Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,266 Members 41,814 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] ICS ROM EOS for 3G Hong Kong Xoom?

Tip us?
 
Nick1009
Old
#1  
Nick1009's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default [Q] ICS ROM EOS for 3G Hong Kong Xoom?

1st of all, welldone eos team!! Will love to update this rom with my xoom hk version. but sadly most of the thread end up saying hong kong version should stay away...i think its maybe the partition issues stil the main problem, anyone here already test the rom with hong kong version?
 
cougarmaster
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Why are we being left out?

Hi all,

Been using the MZ601 3g/WiFi for a few months and still can't get to a point to root it. Last time I rooted it a lot of stuff does not work like the market and memory. I paid motorola to flash it back as they will not provide the SBF file. Also HK versions are not going to get the upgrade to ICS from motorola. Though they have put it into planning stage only which means no ICS for us. If anyone have proper information on how to root HK version 3g/WiFi MZ601 please please let us know.

TIA
Eric
 
aR_ChRiS
Old
#3  
aR_ChRiS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 1,327
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bristol, UK
I think you guys can just flash the EU version of the EOS rom...(HK version should be UMTS instead of CDMA).
X10i - es209ra (First Android device and backup phone)
ROM: CM10 SEMC debranded engine
Kernel: Provided Kernel

Nexus 5 16GB - hammerhead
ROM: Carbon KK Builds (ART mode)
Kernel: Franco Kernel Builds

Nexus Prime - maguro
Retired due to broken usb port.
 
okantomi
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 712
Posts: 3,003
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by aR_ChRiS View Post
I think you guys can just flash the EU version of the EOS rom...(HK version should be UMTS instead of CDMA).
Only if solarnz has added the special files to deal with the HK model's storage partition issues. I'm sure he'd help if possible.
Transformer Infinity 32Gb - KK 4.2.2
ROM: CROMBI.KK with _that kernel
Nexus 7 32Gb - KK 4.4.2
Galaxy Note 2 - 4.3

When someone--anyone--helps you, give them a THANKS!
 
aR_ChRiS
Old
#5  
aR_ChRiS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 1,327
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by okantomi View Post
Only if solarnz has added the special files to deal with the HK model's storage partition issues. I'm sure he'd help if possible.
Well there's a high possibility that the 3G xoom sold in hk is the eu version...

1. HK uses EU mobile frequencies
2. I've got my wingray in hong kong and still be able to flash the EOS rom...

So just check carefully whether or not you are having the EU xoom...

You can try flashing the EU version of the rom but I'll recommend that you'll do a backup first in recovery.
X10i - es209ra (First Android device and backup phone)
ROM: CM10 SEMC debranded engine
Kernel: Provided Kernel

Nexus 5 16GB - hammerhead
ROM: Carbon KK Builds (ART mode)
Kernel: Franco Kernel Builds

Nexus Prime - maguro
Retired due to broken usb port.
 
cougarmaster
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Hi aR_ChRiS,

Thanks for the reply. So how exactly can I backup my original firmware? I don't want to again pay Motorola to reflash again. I cannot find the exact procedures to backup. Please help.

TIA
Eric
 
llama-power
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 157
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cougarmaster View Post
Hi aR_ChRiS,

Thanks for the reply. So how exactly can I backup my original firmware? I don't want to again pay Motorola to reflash again. I cannot find the exact procedures to backup. Please help.

TIA
Eric
install clockworkmod and, before rooting, go into the backup-menu and run a nandroid backup.

I am not sure which recovery you should use, as your partition table looks different from 'the usual'. The 'modded' CWM is modded in a way to exclude the /sdcard-folder (=/data/media) from wipes, backups, etc, so this is probably not the recovery you should go for. Also, if you change your partition table to match the european xooms, you will probably have to undo that before you can restore that backup.
 
aR_ChRiS
Old
#8  
aR_ChRiS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 1,327
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by llama-power View Post
install clockworkmod and, before rooting, go into the backup-menu and run a nandroid backup.

I am not sure which recovery you should use, as your partition table looks different from 'the usual'. The 'modded' CWM is modded in a way to exclude the /sdcard-folder (=/data/media) from wipes, backups, etc, so this is probably not the recovery you should go for. Also, if you change your partition table to match the european xooms, you will probably have to undo that before you can restore that backup.
I would go for the tiamat recovery.
X10i - es209ra (First Android device and backup phone)
ROM: CM10 SEMC debranded engine
Kernel: Provided Kernel

Nexus 5 16GB - hammerhead
ROM: Carbon KK Builds (ART mode)
Kernel: Franco Kernel Builds

Nexus Prime - maguro
Retired due to broken usb port.
 
Nick1009
Old
#9  
Nick1009's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cougarmaster View Post
Hi aR_ChRiS,

Thanks for the reply. So how exactly can I backup my original firmware? I don't want to again pay Motorola to reflash again. I cannot find the exact procedures to backup. Please help.

TIA
Eric


Hi, Any luck for new ICS for our xoom? please do update me if you have successfully rooted and upgrade without problem.

me as well as other hk xoom owner couldnt bear to left behind....

nick.nbgm@gmail.com


Thanks a million bro!
 
cougarmaster
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Rom for hk xoom

Hi Nick,
Lucikly I didn't root as my motherboard had problems and they replaced it twice. Anyway unless I can find the sbf file for hk mz601 I dont think I can safely do it. As i don't want to pay for it to be reflashed each time. Also from reading around it is best for hk users not to root. Or at least wait for the warranty to run out. For me it is end of this year

Eric

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google Play Store 4.9 Brings New, Image-Rich UI with a Hint of Material Design

It’s not Wednesday yet, but we’ve got a great … more

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more

But First, Let Me Take a #Selfie

“Today while browsing XDA,I’m going tocheck to seeif my favorite ROM has been updated–but … more