FORUMS

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

OnePlus 2 Bares All in New Tear Down Gallery

Last year, the launch of the OnePlus One, dubbed ‘the flagship killer’, visibly … more

Focus – An Attractive But Raw Gallery Replacement

Focus is an attractive new app built by XDA members Liam Spradlin … more

How to Root the Sony Tablet S

136 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,638
 
By djrbliss, Recognized Developer on 8th February 2012, 02:52 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
8th February 2012, 07:47 PM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 944
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djrbliss

I just uploaded a new version of the exploit that should fix this problem. Just unzip it, execute "run.bat", and let me know how it goes.

If anyone has been having any problems with the exploit, please try the new version here:
http://vulnfactory.org/public/Sony_T...ot_Windows.zip

Hi djrbliss,

I've got problems with rooting my tab.
Here is what i've got:

Code:
[*] Waiting for device...
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *[*] Device found.[*] Pushing log flooder to device...
525 KB/s (5382 bytes in 0.010s)[*] Preparing to append to packages.list...[*] Rebooting device...[*] Waiting for tablet to reboot.[*] Attempting to move system package library directory...
[+] System package com.google.android.location has uid 10027
[+] Flooding log...
run-as: Package 'com.pwn.me' is unknown[*] If you received any errors in the previous step, abort the exploit[*] and try again.  Otherwise, press any key to continue.
Aby kontynuować, naciśnij dowolny klawisz . . .[*] Rebooting device...[*] Waiting for tablet to reboot.[*] Attempting to insert fake local.prop entry...
[+] Flooding log...[*] Rebooting device...[*] Waiting for tablet to reboot.[*] Attemping persistence...
remount failed: Operation not permitted
failed to copy 'su' to '/system/bin/su': Read-only file system
Unable to chmod /system/bin/su: No such file or directory
failed to copy 'busybox' to '/system/xbin/busybox': Read-only file system
Unable to chmod /system/xbin/busybox: No such file or directory
/system/xbin/busybox: not found
failed to copy 'Superuser.apk' to '/system/app/Superuser.apk': Read-only file sy
stem[*] Cleaning up...
failed on '/data/data/com.google.android.location/lib.bak' - No such file or dir
ectory
Last edited by condi; 8th February 2012 at 07:57 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to condi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
8th February 2012, 07:51 PM |#22  
unclespoon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 128
 
More
I had both of the exact same errors as you, I'm waiting for the launcher to boot before hitting restart. I'll let you know what happens...
8th February 2012, 07:59 PM |#23  
Member
Flag pittsburg, ca
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
i can't for the life of me figure this out. i did the steps and the i've been looking at this screen for a while now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rootsplz.jpg
Views:	805
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	893353  
8th February 2012, 07:59 PM |#24  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,638
 
Donate to Me
More
condi and unclespoon:

Download a fresh version of the exploit. Make sure you try to run it several times, there's a timing issue so it might take more than one attempt.

And read the directions. If you receive errors, abort the exploit when it tells you to abort.
8th February 2012, 08:07 PM |#25  
unclespoon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 128
 
More
Sometimes I get the error at the beginning and sometimes I don't. What's the timing issue? When am I supposed to hit restart cause I've waited for the OS to fully boot and I've tried hitting reboot right away, and either way I get "permission denied" on the second reboot... I'll keep trying I guess?
8th February 2012, 08:09 PM |#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 944
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djrbliss

condi and unclespoon:

Download a fresh version of the exploit. Make sure you try to run it several times, there's a timing issue so it might take more than one attempt.

And read the directions. If you receive errors, abort the exploit when it tells you to abort.

What about "run-as: Package 'com.pwn.me' is unknown" error?
I havent seen anybody else got it?
8th February 2012, 08:16 PM |#27  
HKboy92's Avatar
Member
Flag Den Helder
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Weird that it just succeeded in 1 try for me, it might have to do with different firmware versions. Mine runs on the model SGPT111NL/S.
Can you guys tell me what model number it displays beneath the SONY logo on the back? That might give a small indication, or not. Who knows.

ANYWAY.
I promised to make a vid, here it is:

Note: Quality sucks (not screen quality, but quality quality. It does display the process)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to HKboy92 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th February 2012, 08:19 PM |#28  
unclespoon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 128
 
More
Mine is SGPT111US/S with the latest Sony firmware. I've tried a few more times and it says system is read only in that last step... frustrating...
8th February 2012, 08:28 PM |#29  
Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HKboy92

Weird that it just succeeded in 1 try for me, it might have to do with different firmware versions. Mine runs on the model SGPT111NL/S.
Can you guys tell me what model number it displays beneath the SONY logo on the back? That might give a small indication, or not. Who knows.

ANYWAY.
I promised to make a vid, here it is:

Note: Quality sucks (not screen quality, but quality quality. It does display the process)

Dutch accents are soooo cool and i promise i'm not taking the piss!

Nice video
8th February 2012, 08:32 PM |#30  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,638
 
Donate to Me
More
unclespoon and condi:

Check your private messages.
8th February 2012, 08:49 PM |#31  
unclespoon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 128
 
More
Thanks for the PM, I appreciate your effort I hope we can get root! I also hope we can find a more universal solution. I've tried about 10 times now and no success. Which firmware (android version) are you guys running? I'm on 3.2.1 (release2). kernel is 2.6.36.3 integ-build@build5 #1 and build number is THMA50012400.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes