market): http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1&postcount=12 Thanks dillalade!


CHANGELOG
14 Feb 2012 - Further speed improvement with busybox nice command(1.2)
13 Feb 2012 - Speed improvements (1.1)
8 Feb 2012 - Initial release (1.0)
Last edited by tbalden; 14th February 2012 at 08:55 PM.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to tbalden For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2012, 09:45 PM   |  #2  
tbalden's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 6,437
 
3,912 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
reserved for later use
6th February 2012, 09:54 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 77
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
whoa, great work!

But... doesn't this belong more in the apps' subforum? :P
6th February 2012, 09:56 PM   |  #4  
tbalden's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 6,437
 
3,912 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel60104

whoa, great work!

But... doesn't this belong more in the apps' subforum? :P

Well, its under development mod. Ive read the rules to check exactly upon that, but if any mod feels it doesnt belong here, ill move.
The Following User Says Thank You to tbalden For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2012, 10:05 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag istanbul
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Thenk you tbalden wery nice app

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
6th February 2012, 10:07 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 77
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbalden

Well, its under development mod. Ive read the rules to check exactly upon that, but if any mod feels it doesnt belong here, ill move.

oh okay. sorry, didn't mean to be a prick :|

but I'm gonna go try this when I get the chance!!
The Following User Says Thank You to daniel60104 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2012, 10:10 PM   |  #7  
tbalden's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 6,437
 
3,912 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel60104

oh okay. sorry, didn't mean to be a prick :|

but I'm gonna go try this when I get the chance!!

no trouble, Daniel! Happy to see you around. If you have any feedback, its much appreciated.
7th February 2012, 12:34 AM   |  #8  
dillalade's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Richmond
Thanks Meter: 188
 
1,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Outstanding!

For a first edition beta - this is awesome.

I'm a PAL tv owner in UK (LG 720p 32" LCD) - stvpal, stvpaln, stvpalm all appear very clear on the TV screen, nice job

As well as the known issues detailed in OP first usage for me illustrates the same 'incorrect' aspect ratio on my TV as your Youtube demo.

By incorrect I mean the horizontal/width is to wide (slight cut off on both left/right side), however the height seems fine.

Very nice Tballer


[* PyroIce ICS on DS/MT4gS *]
Last edited by dillalade; 7th February 2012 at 12:47 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to dillalade For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th February 2012, 10:40 AM   |  #9  
tbalden's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 6,437
 
3,912 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
thanks for testing. Were the original roms tvout picture fitting perfectly?

i hope someone with ntsc or older tv (crt) can test this, but the real fun is to have it on hdtv.
Last edited by tbalden; 7th February 2012 at 12:48 PM.
7th February 2012, 12:54 PM   |  #10  
dillalade's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Richmond
Thanks Meter: 188
 
1,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbalden

thanks for testing. Were the original roms tvout picture fitting perfectly?

i hope someone with ntsc or older tv (crt) can test this, but the real fun is to have it on hdtv.

The original stock rom would output the correct apect ratio to the tv (no cut off) perfectly - adjusting portrait/landscape appropriately.

On stock, the output to tv would reflect the correct persepective from the phone. Hence portrait mode on phone comes up portrait on tv (hence central on the tv screen). Again if phone is in landscape mode this is then reflected on tv screen by filling the tv screen in landscape mode without cutoffs.

I am using a HD TV, if that's what you mean.


[* PyroIce ICS on DS/MT4gS *]

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes