Post Reply

Can't charge fast enough?

OP esheesle

8th February 2012, 05:25 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Using a New Trent External charger I noticed that the phone was still losing power, just at a way slower rate than without it charging. Phone showed charging. I was using netflix via 3g at the time. Would this be expected? Not super worried as the battery charges just fine when screen is off and not in use.
8th February 2012, 05:57 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 367
 
2,472 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
How many amp output is that charger??

My phone can't keep up with the charge if I'm veiwing a movie using HDMI unless I run incredible kernel with fastcharge enabled.
Last edited by jmorton10; 8th February 2012 at 06:04 PM.
8th February 2012, 06:22 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
7000mAh. Think 1V output?
8th February 2012, 06:56 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 367
 
2,472 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
IIRC, the stock A/C charger is 1 amp.

A lot of aftermarket chargers do not have the balls to charge the Rezound.
8th February 2012, 06:59 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
you may need to modify a usb cable to short the Data wires to get the full charging potential out of it.

or try one of these cables from amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Naztech-Micro-...8727460&sr=1-3
8th February 2012, 07:04 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 367
 
2,472 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatsricci

you may need to modify a usb cable to short the Data wires to get the full charging potential out of it.

or try one of these cables from amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Naztech-Micro-...8727460&sr=1-3

Does this cable work for sure with the rezound??

I don't need it right now with the incredicontrol running, but I ordered it just as a handy thing to have.
9th February 2012, 11:32 PM   |  #7  
a-jive's Avatar
Senior Member
Richland, WA
Thanks Meter: 21
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
My new Trent works pretty well, but I wouldn't expect it to keep up with streaming vids. I found that it gives a charge to the idle phone at about 800mA, which is about the same as the stock wall charger.

Pick up battery monitor widget and you can track your plus and minus usage pretty well to decide if everything seems OK.
Last edited by a-jive; 9th February 2012 at 11:37 PM.
14th February 2012, 02:39 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 367
 
2,472 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmorton10

Does this cable work for sure with the rezound??

I don't need it right now with the incredicontrol running, but I ordered it just as a handy thing to have.

Well, I'll answer my own question. The cable definitely DOES NOT force higher charging at least when using an HDMI adaptor.

If I use Incredikernel with fast charging enabled with Incredicontrol, it will actually GAIN charge while playing a full length movie through HDMI.

This morning, I flashed back to dsb 1.3 with no frills cpu control & hooked up the new cable for charging. I started with a 100% charged battery & after playing a 1 hour DVD RIP from my card, it was down to 89% charged. Using Incredicontrol, during the exact same test the battery still read 100% at the end.
The Following User Says Thank You to jmorton10 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2012, 06:26 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Thanks for your results jmorton10. Good to know. I wonder if it's the connections inside the HDMI adapter messing with it.


Not sure why HTC can't just get this right to always pull the max possible from whatever it's hooked into!

-j
14th February 2012, 07:05 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag North East, MD
Thanks Meter: 796
 
2,918 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
My understanding is because the MHL adapter needs the USB data pins to work properly and they can't be shorted out as mentioned above, the phone thinks it's on a USB connection and limits it's current draw to 500mA.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes