5,597,198 Members 43,486 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] ICS ROM EOS for 3G Hong Kong Xoom?

Tip us?
 
Nick1009
Old
#1  
Nick1009's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default [Q] ICS ROM EOS for 3G Hong Kong Xoom?

1st of all, welldone eos team!! Will love to update this rom with my xoom hk version. but sadly most of the thread end up saying hong kong version should stay away...i think its maybe the partition issues stil the main problem, anyone here already test the rom with hong kong version?
 
cougarmaster
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Why are we being left out?

Hi all,

Been using the MZ601 3g/WiFi for a few months and still can't get to a point to root it. Last time I rooted it a lot of stuff does not work like the market and memory. I paid motorola to flash it back as they will not provide the SBF file. Also HK versions are not going to get the upgrade to ICS from motorola. Though they have put it into planning stage only which means no ICS for us. If anyone have proper information on how to root HK version 3g/WiFi MZ601 please please let us know.

TIA
Eric
 
aR_ChRiS
Old
#3  
aR_ChRiS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 258
Posts: 1,319
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bristol, UK
I think you guys can just flash the EU version of the EOS rom...(HK version should be UMTS instead of CDMA).
X10i (used as the phone for long distance calls)
ROM: CM10 Unofficial
Kernel: Provided Kernel

Nexus Prime (maguro)
Recovery: CWM v6.0.4.7 touch version
ROM: CarbonRom 4.4 builds
Kernel: Franco Kernel r396-KK

Motorola Xoom Wi-Fi
Recovery: CWM v6.0.2.3 Unofficial
ROM: Dream's 4.2 AOSP
Kernel: Provided Kernel
 
okantomi
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 710
Posts: 2,999
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by aR_ChRiS View Post
I think you guys can just flash the EU version of the EOS rom...(HK version should be UMTS instead of CDMA).
Only if solarnz has added the special files to deal with the HK model's storage partition issues. I'm sure he'd help if possible.
Transformer Infinity 32Gb - JB 4.1.1
ROM: CROMI v4.4 with _that kernel
Nexus 7 32Gb - JB 4.2.2
ROM: between sparksco's sabremod and sbdags' CROMi with M-kernel
SGS2 Epic 4G Touch - JB 4.2.2
ROM: Evervolv, Baked or Magical Unicorn
Xoom WiFi - JB 4.2.1
ROM: EOS 4 Wingray Nightly 180
Rockin' TWRP Touch Recovery on everything!

When someone--anyone--helps you, give them a THANKS!
 
aR_ChRiS
Old
#5  
aR_ChRiS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 258
Posts: 1,319
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by okantomi View Post
Only if solarnz has added the special files to deal with the HK model's storage partition issues. I'm sure he'd help if possible.
Well there's a high possibility that the 3G xoom sold in hk is the eu version...

1. HK uses EU mobile frequencies
2. I've got my wingray in hong kong and still be able to flash the EOS rom...

So just check carefully whether or not you are having the EU xoom...

You can try flashing the EU version of the rom but I'll recommend that you'll do a backup first in recovery.
X10i (used as the phone for long distance calls)
ROM: CM10 Unofficial
Kernel: Provided Kernel

Nexus Prime (maguro)
Recovery: CWM v6.0.4.7 touch version
ROM: CarbonRom 4.4 builds
Kernel: Franco Kernel r396-KK

Motorola Xoom Wi-Fi
Recovery: CWM v6.0.2.3 Unofficial
ROM: Dream's 4.2 AOSP
Kernel: Provided Kernel
 
cougarmaster
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Hi aR_ChRiS,

Thanks for the reply. So how exactly can I backup my original firmware? I don't want to again pay Motorola to reflash again. I cannot find the exact procedures to backup. Please help.

TIA
Eric
 
llama-power
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 157
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cougarmaster View Post
Hi aR_ChRiS,

Thanks for the reply. So how exactly can I backup my original firmware? I don't want to again pay Motorola to reflash again. I cannot find the exact procedures to backup. Please help.

TIA
Eric
install clockworkmod and, before rooting, go into the backup-menu and run a nandroid backup.

I am not sure which recovery you should use, as your partition table looks different from 'the usual'. The 'modded' CWM is modded in a way to exclude the /sdcard-folder (=/data/media) from wipes, backups, etc, so this is probably not the recovery you should go for. Also, if you change your partition table to match the european xooms, you will probably have to undo that before you can restore that backup.
 
aR_ChRiS
Old
#8  
aR_ChRiS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 258
Posts: 1,319
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by llama-power View Post
install clockworkmod and, before rooting, go into the backup-menu and run a nandroid backup.

I am not sure which recovery you should use, as your partition table looks different from 'the usual'. The 'modded' CWM is modded in a way to exclude the /sdcard-folder (=/data/media) from wipes, backups, etc, so this is probably not the recovery you should go for. Also, if you change your partition table to match the european xooms, you will probably have to undo that before you can restore that backup.
I would go for the tiamat recovery.
X10i (used as the phone for long distance calls)
ROM: CM10 Unofficial
Kernel: Provided Kernel

Nexus Prime (maguro)
Recovery: CWM v6.0.4.7 touch version
ROM: CarbonRom 4.4 builds
Kernel: Franco Kernel r396-KK

Motorola Xoom Wi-Fi
Recovery: CWM v6.0.2.3 Unofficial
ROM: Dream's 4.2 AOSP
Kernel: Provided Kernel
 
Nick1009
Old
#9  
Nick1009's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cougarmaster View Post
Hi aR_ChRiS,

Thanks for the reply. So how exactly can I backup my original firmware? I don't want to again pay Motorola to reflash again. I cannot find the exact procedures to backup. Please help.

TIA
Eric


Hi, Any luck for new ICS for our xoom? please do update me if you have successfully rooted and upgrade without problem.

me as well as other hk xoom owner couldnt bear to left behind....

nick.nbgm@gmail.com


Thanks a million bro!
 
cougarmaster
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Rom for hk xoom

Hi Nick,
Lucikly I didn't root as my motherboard had problems and they replaced it twice. Anyway unless I can find the sbf file for hk mz601 I dont think I can safely do it. As i don't want to pay for it to be reflashed each time. Also from reading around it is best for hk users not to root. Or at least wait for the warranty to run out. For me it is end of this year

Eric

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes