NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8 Gb RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit ready. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] ICS ROM EOS for 3G Hong Kong Xoom?

OP Nick1009

8th February 2012, 03:39 PM   |  #1  
Nick1009's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
1st of all, welldone eos team!! Will love to update this rom with my xoom hk version. but sadly most of the thread end up saying hong kong version should stay away...i think its maybe the partition issues stil the main problem, anyone here already test the rom with hong kong version?
17th February 2012, 04:28 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Why are we being left out?
Hi all,

Been using the MZ601 3g/WiFi for a few months and still can't get to a point to root it. Last time I rooted it a lot of stuff does not work like the market and memory. I paid motorola to flash it back as they will not provide the SBF file. Also HK versions are not going to get the upgrade to ICS from motorola. Though they have put it into planning stage only which means no ICS for us. If anyone have proper information on how to root HK version 3g/WiFi MZ601 please please let us know.

TIA
Eric
17th February 2012, 09:21 PM   |  #3  
aR_ChRiS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 260
 
1,337 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
I think you guys can just flash the EU version of the EOS rom...(HK version should be UMTS instead of CDMA).
17th February 2012, 10:33 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 715
 
3,019 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aR_ChRiS

I think you guys can just flash the EU version of the EOS rom...(HK version should be UMTS instead of CDMA).

Only if solarnz has added the special files to deal with the HK model's storage partition issues. I'm sure he'd help if possible.
17th February 2012, 10:52 PM   |  #5  
aR_ChRiS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 260
 
1,337 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by okantomi

Only if solarnz has added the special files to deal with the HK model's storage partition issues. I'm sure he'd help if possible.

Well there's a high possibility that the 3G xoom sold in hk is the eu version...

1. HK uses EU mobile frequencies
2. I've got my wingray in hong kong and still be able to flash the EOS rom...

So just check carefully whether or not you are having the EU xoom...

You can try flashing the EU version of the rom but I'll recommend that you'll do a backup first in recovery.
18th February 2012, 08:38 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Hi aR_ChRiS,

Thanks for the reply. So how exactly can I backup my original firmware? I don't want to again pay Motorola to reflash again. I cannot find the exact procedures to backup. Please help.

TIA
Eric
18th February 2012, 07:44 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cougarmaster

Hi aR_ChRiS,

Thanks for the reply. So how exactly can I backup my original firmware? I don't want to again pay Motorola to reflash again. I cannot find the exact procedures to backup. Please help.

TIA
Eric

install clockworkmod and, before rooting, go into the backup-menu and run a nandroid backup.

I am not sure which recovery you should use, as your partition table looks different from 'the usual'. The 'modded' CWM is modded in a way to exclude the /sdcard-folder (=/data/media) from wipes, backups, etc, so this is probably not the recovery you should go for. Also, if you change your partition table to match the european xooms, you will probably have to undo that before you can restore that backup.
18th February 2012, 09:15 PM   |  #8  
aR_ChRiS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 260
 
1,337 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by llama-power

install clockworkmod and, before rooting, go into the backup-menu and run a nandroid backup.

I am not sure which recovery you should use, as your partition table looks different from 'the usual'. The 'modded' CWM is modded in a way to exclude the /sdcard-folder (=/data/media) from wipes, backups, etc, so this is probably not the recovery you should go for. Also, if you change your partition table to match the european xooms, you will probably have to undo that before you can restore that backup.

I would go for the tiamat recovery.
2nd March 2012, 08:59 AM   |  #9  
Nick1009's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cougarmaster

Hi aR_ChRiS,

Thanks for the reply. So how exactly can I backup my original firmware? I don't want to again pay Motorola to reflash again. I cannot find the exact procedures to backup. Please help.

TIA
Eric



Hi, Any luck for new ICS for our xoom? please do update me if you have successfully rooted and upgrade without problem.

me as well as other hk xoom owner couldnt bear to left behind....

nick.nbgm@gmail.com


Thanks a million bro!
10th March 2012, 03:53 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Rom for hk xoom
Hi Nick,
Lucikly I didn't root as my motherboard had problems and they replaced it twice. Anyway unless I can find the sbf file for hk mz601 I dont think I can safely do it. As i don't want to pay for it to be reflashed each time. Also from reading around it is best for hk users not to root. Or at least wait for the warranty to run out. For me it is end of this year

Eric

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes