View Poll Results: Are you trying Nitrous ROM for the first time?
YES 14 23.73%
NO 20 33.90%
COMING BACK TO IT 25 42.37%
DON'T WANT TO TRY 0 0%
Voters: 59. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

[ROM][2.3.5][4.67] ۰ Nitrous 1.6.3 - Speed at your finger tips. [ UP ] ۰

OP raafaell

11th March 2012, 10:08 PM   |  #511  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
droidsail seems much easier, check it out at the market
12th March 2012, 05:06 AM   |  #512  
huntingr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 70
 
261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
I like the bootanimation. Thanks for putting gmail back in the ROM (my preference - it saves me from having to keep installing it every time I flash an update), and removing the keyboard tutorial is a great idea. I haven't seen any issues with the update so far, it's faster than ever and just keeps getting better! Nice job on the update raafaell.
12th March 2012, 03:09 PM   |  #513  
raafaell's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 535
 
374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Good news, click-dev is getting a new and fancy website, SO I am recruiting people that have any of these knowledges: php, html, css, javascript, xml, MySQL, ROM Baking volunteer, post writer, Rom testers, Android SDK, someone that can moderate forums, graohic desig ner etc.... If you have any of these skills, please pm me to help me out with click-dev Android community.

ThankS
12th March 2012, 08:50 PM   |  #514  
rjd728's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Talking ROM Rocks
I wiped with VR Superwipe, Caulkin's Format All and Factory Wipe with Amon Ra Style 3.11 Recovery. Flashed 1.3.5 and then Darktremor Apps2SD 2.7.5.3 Beta 04. I did get stuck in a strange boot loop on first boot. However, I yanked the battery and booted to recvoery. I wiped cache and dalvik and then rebooted phone. Worked fine after that. I've installed tons of apps, Avast Antivirus, Ad free, G+, Facebook, Skype, Netflix, etc. I still have 382 MEG free. ROM is very snappy.....no force closes or reboots. I'll stick with stock kernel calibrate battery and report back. Great job DEV's!
12th March 2012, 10:58 PM   |  #515  
volk9029's Avatar
Senior Member
Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 2,642
 
3,062 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjd728

I wiped with VR Superwipe, Caulkin's Format All and Factory Wipe with Amon Ra Style 3.11 Recovery. Flashed 1.3.5 and then Darktremor Apps2SD 2.7.5.3 Beta 04. I did get stuck in a strange boot loop on first boot. However, I yanked the battery and booted to recvoery. I wiped cache and dalvik and then rebooted phone. Worked fine after that. I've installed tons of apps, Avast Antivirus, Ad free, G+, Facebook, Skype, Netflix, etc. I still have 382 MEG free. ROM is very snappy.....no force closes or reboots. I'll stick with stock kernel calibrate battery and report back. Great job DEV's!

Darktremor A2sd comes built in. It's preferred to not use supervipe, some people had problems with it. It's better to wipe all but sd card manually.

Sent from my lair.
12th March 2012, 11:39 PM   |  #516  
huntingr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 70
 
261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjd728

I wiped with VR Superwipe, Caulkin's Format All and Factory Wipe with Amon Ra Style 3.11 Recovery. Flashed 1.3.5 and then Darktremor Apps2SD 2.7.5.3 Beta 04. I did get stuck in a strange boot loop on first boot. However, I yanked the battery and booted to recvoery. I wiped cache and dalvik and then rebooted phone. Worked fine after that. I've installed tons of apps, Avast Antivirus, Ad free, G+, Facebook, Skype, Netflix, etc. I still have 382 MEG free. ROM is very snappy.....no force closes or reboots. I'll stick with stock kernel calibrate battery and report back. Great job DEV's!

FYI - If you decide to flash Darktremor Apps2SD, and When you boot for the first time after flashing Darktremor Apps2SD, the phone will bootloop 2 or three times - this is normal. It boots multiple times when it's setting itself up (moving apps to SD, etc). If you let it go, it should eventually boot up normally. It usually bootloops 3 times for me when I flash it for the first time.
13th March 2012, 03:53 AM   |  #517  
ksession's Avatar
Member
Flag Queens
Thanks Meter: 17
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
How do you remove the recent apps?
13th March 2012, 04:36 AM   |  #518  
tommytomatoe's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Knoxville USA
Thanks Meter: 6,821
 
6,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksession

How do you remove the recent apps?

I meant to write youan email sooner but I have been so busy you dont even know.


Use these commands. Make a folder on your Desktop called "work" (can be whatever you want really, but this is just a sample). Also, have baksmali installed (if you use android-utility it installs baksmali and smali for you). I know you are on a Mac.

Place SystemUI.apk in the folder "work" on the Desktop.

Code:
cd Desktop/work

baksmali -l SystemUI.apk -o dex-out
That should have created a folder called "dex-out" next to the SystemUI.apk. If not, then you need to try again or install baksmali.

Now, open this file: dex-out/com/android/systemui/statusbar/StatusBarFlag.smali

Search for this chunk of code:

Code:
    sput-boolean v0, Lcom/android/systemui/statusbar/StatusBarFlag;->HTC_RECENT_APP:Z

    sput-boolean v0, Lcom/android/systemui/statusbar/StatusBarFlag;->HTC_QUICK_SETTINGS:Z
Delete the line top line, so when you're done, you should have this:

Code:
    sput-boolean v0, Lcom/android/systemui/statusbar/StatusBarFlag;->HTC_QUICK_SETTINGS:Z
Keep in mind that the line you deleted exists in two places in this file. It is crucial you delete the right one. If you do a filter (cmd+f) you will see that it exists in two places. Only delete the entry that is followed by the "HTC_QUICK_SETTINGS:Z" line that I posted above.

Now, save the file.

Go back to terminal.

Run:

Code:
smali dex-out -o classes.dex
Now, you should have three things in the folder called "work". SystemUI.apk, dex-out/, and classes.dex.

Select Option A or Option B:

A. If you have android-sdk installed and it is in your path, continue. You should have sdk anyways. Or, if you installed android-utility, you can also use this method as au installs the correct binaries for you.

Code:
aapt r SystemUI.apk classes.dex 

aapt a -v SystemUI.apk classes.dex

zipalign -f -v 4 SystemUI.apk tmp.apk && mv -f tmp.apk SystemUI.apk

adb remount && adb shell stop && adb push SystemUI.apk /system/app/ && adb shell start
That's it!!! The last command sequence can be broken apart (removing the &&s of course), or ran as one command.

B. If you dont have the necessary tools (zipalign, aapt, adb) - which you should! - then you can simply open the SystemUI.apk with an archive manager like BetterZip. Dont use the stock Mac OS one becasue you cannot modify files inside a zip with it, you can only unzip with it. Then replace the old classes.dex inside the apk with the new one you generated above. Then get it to your phone one way or another.


Obviously, option A is the more ideal way and much better.

Have fun man!

Keep in mind, this is an easy mod. All the fancy stuff towards the end is just the progression. Once you get the process down it is pretty easy.

Also, instead of using baksmali and smali (preferred in this case) you can use apktool. As I repeated a couple times, you can use android-utility or if you installed android-utility before it will provide all the necessary tools.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tommytomatoe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th March 2012, 05:19 AM   |  #519  
raafaell's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 535
 
374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommytomatoe

I meant to write youan email sooner but I have been so busy you dont even know.


Use these commands. Make a folder on your Desktop called "work" (can be whatever you want really, but this is just a sample). Also, have baksmali installed (if you use android-utility it installs baksmali and smali for you). I know you are on a Mac.

Place SystemUI.apk in the folder "work" on the Desktop.

Code:
cd Desktop/work

baksmali -l SystemUI.apk -o dex-out
That should have created a folder called "dex-out" next to the SystemUI.apk. If not, then you need to try again or install baksmali.

Now, open this file: dex-out/com/android/systemui/statusbar/StatusBarFlag.smali

Search for this chunk of code:

Code:
    sput-boolean v0, Lcom/android/systemui/statusbar/StatusBarFlag;->HTC_RECENT_APP:Z

    sput-boolean v0, Lcom/android/systemui/statusbar/StatusBarFlag;->HTC_QUICK_SETTINGS:Z
Delete the line top line, so when you're done, you should have this:

Code:
    sput-boolean v0, Lcom/android/systemui/statusbar/StatusBarFlag;->HTC_QUICK_SETTINGS:Z
Keep in mind that the line you deleted exists in two places in this file. It is crucial you delete the right one. If you do a filter (cmd+f) you will see that it exists in two places. Only delete the entry that is followed by the "HTC_QUICK_SETTINGS:Z" line that I posted above.

Now, save the file.

Go back to terminal.

Run:

Code:
smali dex-out -o classes.dex
Now, you should have three things in the folder called "work". SystemUI.apk, dex-out/, and classes.dex.

Select Option A or Option B:

A. If you have android-sdk installed and it is in your path, continue. You should have sdk anyways. Or, if you installed android-utility, you can also use this method as au installs the correct binaries for you.

Code:
aapt r SystemUI.apk classes.dex 

aapt a -v SystemUI.apk classes.dex

zipalign -f -v 4 SystemUI.apk tmp.apk && mv -f tmp.apk SystemUI.apk

adb remount && adb shell stop && adb push SystemUI.apk /system/app/ && adb shell start
That's it!!! The last command sequence can be broken apart (removing the &&s of course), or ran as one command.

B. If you dont have the necessary tools (zipalign, aapt, adb) - which you should! - then you can simply open the SystemUI.apk with an archive manager like BetterZip. Dont use the stock Mac OS one becasue you cannot modify files inside a zip with it, you can only unzip with it. Then replace the old classes.dex inside the apk with the new one you generated above. Then get it to your phone one way or another.


Obviously, option A is the more ideal way and much better.

Have fun man!

Keep in mind, this is an easy mod. All the fancy stuff towards the end is just the progression. Once you get the process down it is pretty easy.

Also, instead of using baksmali and smali (preferred in this case) you can use apktool. As I repeated a couple times, you can use android-utility or if you installed android-utility before it will provide all the necessary tools.

Thanks for this, I will try this soon, I mostly use apktool d to decompile the apks, if I modify the classes.dex would it break the chunk code?

Thanks
13th March 2012, 06:12 AM   |  #520  
tommytomatoe's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Knoxville USA
Thanks Meter: 6,821
 
6,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raafaell

Thanks for this, I will try this soon, I mostly use apktool d to decompile the apks, if I modify the classes.dex would it break the chunk code?

Thanks

When suing apktool, it work the same way. Instead of the "dex-out" folder, you will see a folder called smali inside the decompiled apk. Then just edit the StatusbarFlag.smali the same way. Then recompile and resign.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
4.67, fast, nitrous, ota, rom
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes